We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best BBQ joint of our vacation”
Review of Dead End BBQ - CLOSED

Dead End BBQ
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Maryville, Tennessee
1 review
“Best BBQ joint of our vacation”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The Mac Attack was amazing! Pork & Mac & Cheese on sourdough......heavenly. Thanks for being extra sweet to our kids. We'll be sure to stop on our next trip to the Smokies :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1famile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    29
    33
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Burnsville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome BBQ!!!!!!”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Ate here recently and was blown away by the BBQ and portion sizes! The decor was great and staff was very friendly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BBQtraveler72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First time at the new Dead End in Maryville”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Ate there last night and it was great. Had the Sampler Platter with pulled pork, smoked sausage and beef brisket. Sides were fried okra and baked beans. Everything was fresh, served hot, etc. The brisket was a little dry but had decent flavor. I have had better pulled pork but this was still very good. The sausage was fantastic! Service was excellent. Loved the new building. Well designed. I grew up in NC and lived in Houston for 10 years - Better BBQ in those areas for sure, but Dead End fits the bill nicely in Maryville, TN.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Tennessee
Level Contributor
98 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not the best BBQ in Maryville”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

The atmosphere is really nice. Nice bar area. Great bartender Olivia. BBQ chicken and pork were dry. Not much flavor. Smoked sausage was good. Sides we had were greens, Mac n cheese and two kinds of beans. The best was pinto beans. Adequate selection of draft beer. Some basic wines as well.
It is relatively new but thought it would be better.

Helpful?
Thank TravelnutTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“So-So BBQ”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

A relatively new restaurant for Maryville, TN, the Dead-End BBQ seems to have opened with a bang--lots of folks trying it out. However, after having a meal there a few days ago, we are still trying to figure out what all the hype's about. The atmosphere is great--rather well-designed building with great natural light. The menu offers the typical fare for BBQ, but right off you notice that it's at the pricey end of things. The meal itself was just average. Both my wife and I had pulled pork. We both agreed that it was dry and lacked flavor. The sauces that were offered were rather standard--nothing special. The side dishes were fine, but again, nothing exceptional nor memorable. Good portion amounts. There are definitely much better BBQ restaurants in the Blount-Sevier County areas. If you enjoy well-flavored, juicy meat, perhaps with a hint or more of that smoky taste, you'll want to check some other restaurants before forking over the few extra bucks for Dead-End. Though they may be lacking the "atmosphere," those other BBQ restaurants will have what you came for: great bar-b-que.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank larrrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dead End BBQ also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing