We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Again!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holmlands Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 9 Biggar B&B and Inns
england
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Home Again!!”
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Stayed here again on our trip to and from Scotland. It continues to have very high standards with friendliness, comfort and excellent food. Would recommend it to anyone as an excellent retreat. You will book for one night and want to stay forever!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    9
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
54
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Verena and Graham were brilliant hosts, friendly, welcoming and very helpful especially as we had my elderly mother and a dog with us. We stayed 4 nights in lovely rooms, with excellent en suites, and were very comfortable, we enjoyed fantastic breakfasts each day, and 3 times ate very well from the evening dinner menus. Great access, great atmosphere, comfortable, exceptionally clean and fresh. Would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Tell Verena and Graham what you need and they will try their hardest to help. Lovely people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosyB0S5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Travelling home from a holiday in Scotland my partner and I stopped over for a second visit having enjoyed the first (29th Sept 2010) so much. Our repeat visit was again exceptional with an excellent dinner, breakfast and room. We could not fault Holmlands in any way. The welcome was perfect ( not over or under effusive or intrusive) and we were on both occassions made to feel comfortable and at home. After a week of travelling in Scotland between B&B's and Hotels this was by far the best stop over we had. I have no reservation in recommending Holmlands to any fellow travellers. Mike and Pam Woollard (Hitchin).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikegwoollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We stayed at Holmlands on our way to The Royal Highland Show. We found the welcome very warm and friendly. Verena was very obliging and offered to cook us a meal whatever time of night we arrived. Graham and Verena excelled in every way to make our stay enjoyable. They do their job with such passion. Dinner bed and breakfast of a very high standard and all food sourced locally. Would not hesitate in recommending this for a stopover.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annharker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

i cant fault this place, the standard of the accomadation was incredibly high, the food, both breakfast and evening meal, were fantastic, the welcome for us and the dogs was just great. if you are ever in need of a place to stay in this area, you will not regret going to Holmlands.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swhp13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2011

It was evident from the tea and cookies and fire in the fireplace that greeted us to the fresh eggs from the family's hens and fruit and vegetables from the garden. Varena is a wonderful cook, and they both were so friendly and helpful. The setting is quiet and restful but not far from the highway. The furnishings are simple and the rooms a little cold, but we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 28970Travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We thought this B&B was first class. The setting is picturesque and tranquil and yet only 5 minutes from the motorway.The welcome and personal service was top notch; food was fantastic, we had evening meal as well as breakfast.Room was excellent. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maturejimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biggar
2.1 mi away
Days Inn Abington M74
Days Inn Abington M74
#1 of 2 in Abington
337 reviews
9.6 mi away
Tinto Hotel
Tinto Hotel
#3 of 4 in Biggar
256 reviews
2.9 mi away
Abington Hotel
Abington Hotel
#2 of 2 in Abington
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
12.1 mi away
Elphinstone Hotel
Elphinstone Hotel
#4 of 4 in Biggar
183 reviews
10.0 mi away
Cornhill Castle Hotel
Cornhill Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coulter
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holmlands Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmlands Bed and Breakfast

Property: Holmlands Bed and Breakfast
Address: 22 Carlisle Road | Crawford, Biggar ML12 6TW, Scotland (Formerly Holmlands Country House)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Biggar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Biggar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holmlands Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Helen and John would like to welcome you to their family run Bed and Breakfast.Located just off the M74 in South Lanarkshire. We are situated in a quiet rural location convenient for visiting Scottish Borders, Lanark, Biggar and Moffat. Glasgow and Edinburgh are within an hours drive. Built in 1903, this interesting Edwardian property sits in an acre of land with our own vegetable plot and free ranging hens and ducks providing a rich supply of our own produce.surrounded by rolling hills of the Clyde Valley. It is such a great place for a short break any time of year. Holmlands is an ideal location for an overnight stay to or from the Highlands and Islands. With direct access to the M74/M8 and the A702 Biggar to Edinburgh road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Holmlands Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmlands Bed And Breakfast Biggar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing