We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Anniversary Get-Away”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maryville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chilhowee Mountain Retreat
Ranked #2 of 5 Maryville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Tennessee
1 review
“Wonderful Anniversary Get-Away”
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat in July of 2011 to celebrate our 8th wedding anniversary, so this review is long overdue. While we live in the same town as this property, we wanted a mini-get-away, and this was the perfect choice. It could not have been more enjoyable. While we only stayed one night, it still felt like a totally relaxing vacation. The atmosphere is more like that of a luxury hotel than your typical B&B, with large spaces to roam and relax. The building is relatively new, quiet and meticulously maintained. Easy-going Jim (a.k.a "The Commander") was there only when you needed him. He pampered us with a delightful antipasti, and we also went in for the totally relaxing couples massage package on the deck, overlooking breathtaking views of the mountains. In the morning we were met at the table with a scrumptious gourmet breakfast casserole, warm homemade muffins and breads and juices. We brought a bottle of champagne along to enjoy and Jim provided expert corkage service to us. Not a detail is overlooked in the way this B&B is operated. Our room (Bear Room) was absolutely comfortable, spotlessly clean, with more gorgeous views of the mountains. If you are traveling in East Tennessee, you must put this wonderful gem on your list of places to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergei-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
125
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston
2 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We checked in at this B&B after 8 p.m. on a drizzly night and the warm brownies and coffee was a welcome addition after a long day of being on the bikes. This is a beautiful, new post and beam construction B&B way up the mountain with Jim and Mary serving as very knowledgeable hosts. We loved our room (Bear) and wished we could have stayed longer to enjoy the many amenities and panoramic views. We have stayed at many B&B's and hotels all over the world and this one is a winner. We plan to return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Beautiful property, I promise that you will not be disappointed if you make this awesome drive into the mountains. Mary & Jim are naturals @ making you feel like your are the most important guests that they will ever have. We will return to the Inn & The Tail of the Dragon which a short ride from the Inn.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally a cut above what you are expecting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capesanblasinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2011

My husband and I spent one night at the retreat in the Bear Room and we could not have asked for a lovelier experience. Everything was perfect: the room, the appointments, the locale, the food and the hospitality. We have never stayed in a B&B in our travels, but this experience has made us want to try more.

We highly recommend the Chilhowee Mountain Retreat and we plan to return. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsPredator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Outstanding! This is my first review on tripadvisor because I have never been to a place that did everything as perfectly as the Chilowee Mountain Retreat. My wife and I have stayed at various B and B's and lodges throughout the world. This was by far the best one ever! The view from our room was better than any of the vistas/summits we drove or hiked to in our two weeks in the Great Smokey Mountains. The bedroom and bathroom were very comfortable and extremely clean. The breakfast was amazing, it felt more like a five course meal than a start to the day. Great hosts, very helpful and interesting. We plan on returning as soon as possible.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Fantastic find! My husband and I reserved a night here on our way north, and enjoyed it so much, we altered our plans so we could stay another evening on the way back south! The owners are wonderful, and have put alot of thought into their B&B -- the small details really stand out. The cabin has beautiful views, which they have enhanced with wild flowers and potted plants around their cabin. Throughout the day, hummingbirds play around the feeders in the back. Our room was spacious, with two recliner chairs (how often do you go to a room and there is just one for the two of you?!), large flat screen tv, and free wireless. The bathroom was exceptional, with both an airjet tub and steam shower in the room. Can't recommend this place enough.

Room Tip: The wildflower room had amazing views...but I can't imagine the other two do not as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gatormnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paxton, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Didn't know what to expect as I found this online. We were so pleased with every aspect of this B&B. Gentle music playing inside and outside the main house. Flower bouquet waiting in our room on arrival for our anniversary. Beautiful views. Very clean inside and out. Great breakfast every morning! So enjoyed the privacy of the Forest View room. Private hot tub on our private deck was appreciated every night. Jim printed off restaurant menus in the area for us to try and gave us directions to activities in the area. The Forest View room itself was like a small house in size! Beautifully decorated. The bed was soooo comfortable. One morning after breakfast, Jim brought in a brownie cake in the shape of a mountain for my husband's birthday! So enjoyed our visits with Jim and Mary. It was like we were visiting with old friends or family. We will definitely go back!!!

Room Tip: The Forest View room is our recommendation for privacy. The whole place is very quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliebur75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryville
9.8 mi away
Luxbury Inn & Suites
Luxbury Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Maryville
113 reviews
11.8 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
660 reviews
11.8 mi away
Quality Inn Alcoa
Quality Inn Alcoa
#5 of 15 in Alcoa
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
187 reviews
12.0 mi away
MainStay Suites Alcoa Knoxville Airport
15.2 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilhowee Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilhowee Mountain Retreat

Property: Chilhowee Mountain Retreat
Address: 5110 Little Doubles Rd, Maryville, TN 37803-3516
Location: United States > Tennessee > Maryville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Maryville
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At an elevation of 2200 feet, bordering the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Chilhowee Mountain Retreat provides a quiet, peaceful, comfortable bed and breakfast escape where you can enjoy the seclusion of the forest and the panoramic views of the Smoky Mountains. Enhance your stay with the Smoky Mountain Spa Experience which includes an in-room massage. Continue pampering yourself by relaxing in the two person air-jet tub enhanced with bath salts or aromatherapy. You may also choose to unwind in your in-room steam shower. Our luxurious log cabin home is perfect for a quiet, restful, romantic getaway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing