We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect retreat!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maryville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chilhowee Mountain Retreat
Ranked #2 of 5 Maryville B&B and Inns
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The perfect retreat!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Surprised my husband Bob with a weekend getaway for his birthday. He had never stayed in a B&B before and was a bit leary of not having enough privacy. We stayed in Bear Room which was very comfortable and with the most amazing view They are the perfect hosts. We felt completely at ease and not at all crowded. They even went out of their way and put a Happy Birthday card with a Rose in vase...very sweet. Best coffee ever and the delicious fresh fruit water and afternoon cookies were a great touch!! Loved every minute and miss it already. Hope to see you again!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colette V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you Colette for your kind review. We are so glad your surprise weekend worked out so well and that you both had a wonderful time. It is nice to know that you enjoyed the coffee (it is all in how you measure it). We look forward to seeing you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
123
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband and I visited Maryville to see his family and we chose to stay at Chilhowee. We could not be more happy we did. Very nice and very relaxing. Our view was fantastic: we could sit in our hot tub and gaze over the Smokey Mountains. We had to run around quite a bit to visit folks but coming back to our room was the most relaxing we've had in a long, long time. Our bed was very comfortable and the sitting room was as well. The host and hostess were top notch and put out a wonderful spread for breakfast. My husband is picky and the first thing he mentioned to our son when we returned home was that he was definitely planning on returning soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review. It is always satisfying to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay so much they plan to return, soon in fact. It is our goal to make sure all our guests have a pleasant, relaxing and enjoyable stay with us. We are pleased that you found the accommodations and amenities just what you needed. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our visit to Chilhowee Mt. Retreat was a wonderful experience! The vista of the Smokey Mts.-both looking out window of room and/or sitting/relaxing on the balcony outside large downstairs room - is BEAUTIFUL.! Our spacious room provided privacy, internet service, large screen TV, and a most comfortable king sized bed. A private, spacious bathroom provided a large whirlpool tub AND a steam bath shower as well. Both were used and appreciated during our two night stay. Outside the room a small sitting area is available for guests to use; a much larger room with a floor to ceiling fireplace and very comfortable chairs and sofa are available for any guests as well. One can easily say, " We don't need to go into town; let's stay here all day." We very much enjoyed the breakfasts served to us. The proprietors of Chilhowee Mt. Retreat are most gracious and friendly!! Hope we can plan a future visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhon k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful review of your visit for our future guests to read. We are happy you enjoyed the majestic panoramic views of the Smoky Mountains and all the amenities that we offer. You are not the first guests who have thought about simply enjoying the experience and foregoing a trip to town, it is for this reason we offer a dinner for two--maybe next time. We too hope you plan another visit and look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Myself and My lovely wife Lynn had a most relaxing time...Jim and Mary put you in the lap of luxury! We have decided that we are gonna move in next week!!! Your money will be we spent for whatever the amount of days you decide upon!!! Tom and Lynn Hall, Lynchburg, Va.

Room Tip: Choose the Forest room if you want the utmost in privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Tom and Lynn, we enjoyed having you as our guests and appreciate your wonderful review. It is great to know that we put you in the "lap of luxury." Thanks again for the review and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabaster, Alabama
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I booked this trip as a last minute getaway for me and my love Couldn't have been more pleased!! Everything from the check-in to the hospitality of the owners the wonderful view from or room to the Delicious breakfast in the morning was just great.. Our room was wonderful!! Plenty of privacy For a perfect couples getaway!!! My Girl and I could not have had a better time! If you are looking for a B&B with comfort,privacy and the chance of meeting some wonderful people or just staying in your room for some alone time, this is a great place to be.. not Far from Gatlinburg or really any other site you may want in the area, plenty of things to see and do.. We will definitely be coming back to see Jim and Mary at their B&B again!!! Thank you for a wonderful time!

Room Tip: The Bear room was by far the best room and that's where we were.. the other rooms were great als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review. We are always pleased to know that our guests found their stay and our hospitality just what they were looking for. To hear that we are the best B&B you have ever visited makes us very happy, for we are striving to be the best. We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ooltewah, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife I booked one night here for our 5 year anniversary. We were so impressed with everything we couldn't wait to enjoy our night away. After eating a wonderful dinner at a local restaraunt we unexpectantly had to leave without staying our night due to a family issue. I told Jim the innkeeper that a refund would not be necessary due to this being out of their control. But, within a short while I received an email from Jim informing me that I would in fact be receiving a full refund. Though I still feel this was unnecessary, this just shows you what kind of people Jim and Mary are. Anyone looking for a great place to get away, please stay at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat. You will not want to leave!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wjjerkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are sorry that family circumstances prevented you from staying the night and enjoying our wonderful breakfast. We weigh each situation separately and we felt that what we did was the right thing to do. We certainly hope you will be able to return in the near future and fully enjoy our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lansdowne, pa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Over the mountain and through the woods lies an amazing retreat. Jim and Mary have created an absolute oasis. The inn is luxurious and the breakfasts were scrumptious! We loved out 4 day stay here. As lovers of B&Bs, Chilhowee Mountain Retreat ranks among our top 5 of all time. If you are anywhere near Maryville, this is where you should stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank studio428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and recommendation. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our B&B luxurious and our breakfasts scrumptious. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryville
9.8 mi away
Luxbury Inn & Suites
Luxbury Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Maryville
112 reviews
11.8 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
625 reviews
12.0 mi away
MainStay Suites Alcoa Knoxville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Quality Inn Alcoa
Quality Inn Alcoa
#6 of 15 in Alcoa
131 reviews
13.4 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
178 reviews
15.2 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilhowee Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilhowee Mountain Retreat

Property: Chilhowee Mountain Retreat
Address: 5110 Little Doubles Rd, Maryville, TN 37803-3516
Location: United States > Tennessee > Maryville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Maryville
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At an elevation of 2200 feet, bordering the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Chilhowee Mountain Retreat provides a quiet, peaceful, comfortable bed and breakfast escape where you can enjoy the seclusion of the forest and the panoramic views of the Smoky Mountains. Enhance your stay with the Smoky Mountain Spa Experience which includes an in-room massage. Continue pampering yourself by relaxing in the two person air-jet tub enhanced with bath salts or aromatherapy. You may also choose to unwind in your in-room steam shower. Our luxurious log cabin home is perfect for a quiet, restful, romantic getaway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing