We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always Good”

Cornhill Castle Hotel
Ranked #10 of 26 Restaurants in Biggar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Scottish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Galashiels
Level Contributor
139 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Always Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We have eaten a few times and the food is always first class. The staff are very helpful and friendly. A private drive up to a large baronial style building with plenty parking you are shown into a nice bar while you have your order taken and wait for your table. You and your drinks are taken into the beautiful restaurant. Great service ! The price of the food is reasonable and the menu has a good choice to select from. The steak pie is excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pedro-Galashiels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    43
    16
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Never Disappoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have eaten here on a number of occasions and never once had a reason to say it was okay or average as everytime it has been top notch.
Cornhill was a large house that is now a Hotel, set in fantastic surroundings it is easy to see why it is popular for weddings.

Having dined a few times I have tried the soup, haggis croquettes and spicy wings and all have been excellent. for the main meals as a creature of habit I have stuck to the Rib eye steak and the steak pie, the friends have had the lasagne, pasta as well as the fish and all raved about the quality and the portions.
Last time there 3 of us had the tablet ice cream in a basket with toffee sauce amazing, the other person in the party had a Belgium chocolate bomb that again was mouth watering.
A top place to visit for a special occasion not that we need an occasion as an excuse.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AllyHScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a must see gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

we went here with relatives on our trip to Scotland and what a great experience! great looking house, well decorated and the food was fantastic!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank denis s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
755 reviews
302 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 795 helpful votes
“Recent experience would tempt us back soon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel, complete with it’s tower, sits in several acres of land a few miles from Biggar and overlooks the River Clyde and Tinto Hill.

The long narrow driveway on the approach has traffic calming bumps but few passing places so there is a need to watch for oncoming vehicles in the distance. The hotel and the road are nicely illuminated at night and there is a large car park in the grounds.

Originally a private home and then a residential care home in the past, it was empty for several years before being refurbished and re-opened by a local family, the Fraiolis, in 1998. A large extension was added in 2008 to provide a wedding function suite and for those wishing to make an entrance a helipad was created in the grounds. There are 9 bedrooms.

There is an old world charm about the place and weddings aside it seems to appeal to an older clientele - the kind of place where you could comfortably take your parents for a meal or have a family gathering. Many guests are quite smartly dressed however it’s not somewhere you’d be made to feel uncomfortable if turning up in something more casual.

There are a couple of dining rooms - the main one being “The Bistro” which is on the brighter side of the building and The Jade Restaurant” which is a smaller room used for private parties or as an overspill to the Bistro. We’ve dined in both and would probably favour “The Bistro” setting for lunch with it’s outlook to the countryside however in the evening each has it’s attractions.

On a recent visit we took my mother for lunch to the popular “Bistro”. Guests are invited into the lounge for pre-meal drinks and to have a look over the menu. There is a set menu with a fairly large selection of dishes - currently offering 2 courses per person for £16.95 or 3 courses for £21.00 at the weekend, £12.50 & £15.50 respectively Monday to Friday. An “A la Carte” menu is also available. There is a reasonable choice of wines by the glass or bottle.

We opted for starters of Tempura King Prawns with a sweet chilli dip (my Mum skipping this course), had Escalope Saltimbocca and two portions of the Grilled Sea Bass for mains, followed by desserts. After adding a couple of glasses of wine, two soft drinks and coffees our bill was £77 for three.

The starters were small but very tasty. The Escalope was pan fried loin of pork in breadcrumbs served with parma ham and a tomato & herb sauce, topped with mozzarella cheese which my wife thoroughly enjoyed - although the accompanying vegetables were a bit overcooked for her liking (this is a common finding for us here). My Mum and I found the decent portions of Sea Bass to be nicely cooked and surprisingly good served on a bed of bubble & squeak with a Vermouth, leak & cream sauce. I opted for a side salad which was fresh. We had wondered about the bubble & squeak element however it went very well with the dish.

Desserts were French Apple Tart with vanilla ice cream, Sticky Toffee Pudding and Cranachan Meringue. Apart from the Sticky Toffee Pudding being a bit dry - saved by the much favoured caramel sauce - these were very enjoyable.

Coffee can be served in one of two small lounges which are comfortable for relaxing after a meal.

Many of the staff are local and young and we have usually found them mannerly and friendly.

It’s the first time we had been here for a while however based on this experience we are likely to be back sooner next time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rantin rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This beautiful castle type hotel is set in extensive grounds. You are made to feel very welcome the minute you walk through the door. The sitting rooms and good size bar/ lounge have a period, quality appearance, however it is the extensive menu and delicious food in the restaurant that makes us return. If you are looking for somewhere " special" for a celebration then look no further. The food is priced fairly, wine is £4.20 a glass. The hotel has a beautiful wedding function also. Might I suggest to the lovely owners to think about adding extra accomodation perhaps log cabins or Eco friendly Wigwams or similar in the grounds to offer wedding guests a near by place to stay. I would recommend this Bistro Restaurant and plan to return very soon. I' d like to thank my sister for introducing us to Cornhill, good job!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank isobelm113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cornhill Castle Hotel also viewed

Biggar, South Lanarkshire
Biggar, South Lanarkshire
 
Coulter, South Lanarkshire
 
Biggar, South Lanarkshire
Biggar, South Lanarkshire
 

Been to Cornhill Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing