We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!”
Review of Barley's Taproom

Barley's Taproom
Ranked #9 of 146 Restaurants in Maryville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza, Bar
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food!”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Several different choices for seating - whatever mood you are in! The seating in the main floor back area reminds me more of a 50's diner. The food was great! I had a cheese calzone and it was delicious! Lots of beer choices - maybe too many? It was very, very loud and rather difficult to have a conversation with your table mates. I'll eat there again but probably not when there are so many people there - just too much noise.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    72
    37
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food; huge selection of beers”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This place is pretty cool. They have dozens of beers on tap (more than 60 at last count). Both times I've eaten there the food has been amazing. The spanakopita pasta dish is divine. The atmosphere is a little noisy, and the furniture seems like oversized Ikea tables, but it's not uncomfortable. We'll definitely be eating here again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paige818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Pizza - Great Service”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

You may have to wait for a table on a busy weekend but its great pizza. Black bean hummus was delish but the heavy garlic haunted us for 2 days! Fried green tomatoes were excellent, spinach queso was also delish... the seasoning on the corn chips was nice, but I wish they didn't use the "red-dyed" tortilla chips. Nothing wrong with plain yellow corn chips. Food coloring is a turn off to me. We ate at a table one time and at the bar one time and both were good service experiences.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level Contributor
120 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Order The Pizza”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Three friends and I went to Barley's Taproom for lunch and left wishing we had gone somewhere else. We wanted salads but those listed sounded so boring we opted for Fried Green Tomato Sandwiches and Turkey BLT's. Can't say they turned out to be any less boring. But, the fried sweet potatoes were fantastic. Crunchy and very flavorful. One friend ordered an apple strudel type dessert that we all tried a spoonful of and it was terrible. It must have been nuked and turned out like thick paste. There was no taste or texture other than a feeling of a mouth full of warm glue. People around us ordered pizza and seemed to be enjoying it. In our opinion, Barley's is a one trick pony - go for pizza or go elsewhere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GregF699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Food was good and service was outstanding - thanks, Brandon”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

First time there, with a repeating couple. Enjoyed the beer samples, the beer, the pizza, and the nachos with salsa. Waiter was outstanding, and folks were enjoying a trivia game. Would definitely return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barley's Taproom also viewed

 

Been to Barley's Taproom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing