We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maryville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chilhowee Mountain Retreat
Ranked #2 of 5 Maryville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit to Chilhowee Mountain Retreat and it was just as amazing as our first. Visit three is already booked. Jim and Mary go above and beyond to make sure that your visit is incredible!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jstallin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thank you both for your very kind review. It was great seeing you both again and we, as we're sure you, are looking forward to your next visit. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 168 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

Watching sun rising from snow-capped thunderhead mountain in the bear room, waking up smelling aroma of hot breakfast, hiking on nearby trails in the smoking mountains, soaking in hot whirlpool tub or steam shower, the two-night stay at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat was heavenly experience for us. Everything could not be better. It truly lives to what previous reviewers raved about: beautiful, new and meticulously clean log house, breathtaking mountain view, delicious and healthy gourmet breakfast, etc. The host Jim and Mary went beyond their expectations to accommodate our needs and make our stay the most memorable days of our life. The retreat is a perfect place for a romantic getaway. We highly recommend it to everyone and will sure come back again.

Room Tip: Bear room has a very large picture windows facing thunderhead mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YWAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. From your kind and gracious comments we believe that you had a wonderful time. We were happy to make your stay special and memorable. It is one of our goals to make Chilhowee Mountain Retreat a unique and romantic place for couples. We look forward to seeing you again and wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The owners, Jim and Mary are just great. We stayed in the Forest View room, very clean and secluded. We also got a private hot tub, which was just awesome in the night. There was WIFI reception in the room too. You won't get any cell reception up there though. We stayed there just one night and I wish I stayed there longer and have the amazing breakfast Jim and Mary prepared. We went up there to ride the Tail of the Dragon. Its pretty close from here, Jim & Mary were very helpful in giving us directions and recomending other similar place to see.

There is just one thing that I would have loved to do. If you are a biker, the climb from 6-mile road to the retreat is just awesome, I wish I had taken my bike up there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeyurBhatnagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you so much for your very complimentary review. We are glad you enjoyed your brief stay here with us. We look forward to your next visit (on your bike) when you can climb the mountain. Thanks again for the kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

There's not much I can say that hasn't already been said by previous reviewers. We stayed in the Bear Room and everything was clean and comfortable. My wife and I had an enjoyable time and met some new friends as a bonus.

I personally want to thank Jim and Mary for honoring myself and another military veteran and his wife by giving us a free night in their B&B. This is one way they chose to honor veterans on Veterans Day and we appreciated it.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ezriderga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for your kind words and your review. It was a pleasure hosting you both for two days. Glad to know that you enjoyed your time here and left having made some new friends. We really enjoyed our conversations and getting to know you. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My wife and I planned a visit to Tail of the Dragon. Friends who have stayed with Jim and Mary several times highly recommended Chilowee Mountain Retreat - they are even better friends today. We enjoyed three nights in the Forest View Room and it was perfect. Each day began with a special breakfast, prepared by Jim and Mary, in the rustic and beautiful main house. Views of the Valley are breath taking. Each evening ended with time in the hot tub on the private deck enjoying a fantastic view of the mountains. The entire experience was 1st class. The food was exceptional, the room was spacious and clean, the bed was perfect and the setting was breathtaking. Jim and Mary are the perfect host and hostess. We enthusiastically recommend Chilowee Mountain Retreat.

Room Tip: The Forest View room is like a very private retreat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pierre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review. We are so glad you made the trip even though there were some trying circumstances. It was great to have you as our guests and to get to know you. It's always nice to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay. We look forward to seeing you again next year and we hope the whole group will be able to make the trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Mary and Jim have done an amazing job with creating the best place to go and jut relax and get away from the rest of the world. The rooms are very large and you do not feel like you are in a hotel! This is the cleanest place I have ever been to stay at. I highly recommend you staying at this retreat.

Room Tip: There is not a pool I just could not get the bubbles to delete. Very nice place. No complaints!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Angie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure to be able to accommodate you during a tough time. We are glad you found us a place where you were able to get away from it all. It is great to hear that you noticed how clean our Inn is kept. We know how important a clean environment is to our guests. Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed here 10/11-10/15 and this was our second time. Mary and Jim have gone above and beyond to make this B&B welcoming and comfortable. It is always in pristine condition with wonderful amenities like the giant whirlpool tub and dual head/steam shower. We love all the wood from the floors, walls, and furniture. Before you head off down the mountain for the day you can grab some snacks to take with you from the cabinet outside your room, or grab a sweet treat to enjoy in the evening when you return. It's sooo relaxing to sit in the rocking chairs on the back deck while waiting for breakfast to be served, or in the evening with a glass of wine. Check with them for specials they offer during slow times.

Room Tip: I would recommend you stay in the house. We have stayed both times in the Bear room and it's ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thank you for your great review. It was simply wonderful having you visit again. We so enjoy hearing about your life and adventures and especially the fishing and outdoors stories. We consider you friends and are looking forward to your next visit...we will keep the fire burning for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryville
9.8 mi away
Luxbury Inn & Suites
Luxbury Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Maryville
118 reviews
7.9 mi away
Sweetberries Bed and Breakfast
8.3 mi away
No photo provided
Mountain View Motel
#1 of 2 in Maryville
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Dancing Bear Lodge
Dancing Bear Lodge
#1 of 10 in Townsend
601 reviews
9.4 mi away
RT Lodge
RT Lodge
#3 of 5 in Maryville
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilhowee Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilhowee Mountain Retreat

Address: 5110 Little Doubles Rd, Maryville, TN 37803-3516
Location: United States > Tennessee > Maryville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Maryville
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At an elevation of 2200 feet, bordering the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Chilhowee Mountain Retreat provides a quiet, peaceful, comfortable bed and breakfast escape where you can enjoy the seclusion of the forest and the panoramic views of the Smoky Mountains. Enhance your stay with the Smoky Mountain Spa Experience which includes an in-room massage. Continue pampering yourself by relaxing in the two person air-jet tub enhanced with bath salts or aromatherapy. You may also choose to unwind in your in-room steam shower. Our luxurious log cabin home is perfect for a quiet, restful, romantic getaway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing