We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where do I start?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chilhowee Mountain Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maryville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chilhowee Mountain Retreat
Ranked #2 of 6 Maryville B&B and Inns
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Where do I start?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Amazing weekend experience! Not only is their home spectacular, the owners Jim and Mary are warm and inviting hosts who made us feel like welcome members of the family from the moment we arrived. The rooms are impeccable, the air-jet tub and steam shower are out of this world but the beds are to die for. My only regret, other than I had to get out of it in the morning, was I couldn't strap it to the roof of the car and take it home. And if that weren't enough, Jim's "spaghetti eggs with vodka sauce" alone would make Chilhowee Mountain Retreat worth coming back again and again. Loved it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RosiJnAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your kind words reviewing your stay. We are so pleased that you not only got some great rest and sleep in our beds but that you enjoyed our breakfasts too. Thank you for not strapping the bed on your car...come back soon when you need some great sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
122
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

My husband & I only stay at B&Bs with diamond ratings and we travel at least once a month. This B&B set a new level of excellence. If you have a chance to stay, I advise you not to pass it up! The experience is outstanding.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BreLee69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Wow! What a review. Thank you so much for expressing your thoughts here for others to see. Since you travel at least once a month we certainly hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANSFIELD
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was our second time to stay at Chilhowee, we absolutely love it here!!! We have traveled to several places around the world, and I can honestly say that nothing compares to Chilhowee!!
We are going to try to make this a yearly trip. The carriage house is perfect for us, we loved the hot tub and views!! If you want an amazing getaway book this place!! Mary & Jim make it worth the trip, they are so personable and also great cooks!! The breakfasts are to die for!! Thank you for making our stay unforgettable!!! The flowers and note card surely made us feel special!!
Alan & Barb Johnson

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justmarried92812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so happy that you felt special, because you are. It is just wonderful when our guests return for a second visit. Thank you so much. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The whole experience exceeded all expectations. Amazing views, great breakfasts, and exceptionally clean rooms. Jim and Mary were kind and very gracious hosts with there stunning log cabin. The pictures don't do it justice. There is not a single detail missed! We can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StLRedbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We want all our guests to enjoy our home and our hospitality. We are also happy to hear that your experience exceeded all your expectations. Now you know what to expect on your next visit. See you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our stay was exceptional. We were made to feel like family not a guest. Breakfast was great, loved the views and sitting on the leather couch reading my book while Jim kept the fire burning.
Mary and Jim were wonderful host and their home is charming. Loved the bath...steam shower, tub and bath products. Did the Tail of the Dragon with the fall colors....heaven. Nice to have a storage cabinet with treats. Would highly recommend this mountain retreat.

Room Tip: Arrive day light..up a mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lkturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We are so pleased that you felt right at home during your stay. We enjoyed having you and hope you will visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was our second stay at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat. Mary and Jim are super hosts. They make their home feel like your home. The views are outstanding. Their breakfasts are always very tasty and interesting. The location is only a few minutes from the "Dragon".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aubrey47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
It was so nice to see you again and visit with you. It is always nice when our guests return, we get to reconnect with friends. Thanks again for the review. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

After a fun drive through the Tail of the Dragon, we met Mary and Jim at the Chilhowee Retreat. We knew this would be a fun evening when Jim met us at the front door with a big smile and a warm welcome. The website pictures don't express the warmth and friendliness of the whole retreat experience. Jim made us a special fire for two on the porch when we returned from dinner Saturday night. It was lovely and cozy. The accomodations, food and hospitality were much more than we expected. We highly recommend staying at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat if you're looking for a relaxing, stress free experience.

Room Tip: You will not be disappointed staying in the Wildflower Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drumsrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thanks for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your time on the back porch by the fire. It is good to know you found our Inn to be relaxing and stress-free. We look forward to seeing you again when you come for a long weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryville
11.8 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
9.8 mi away
Luxbury Inn & Suites
Luxbury Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Maryville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
12.0 mi away
MainStay Suites Alcoa Knoxville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
11.8 mi away
Quality Inn Alcoa
Quality Inn Alcoa
#6 of 15 in Alcoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
15.0 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilhowee Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilhowee Mountain Retreat

Property: Chilhowee Mountain Retreat
Address: 5110 Little Doubles Rd, Maryville, TN 37803-3516
Location: United States > Tennessee > Maryville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Maryville
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At an elevation of 2200 feet, bordering the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Chilhowee Mountain Retreat provides a quiet, peaceful, comfortable bed and breakfast escape where you can enjoy the seclusion of the forest and the panoramic views of the Smoky Mountains. Enhance your stay with the Smoky Mountain Spa Experience which includes an in-room massage. Continue pampering yourself by relaxing in the two person air-jet tub enhanced with bath salts or aromatherapy. You may also choose to unwind in your in-room steam shower. Our luxurious log cabin home is perfect for a quiet, restful, romantic getaway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing