We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dead End BBQ - CLOSED

Dead End BBQ
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expensive BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

The food was decent and there was plenty of it. It is a little loud out on the patio so keep that in mind if you are wanting to hold conversations with the people you are with.

Wonderful staff and decent food but a little high for BBQ.

Helpful?
Thank Bigunathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    29
    33
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Best BBQ in Maryville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Great tender & juicy BBQ. You have experience it for yourself. We ate the pork and beef and both had a great flavor and their sauces out the icying on the cake.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
207 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Nothing special ...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

We ate at this new BBQ place last month. The atmosphere is nice in this new restaurant and there is lots of available seating. It's been quite busy since opening. Unfortunately, we didn't have a very good experience here.

The service was terrible during our visit. It wasn't busy when we showed up (around 3:30 in the afternoon on a week day), and a manager seated a couple in line ahead of us. He then stood at their booth for a long time, and didn't attempt to come back and seat us. After a little while, a server noticed us and seated us next to the booth where the manager was still hanging out. The manager was telling the couple all about the bbq in great detail. I don't know why this particular couple got so much special attention while we were left waiting to be seated for so long.

To make matters worse, the manager took their order and then came back to their booth several times and conversed loudly. It took a while for us to get someone to even take our order. By this time, we were very annoyed and almost ready to walk out.

We finally got our food. My husband had the pork and I had the pork/chicken. There are lots of side items available to order. The meats were rather dry and had to be loaded up with sauces to make them tastier. The sides were just okay. We shared a banana cake for dessert, which was good.

Because of the food being mediocre and overpriced, and the service being terrible, we won't be going back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbugbigtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, TN
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We love Dead End”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Dead End BBQ has a great menu and atmosphere. It's not your typical hole-in-the wall BBQ joint. They mix things up with salads, various sandwiches and traditional BBQ meals. George and the crew at DEB are great stewards and supporters of the community, too!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raynoch46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wow and Hmmm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Kind of an oxymoron... Great BBQ in a fancy-shmancy restaurant setting, but we were not disappointed over-all.

Do NOT try the peanut butter pie, unless you don't people 4 tables away hearing you 'oohing' and 'aahing' in bliss.

Three BBQ sauces on the table, all delish. Super portions! Good to awesome food.

Kind of odd, modern-y feel to the decor for a BBQ place, but that is definitely the 'vibe' they are going for.

The host and wait staff varies from rude to awesome. It's a lottery. Some may be turned off by the edgy look and sound of some of the employees... I was. Don't enjoy being served by someone with tattoos and piercings, or hearing obscenities from restaurant staff. It just makes me feel uneasy. Guess cause I have worked with them myself in restaurant settings, and most people who 'nonconform' in how they look and sound, usually care little about hygiene and sanitation as well. This is the ONLY reason for 4 stars.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dead End BBQ also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing