We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely afternoon tea.”

The Grand Tea Lounge
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Turnberry
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ardmore, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon tea.”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Went to tea while my husband was playing golf. It was part of my Summer Serenity spa package. I drank coffee instead of tea and it was so good. The tea sandwiches were delicious. The scones were also yummy. Saved the chocolate for my husband, he thought it was very good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CareyFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    16
    6
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A touch of luxury”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We went to Turnberry for a special treat and had coffee followed by cocktails. What a great experience. A touch of luxury in a fabulous setting. The service was impeccable, the view amazing, although you won't always get such glorious sunshine in Scotland!

We had a Rossini, a Hendricks cocktail and a cocktail entitled the last cocktail. I think it was a close call betweent the Rossini and the hendricks as to which was the best.

This is not cheap. It is probably about £3 more than a cocktail at the lovely Beresford Terrace in Ayr. However, it's a place for a special treat and the occasional taste of luxurious living. I hear the cream tea is lovely too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyBoo2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
502 reviews
323 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“High tea with a view”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Afternoon tea at Turnberry is fantastic experience, from the meeter and greeter in Highland uniform to the tea sommellier in a grand style with an unrivalled view over Turnberry golf course, the Clyde estuary and Ailsa Craig island on the horizon. The tea platter is a three tiered dish with fresh sandwiches and savoury bites to start with , moving upwards towards the sweet dainties at the top, and the attentive staff know when you are ready to refresh your taste buds with a small but tasty shot glass of pea and ham soup.
The tea sommellier does have a knowledge of the flavours and blends and is willing to pass on information regarding your choice, but be warned, you only get one choice. I had assumed that the tea tasting experience would have provided more than one tea tasting, so started with the "Turnberry Blend" to have a taste "base" from which to savour another more exotic flavour. This was sadly not to be, as only one small pot was provided, filled from a traditional samovar at the correct temperature and presented with a triple colour-coded sand-glass timer with the advice on which one would provide the correct timing for your blend. Silver service and tea strainer all enhanced the experience, but this tea experience could be better.
I thing that the advert that the sommellier would guide you through an extensive selection of teas is misleading, as a menu was provided and then order taken for your tea selection and no further selection of tea was offered.
I am sure that at least one other tea would not break the bank and would certainly provide a much better tea tasting experience for those going out their way to visit this lovely establishment.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
1,275 reviews
836 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
“Nice tea in a wonderful setting”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Grand Tea Lounge is set in a large room overlooking the sea and golf course. It's a perfect place to enjoy an afternoon tea by yourself or with your wife. It's bright and cheery with a spectacular view. This can be very relaxing and a nice way to unwind from whatever.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“too many flies”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

afternoon tea was lovely but the flies spoiled it. Surely something can be done in an establishment such as this.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank joyce h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grand Tea Lounge also viewed

Turnberry, South Ayrshire
 
Turnberry, South Ayrshire
Girvan, South Ayrshire
 

Been to The Grand Tea Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing