We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Love, Love, Love Butterfly Gap Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly Gap Retreat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Butterfly Gap Retreat
Ranked #3 of 5 Maryville B&B and Inns
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love, Love, Love Butterfly Gap Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

For anyone looking for peace and quiet, great service, excellent breakfast, and a unique stay, visit Butterfly Gap Retreat.

A while back, Southern Living had an article featuring Butterfly Gap Retreat, and I clipped it out and placed it in my files. Knowing we were going to Nashville, Tennessee for a wedding, my husband and I booked a couple of days at this unique Bed and Breakfast as a nice break in our traveling schedule. We stayed in Cottage 142 which is a round, almost entirely glass enclosed structure. Apparently, the inspiration for this cottage was a weeping willow. My husband and I enjoyed the charming interior as well as the exterior which offered three different sitting areas. We thoroughly enjoyed the total privacy this location offered. The bed was very comfortable (the bamboo sheets were fabulously soft) and the ability to lie in bed and have an outdoor view was special.

Each morning, a scrumptious breakfast was promptly delivered along with carafes of juice and milk. Waiting for coffee is unncessary since it is already in the cottage along with a coffee maker. The cottages are equipped with a kitchen and if you desire, you can make your own lunch and/or dinner.

Becky and her family went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and were eager to make our stay memorable. Becky is exactly the type of person I would love to call my friend. She is energetic, quick witted, and downright fun. The only thing that would have made our trip even better (if that was at all possible) would have been a trip to visit Becky's llama. We told her that would be a must on our next visit.

My husband and I very much want to return to Butterfly Gap and experience the setting in different seasons. We even like the idea of staying for a week and trying Cottage 220 for half the time and then return to Cottage 142 the last half. Keep in mind, each cottage is unique in style and decor. Also, the cottages are not close to each other. Breakfast is an experience and plentiful in size.

Butterfly Gap Retreat....a jewel in Tennessee!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ezsmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    2
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
53
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenhills, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

this was our second time staying at butterfly gap, and won't be the last.First time (10/12) we did the tourist thing. Went to cades cove riding bikes( thought it was when they had trail closed to traffic for awhile, but its only in summer) gatlinburg, smokies, maryville bike trail( got sidetracked wasn't fun ) packed, and planned to much in for two days.
totally surprised when we first pulled into property and saw how beautiful it was! took a bottle of wine and watched the sunset from the overlook.clear night all the stars and could see airplanes going to tyson/mcghee airport. we slept in the most comfortable and fabulous bed ever.can't say enough about breakfast. we stayed in cottage 320 which has a screened in porch, deck off the master bedroom, and washer/dryer
this time we did it right. stayed on the property most of the time. hiked the trails saw the baby lambs, just spent a lot of great time together as we celebrated our 17th anniversary.we did go to maryville for lunch and dinner vienna coffee house is fabulous!! one lunch i went to "the market" in maryville, to get carryout salads for us, and ate on the front patio area. we stayed in cottage 142. we didn't go to overlook as we were able to watch sunsetting from our back patio area( we could have seen it from the bed as it is a wall of windows facing out.)
you are not a guest here . you are treated as if you are old friends. what i really like is the journal. seeing who else stayed there, what they did, where they were from, and the reason for being there.there are many repeat visitors, and we are part of that group. can't wait to go back again
another highlight for us is visiting clinton tn and their antique shops. there are about 20 in their historic district. clinton is about 10 miles north of knoxville off I-75

Room Tip: cottage 142 is high up and cleared out somewhat perfect for pulling up a lounge chair and gazing at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed in home 142..Wow! It was like coming home! We brought our own food. We ate, we slept, we watched TV, we ate, we slept. It was a beautiful long weekend. The breakfasts were wonderful! I can't say enough about the great hospitality from Becky and Laura. This place is #1 on our list and will be a must-visit for years to come!

Room Tip: Home 142 is very modern, spacious and has heated floors! All glass, but very very private. It's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville,Tennessee
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is a must stay retreat! Butterfly Gap offers 6 unique state of the art cottages. It's like a bed and breakfast, except its more private because you have your own cottage. Breakfast is delivered to your cottage. It is fabulous & ample (no lunch required)! You can truly rest and get away from the rat race. No one bugs you here, unless you need something.
Our first stay was for our anniversary and the second was strictly to getaway and rest.
You can enjoy private hiking trails, modern walk in showers, jetted tubs, fireplaces, gorgeous views, a stocked lake, and cottage 332 has an additional outdoor bed in the screened back porch. It's really cool!

We have stayed in cottages 332 & 142. We will definitely return! This is the only bed and breakfast that we have ever returned to. It is well worth the price for a couple of days of quiet, private, peaceful relaxation.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APrincessLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We loved our stay at Butterfly Gap! This is a beautiful place with wonderful hosts. The guest houses are private, clean and modern. There is hiking, a small lake, and lots of relaxing. Breakfast is provided everyday and it is wonderful!! Butterfly Gap is located about 8 miles south or southwest of Maryville which is a nice clean city of about 27,000 people. There is a decent selection of restaurants, shopping and conveniences. If you stay here you are approximately 16 miles north of Townsend which has access into the National Park. Both Gatlingburg and Pigeon Forge are about a 35 minute drive. We really enjoyed our stay and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IllinoisTriptaker09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My son & daughter-in-laws wedding was at Butterfly Gap a couple weeks back and it was beautiful! My husband and I live in California so trying to plan a rehearsal dinner was not easy from far away. We decided to have it at Butterfly Gap Retreat. Laura, Mandy and Becky made it so easy to plan from afar. From using a caterer from their list (which we loved) to responding to every question, to helping me with details so that the venue would look different for the wedding... it couldn't of gone any smoother and we could not have been happier! Their enthusiasm and love for what they do is evident in every detail! The property is beautiful and the buildings are unique which made it extra special! The rehearsal dinner, wedding and reception was wonderful and my son and daughter-in-law also stayed in one of the cottages on their wedding night, which was a perfect end to the wedding. The setting helped to make the pictures we have seen so far, spectacular! If you plan on staying here or having your wedding here, it will definitely be memorable and unique!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover, AL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We will return to this wonderful retreat. The house was cozy and perfect for two. The hosts were so nice and hospitable. The best part though was the breakfasts! So much food you really do not need to eat again until evening. Some of the best breakfast food we have ever had! Great place to relax and get away from it all!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bamatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryville
8.1 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#7 of 11 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
7.4 mi away
Luxbury Inn & Suites
Luxbury Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Maryville
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
8.4 mi away
Quality Inn Alcoa
Quality Inn Alcoa
#7 of 15 in Alcoa
4.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
8.7 mi away
MainStay Suites Alcoa Knoxville Airport
16.7 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
5.0 of 5 stars 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly Gap Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly Gap Retreat

Property: Butterfly Gap Retreat
Address: 4366 Butterfly Gap Rd, Maryville, TN 37803-4296
Location: United States > Tennessee > Maryville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Maryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly Gap Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Butterfly Gap Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly Gap Retreat Hotel Maryville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing