We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maryville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chilhowee Mountain Retreat
Ranked #2 of 5 Maryville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Jim and Mary are amazing hosts and the building itself is absolutely gorgeous. We really enjoyed having coffee out on the deck overlooking the valley. Breakfast was delicious, I'm planning on trying to recreate a few things! Our room (wildflower room) had great views and a fantastic jacuzzi tub and steam shower. This might also be the cleanest place I have ever stayed! If you are in the area or thinking about a vacation...stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TnSmoothie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you so much for your great endorsement. It was great having you as our guests and we certainly are glad you enjoyed the two person air-jet tub and the steam shower. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are down this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for Chilhowee Mountain Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 164 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and I spent the weekend of our anniversary here and were able to acheive our goal of rest and relaxation. My wife is a stickler for cleanliness, and this B&B passed with flying colors so she was able to really unwind. I personally enjoyed the steam shower and the large window views of the rolling mountain chain. We couldn't have asked for a more relaxing weekend, and Jim and Mary are very hospitable and attentive to any need or request. Ten out of ten. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thanks for your great review. Isn't it wonderful to know there is a place not too far from home where you can escape your everyday life and rest and relax while enjoying luxurious amenities? Thanks for choosing to spend a couple of days here at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat to celebrate your anniversary. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Chilhowee Mountain Retreat is the perfect wellness get away. It is secluded and only a short trip form all that is offered in the Knoxville area. Jim and Mary are great Host that take the time to get to know everyone that travels through their B&B. I hope Jim Takes me up on my bisquit reciepe as he is a great cook and always looking for great meals to share.
Yall be sure to tell him and Mary that yall heard it from here!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

We are pleased that you found our Inn the perfect wellness getaway. We certainly enjoyed your visit. As of yet we haven't tried the secrets you shared to baking biscuits and cookies but it is posted on the board in the kitchen and we will be giving it a try. It was nice having you visit and we are glad you enjoyed the experience including the massages. Ya'll come on back next time you need an escape.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Wow! That pretty much sums up our stay at Chilhowie Mountain Retreat. It's gotta be the cleanest place I've ever stayed. Everything was fresh and spotless. Our room, Forest View, was large and extremely well appointed. The main inn is beautiful with a large deck where you can relax and enjoy the view. Jim and Mary cook up some tasty and interesting dishes for breakfast. Additionally, they could not be nicer or more helpful as hosts. I like the remote nature of the inn. Be warned, it's a 15 to 20 minute drive to anything, but it is a scenic drive. If you want to get away for a few days, this is the place.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParrishGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Wow! Thank you for your wonderfully kind review. We sure appreciate it when guests notice the cleanliness of the Inn, we work hard so our guests feel safe and comfortable in their surroundings. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your room and the back deck. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We recently stayed four nights at the Chilhowee Mountain Retreat for my girlfriend's birthday. The facility is amazing! More importantly Jim and Mary are tremendous hosts. They are warm, friendly and a delight to be with. They made our weekend unforgettable. Whether it was directions to a local trail or entertaining us with delightful conversation, they were a joy to talk to.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jstallin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

First, thank you for your kind review. You also were both a joy to get to know and to spend some time with. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to our Inn and the Smoky Mountains. We hope to see you both again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I recently selected this B&B for a weekend trip to the mountains and boy were we glad we did. The entire place was spotless and the furniture and bed were super comfortable. The views of the mountains and Happy Valley were spectacular too. Jim and Mary are terrific hosts. They catered to our every need and spent the right amount of time getting to know us and the other guests. I highly recommend this inn, especially if you like remote, out of the way beautiful locations.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for your very complimentary review. We sure appreciate it when guests note the cleanliness and comfort of our B&B. We agree with you about the views and try to enjoy them every day. It was wonderful spending the evening getting to know you both. We enjoy spending time with our guests -- it is all part of the hospitality. We look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I say it was an experience because it was more than just a Bed and Breakfast stay. The owners go out of their way to make you feel at home and accommodate your every need. From the moment you walk in your greeted by the friendly innkeeper and given a tour of the place. No pictures can do this place justice. The B&B is set upon the top of a mountain and the views are spectacular. We stayed in the wildflower room and would wake up to the sights of the mountains every morning. Jim, one of the owners, is very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. He can give you great suggestions on what to do during the day and is great to chat with during your stay. The breakfasts were absolutely amazing. You would expect that kind of food at a fine dining restaurant. You can tell they have taken a lot of time planning and cooking each meal. I can not say enough about this place. The bed was the most comfortable we have slept in, and the bathroom has a state-of-the-art jacuzzi tub and rain/steam shower. It was our first B&B stay and can confidently say there will never be a greater experience at another B&B. This is a MUST DO if your a B&B enthusiast or first timer like us!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nwhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Thanks for your review. It is great to hear that our guests found Chilhowee Mountain Retreat to be an unbelievable experience. Glad you felt right at home here during your stay and that you enjoyed our breakfasts. It is also nice to know that the beds were comfortable and that you got a good night's rest. After all, we are a BED and BREAKFAST. We are happy that your first experience at a bed and breakfast was a good one and look forward to seeing you both again. Thanks again for the great review and congratulations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryville
11.8 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
687 reviews
9.8 mi away
Luxbury Inn & Suites
Luxbury Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Maryville
117 reviews
15.2 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Quality Inn Alcoa
Quality Inn Alcoa
#6 of 15 in Alcoa
148 reviews
13.8 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
22.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Robbinsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilhowee Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilhowee Mountain Retreat

Address: 5110 Little Doubles Rd, Maryville, TN 37803-3516
Location: United States > Tennessee > Maryville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Maryville
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At an elevation of 2200 feet, bordering the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Chilhowee Mountain Retreat provides a quiet, peaceful, comfortable bed and breakfast escape where you can enjoy the seclusion of the forest and the panoramic views of the Smoky Mountains. Enhance your stay with the Smoky Mountain Spa Experience which includes an in-room massage. Continue pampering yourself by relaxing in the two person air-jet tub enhanced with bath salts or aromatherapy. You may also choose to unwind in your in-room steam shower. Our luxurious log cabin home is perfect for a quiet, restful, romantic getaway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing