We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and Comfortable”
Review of Cormiston Farm B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cormiston Farm B&B
Ranked #2 of 9 Biggar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Welcoming and Comfortable”
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Just a one night stay and little time to really check out the area but this Bed and Breakfast would be a perfect place to relax and explore the beautiful area. The owner made us feel very at home and everything was as we hoped. The room had great views and the bed was comfortable feeling more like a boutique hotel than a bed and breakfast. Fellow guests told us that the food was absolutely delicious and we were sorry to only have time for an early breakfast.

I don't think you could find anywhere better in the area and certainly hope we have a reason to return some day. Many thanks Richard we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirGeorge61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
54
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
buxton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2010

Second time we have stayed here and its been great both times. If you want a relaxing few days with a great host ,(Richard Phillips), and don't want to travel to eat/drink once your in a place then this is the place to come!
Rooms very comfortable and clean, no TV, (great), free wireless. Food is brill! 4 course dinners served in a relaxed and sociable atmoshpere, varied menu each night. Breakfasts to last you all day!
Welcome includes tea and cakes, what more could you want!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banksie39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2010

We were planning to stay in Edinburgh on the Saturday night but that was before we realised Scotland were hosting France for the Six Nations Rugby and the prospect of sharing the city with thousands of rugby fans did not appeal! This was therefore a last minute find via an internet search and being unused to bed and breakfasting we were not sure what to expect. In fact I only booked on the morning of our planned arrival requesting, at short notice, an evening meal.
Although the weather was cold and damp, Richard's welcome could not have been warmer. Our room (there are two) was warm and spacious with a huge fourposter bed (fantastic firm mattress, plenty of pillows and white cotton bedding) with amazing views from the large bay window towards the hills over the grazing sheep and Richard's alpacas. White cotton bathrobes were supplied as was a kettle, teabags, coffee sachets and fresh milk in a flask. The black and white tiled bathroom, although private, was along a corridor and provided with toiletries and large fluffy white towels. Afternoon tea with freshly made scones and homemade jam was taken in front of a blazing fire in the small downstairs sitting room. A delicious 4 course meal followed at 8pm in the dining room using as much local produce as possible (we had venison) although the wine was Chilean from the small wine list. Given more notice Richard usually emails his proposed menus before your arrival. After coffee in front of the fire chatting with our host we had a fantastic night's sleep and then a large cooked breakfast. Richard's culinary skills are apparently self taught but would put many restaurants to shame. We didn't meet his wife but Richard also runs the farm and is in the process of restoring the barns and outbuildings which is very much a work in progress.
Do not expect a five star hotel - you are treated as a welcome guest in a family home.
Although not cheap we were very impressed with our stay and would certainly return if in the area again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank accompanyingwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2009

We were invited to a wedding locally and because we stay quite a bit away we had to stay over two nights. There are quite a few places to stay in the vicinity but chose Cormiston Farm after we had a look at their web site. We are so glad we did! We did not arrive until late the first night and that was no problem to the host, Richard, he made as very welcome when we arrived and even offered to make us some tea. The breakfasts were lovely. Nothing was too much bother and the cooked breakfast was full of locally sourced produce. Richard even showed us a quail chick an hour old, which made our daughter's day!! The rooms are nice and comfortable and under 16s are free, children also get their own separate room, which is great for families with teenagers! All in all our stay was lovely. It is a working farm and the views are stunning, you would need a car to get there. We very much recommend this place to all and we would certainly visit again!! Top marks Cormiston Farm.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thefitzpatrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biggar
1.7 mi away
Tinto Hotel
Tinto Hotel
#2 of 3 in Biggar
252 reviews
6.0 mi away
Robertson Arms Hotel
Robertson Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnwath
170 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cornhill Castle Hotel
Cornhill Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coulter
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
2.0 mi away
Elphinstone Hotel
Elphinstone Hotel
#3 of 3 in Biggar
180 reviews
1.9 mi away
Shieldhill Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cormiston Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cormiston Farm B&B

Property: Cormiston Farm B&B
Address: Cormiston Road, Biggar ML12 6NS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Biggar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Biggar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cormiston Farm B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cormiston Farm, listed by Historic Scotland, lies in the Clyde Valley 2 miles from the town of Biggar. There are 2 double bedrooms, one with a super king size four-poster; both have private bathrooms. A 4-course set dinner is available at 8pm with a small but select wine list. Children welcome. Family rooms available. All major credit and debit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Cormiston Farm B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cormiston Farm B&B Biggar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing