We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay but not 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Turnberry
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice stay but not 5 star”
Reviewed April 9, 2007

Myself and my partner recently decided on a last minute stay on a Sunday night. FOund an excellent B&B rate on the hotels website for a Classic King bedded Room (Resort view - i.e. the driveway at the back of the hotel - not an issue)

The public rooms are very nice and 'old school' in terms of traditional Scottish Country House Hotel - beautiful really and nothing can prepare you for the first sight of the hotel as you drive in - great setting.

The Classic Room was nice enough - if a little tired looking ie scuffs on walls, rickety floorboards (which added to the charm if im being honest) and the bathroom also could have done with a bit of an update. My only beef - is for a resort that is claiming to be 5 star, the corridors were also a little tired and there were numerous Housekeeping trolleys were out on show - at 5pm shouldnt they have disappeared?

However the bed was extremely comfortable and HUGE! lovely!

Only had breakfast in the morning - a huge selection was available and a good full Scottish breakfast was brought to the table (if possible ask for a table by the front windows- beautiful views!) and endless pots of coffee.

The staff couldnt be nicer and were very professional. The lounge bar did have a great pianist playing but when he finished they music selection from the sound system was 'eclectic' to say the least!

Really nice peaceful place to stay - if your a golfer youll love all the memorabilia on the walls and the wonderful setting. Just in need of some sprucing up.

  • Liked — Huge comfy Heavenly Beds - setting on the Ayrshire coast is beautiful
  • Disliked — Needs a little TLC in the rooms
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EdinburghScotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    878
    250
    117
    64
    35
See reviews for
211
633
15
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2007

Visited the resort in early March 07 to celebrate our wedding anniversary, together with two friends. I reserved rooms on D,B&B basis with ocean view in the Spa section (adjacent & connected by enclosed walkway & stair) as two of the party are keen Pool/Jacuzzi/Sauna buffs. We are all golfers so we played on the two courses available on the residents ticket.



One of our rooms had a very shabby bathroom & a tiny window
for the "sea view". We had two evening meals in the main dining
room which were perfectly acceptable, if overpriced. The wine
list there is lengthy & incredibly expensive. Breakfasts were part
buffet, part order at table. One morning (after a wedding) the
numbers of people requesting food at the same time overwhelmed the system with resultant (unacceptable) delays. The Pool is fine, (use it early mornings/later afternoon if possible
if you want to avoid the hordes of young kids). Jacuzzi is OK, Sauna tiny. We had one evening meal at the "Terrace" restaurant
which was excellent.

As regards the golf, we played in the teeth of 25-40mph winds
which certainly kept us on our toes ! The Kintyre course has some
fine holes but is very much "fitted in" on the available land. The Ailsa (Championship) course is a different kettle of fish but we were surprised to see some holes shortened (played as par 3's
instead of par 4's) whilst course changes & repair are effected in preparation for the Open to be held there in 2009 (!).

Overall I would recommend this place to stay & play for the experience, but would not return. Sorry Turnberry, but Gleneagles still gets my vote.

  • Liked — location/scenery
  • Disliked — pretension
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank djaym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2007

I stayed at the hotel in one of the lodges for a long weekend. My husband and son love golf so they were happy. I love being pampered and doing nothing so I was happy and my daughter loves swimming and horses so she was happy. The food in the restaurants was fantastic although quite expensive. The activities were amazing. My husband and son played golf and went shooting while my daughter did horse riding and swimming. This hotel has something for every one. Its owned by the Americans and I think they rip you off a bit but what the hell its worth it. Go and Enjoy.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaymadEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romiley, cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2007

Myself and my family stayed at Turnberry over the new year period. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the hotel is impressive. However the only dissapointment we had was the swimming pool/spa area. To get to this you had to walk through a part of the hotel that was very cold and uninviting. The water in the swimming pool was extremely cold and even my 3 yr old daughter complained of the temperature! On mentioning this to the lifeguard he said 'yes we know, a lot of our members complain about it' (!) 'but it is kept at the required temperature and we are unable to adjust it'. Hence, we stayed in there for about 5 mins max and never returned during our 4 night stay. Which is a shame as we were all really looking forward to spending time in there. I don't think we would visit Turnberry again because of this.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank 1two3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2007

We recently stayed at the Westin Turnberry for two nights. Having stayed before we booked two ocean view rooms as although the resort view rooms are cheaper the views over the golf course and towards the sea are a reason to stay at the hotel alone!

Our rooms were both kings with a separate hallway which made them very quiet despite the hotel being very busy. The bathrooms were large with huge tubs and seperate shower booths. There were plenty toiletries and towels and housekeeping standards were faultless. In the bedrooms furnishings were traditional, of reasonable quality although the TV was a bit basic. Both our rooms had little balconies which in the summer would have been great to watch the sunsets. Bedding and soft furnishings were high quality.

The Turnberry Restaurant is the fine dining restaurant and although it is no doubt quite pricey the food was excellent, well presented and service was friendly and attentive. The room itself is very traditional although the food had many modern touches. There are plenty fair priced wines and quite a lot of three or even four figure bottles! Dress was a bit mixed - there were a few who seemed happy in jeans although most diners made the effort to be dressed 'smart casual'.

There is also a casual restaurant above the spa with a bar area which also sold snacks - smoked salmon sandwiches were good and not much more pricey than Marks and Spencers!

The pool is lovely - large and semi-circle shaped to make the most of views towards Ailsa Craig. There are plenty of loungers to relax. Spa treatments are expensive - my daughter had a massage which she said was OK but not out of this world.

Breakfast is served in the main restaurant and is plentiful with a good choice from both buffet and menu. Service at breakfast could be a bit better organised but after catching the waiting staff attention service was quick and helpful.

Please note that there is not a choice of eating places outwith the hotel as any nearby towns are not visitor oreintated so booking dinner is certainly required.

In summary this is a trditional hotel ( doormen in kilts ), no airconditioning, but spectacular grounds, excellent views, good service, good facilities and very relaxing with no stuffiness. One of Scotland's best hotels.

  • Liked — Quality
  • Disliked — Distance to travel to
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank blackterrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2007

Booked a rate for two nights that included dinner in Turnberry restaurant to be told on arrival that Turnberry restaurant was closed for private party on first night, and that there was restricted time availabilty for Dinner in Turnberry on second night. Allocated bedroom was chilly on arrival, which was soon improved by turning on radiators! However bedroom had huge bathroom attached with no form of heating other than puny heated towel rail which seemed to make little or no difference to bathroom temperature. Despite size of bathroom, bath was actually located under sloping ceiling which meant over bath shower was fine for small people but very uncomfortable for others. No facility to use hairdryer close to mirror and sqeaky floorboards all over the room increased our dissatisfaction. Yes we should have complained, but these faults emerged after a few hours in room and given that the objective of the weekend was to chiil out the last thing we felt like was complaining. So the first night we had dinner in the Terrace restaurant which was generally of a good standard but my wifes starter which was described as Tempura Scallops (note the plural) actually consisted of one Scallop despite the fact that a supplement was charged on the menu.
Breakfast was very good on both days as was Dinner in the Turnberry on the second night ,despite our lack of time preference, but there were sufficient other little niggles with other aspects of the service to persuade us that we would not rush back when there are other 5 star hotels in Scotland of a demonstrably better standard. Finally on check out no amendment was made to our first night room rate despite the fact that the all inclusive price of the Turnberry meal would have been significantly more than the cost of the Terrace restaurant meal that was credited to our account. This last point was not noticed until we were away from the Hotel. The Hotel is in a great location and it is a pity on this instance at least it did not live up to expectations.

  • Liked — Location location location
  • Disliked — Overall experience just not as good as it should have been
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dss321ku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turnberry
17.1 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malin Court Hotel
Malin Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Turnberry
128 reviews
16.6 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Western House Hotel
7.0 mi away
Woodland Bay Hotel
Woodland Bay Hotel
#1 of 5 in Girvan
449 reviews
12.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland

Property: Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland
Address: Maidens Road, Turnberry KA26 9LT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Turnberry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Turnberry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within an 800 acre estate with views overlooking the rugged Ayrshire coastline, Trump Turnberry Resort is an enchanting destination. Trump Turnberry is the world's original golf resort with over a century of hospitality and tradition. It is scene of some of the most memorable moments in Open history, the championship Ailsa course is a legend in the game. Complimented by The Turnberry Performance Academy, an outstanding teaching facility offering a holistic approach to the game of golf; Trump Turnberry Resort is one of the most magnificent destinations for golf breaks in Scotland. With a range of outstanding accommodation, championship golf, a relaxing ESPA spa, six restaurants & bars and thrilling outdoor pursuits at Turnberry Adventures, Trump Turnberry Resort boasts a myriad of activities for travelers, golfers and families. The resort enjoys a spectacular coastal setting with breathtaking views of the Isle of Arran, Ailsa Craig and the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turnberry, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland Hotel Turnberry
Turnberry Westin
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing