We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool calm luxurious decadent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Turnberry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

I immediately relaxed from the minute I walked in the door. And the views from all the main rooms were stunning. Food is exceptional (the vegetarian grill should be tried for breakfast whether you are meat eater or not). And the staff couldn't have done more. I will very much look forward to a return visit.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank Jgilro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments following your most recent visit to Turnberry- I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay amongst us and that you were impressed with our breakfast offerings in the 1906 restaurant. With an array of options to choose from, I am sure you will agree that breakfast is a relaxing experience made better by the breathtaking views over the Irish Sea and golf courses- the perfect way to start any day! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

817 - 823 of 1,478 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

Treated ourselves to a 2 night stay at the hotel a few weeks ago. After driving up to the entrance we were met by the friendliest concierge we have encountered who always had a wee word or a bit of banter every time he saw us, check in was hassle free sitting at a nice desk and our bags were in the room by the time we finished, only ate in the Ailsa bar or the lovely Tea room and was excellent if a little pricey but hey we knew that before we went.
Played the Ailsa course which was in super condition, also took advantage of the lovely spa as well.
The only minor criticism would be that at the time we visited the Ailsa bar did not open until 5pm and there was no coffee facilities in spa reception area.

Would love to return soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DreamT117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for sharing your most recent Turnberry experience. It is my pleasure to hear that you had an enjoyable stay overall and managed to fit in some time for golf and relaxation. I am sure you will agree that playing on the legendary Ailsa Course whilst admiring the captivating views is an unforgettable experience! I was also delighted to hear that the concierge was attentive and provided exceptional customer service throughout your stay. Please be assured that I will pass all of your comments on to the relevant departments for their attention. We hope to welcome you back to Turnberry in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Returning to Turnberry (and golf) after several decades, this 5 day break surpassed all expectations.
From the Portering and Reception staff, through to Lounge and Dining Room, as well as Spa and the Golf Teaching Professionals, we could not fault the level of service and attention to detail: during any hotel stay occasional (minor) lapses are perhaps inevitable, but were always put right. My wife thoroughly enjoyed several Spa treatments while I embarked on my "return to golf" with a Driving Range lesson, a playing lesson on the Arran Course, culminating with a round on the Ailsa course (even managing a few holes in par).
Some areas of the resort did look in need of a coat of paint or other maintenance which was surprising, but should be easily addressed.
On a lengthier stay some might find the restaurant menus repetitive, but the cuisine and wine list were of the highest standard. I would however suggest better sound proofing on the room door or installation of a double door system to minimise "corridor" noise: the only reason "Sleep Quality" dropped a couple of stars.
Beyond the hotel, Culzean Castle and Burns Country are a short drive away, but do beware the Average Speed cameras on some roads; Ayrshire has golf courses in abundance, from other Championship links such as Royal Troon, to inland courses such as Loudoun (the only "Gowf" Club in the world).
We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: A ocean view room with vistas over the Golf Links towards Ailsa Craig, not to mention the Piper play...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herestaeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent Turnberry experience. I am delighted to hear that after all these years, your trip to the resort was an exceptional one. I hope that your lessons with our professional were productive and that your return to golf was enjoyable! Your constructive feedback is also greatly appreciated and I will be sure to pass these on to the relevant parties for their attention in order to address your comments. We look forward to welcoming you home to Turnberry in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Was here on business, not for the first time, and it was excellent as usual. Beautiful location, helpful staff, great food and comfortable rooms. Only niggle was wifi and food a tiny bit on the pricey side but really minor points in the overall experience. Was there in March 2013. Going again this week.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Killian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent Turnberry experience. I am delighted to hear that you had another enjoyable stay amongst us and that you returned so soon! Your ongoing loyalty is greatly appreciated and we hope you will return again in the future where a warm indigenous welcome awaits you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

It's worth saving up a little for a weekend at beautiful Turnberry, the setting is spectacular and the service is truly excellent.

We shared a beautiful and luxurious family room with our 2 girls and our wee dog who was made welcome. The girls had a little annexe room, and the central room was roomy, beautifully appointed and simply lovely. The bathroom was beautiful with its free standing bath, separate shower and toilet cubicles. We loved the spa too.

Dinner was outstandingly good, and we thought reasonable in price for the standard of the food with excellent prices and choices for the children. A real 5 star experience and the waiting staff were wonderful. Breakfast the next day - we could have stayed 3 hours, so much to enjoy and choose from, a wonderful welcome from the feather capped and somewhat cheesy, kilted host.

Even check out was beautifully done, when handing over a pretty payment, it's helpful to have a lovely staff member and comfy chair to sit in!

Our walk to the beach through the grounds and golf course was rewarded with two seals playing in the waves and having a good look at us. We couldn't have had a better time. We'll most definitely be back this year. Loved it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliatthelane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments following your most recent visit to Turnberry- it was a pleasure to have you and your family staying amongst us. I am delighted to hear that all aspects of your stay were exceptional and that even the seals came out to extend a hearty Ayrshire welcome! Your comments are greatly appreciated and please be assured that I will be share them with all of our teams who I am sure will be as delighted to hear them as I am. We look forward to your return when a warm indigenous welcome awaits you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Really difficult to find fault with this hotel over the whole weekend the service was excellent, the bedroom was huge, spotless with great view and the food was great. Yes it's pricey and it is a bit cheeky to charge you for high speed internet given what you're spending on everything else but this wouldn't stop me going back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavieCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and observations following your most recent visit to Turnberry. I am delighted to hear that you had a most enjoyable stay and that you enjoyed your ocean view room. I am sure you will agree that the views are breathtaking! Our standard internet package which accommodates browsing the internet is complimentary however as you state above there is a charge should you require a stronger internet connection for downloading. I have passed on your comments to the general manager for his consideration. Thank you once again for you valuable feedback- we hope to welcome you home to Turnberry in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Booked overnight stay with friend in twin classic room - which was lovely and although overlooked car park - it's a lot nicer than that with lovely fountain view. Food was excellent & concierge Jim Berry made our time better always checking we were attended to - whilst doing it with great humour!!

Food in restaurant great value £90 for 2 courses & nice wine with an outstanding view - great!

Only negative was limited beds round pool given size of hotel but that could be easily fixed & certainly wouldn't put me off coming back - which I intend to do as soon as the wallet allows!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nichend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments following your recent visit to Turnberry. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable break and that the service you received from Jim made your stay a memorable one. I will be sure to pass all of your comments on to him! I appreciate your comments regarding the limited beds in the pool area and I will discuss this matter with our spa manager. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future where further Turnberry adventures await you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turnberry
17.1 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
314 reviews
16.6 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,137 reviews
22.3 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#1 of 3 in Brodick
3,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ayr
916 reviews
13.5 mi away
Western House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Malin Court Hotel
Malin Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Turnberry
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland

Address: Maidens Road, Turnberry KA26 9LT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Turnberry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Turnberry
Price Range: $137 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within an 800 acre estate with views overlooking the rugged Ayrshire coastline, Trump Turnberry Resort is an enchanting destination. Trump Turnberry is the world's original golf resort with over a century of hospitality and tradition. It is scene of some of the most memorable moments in Open history, the championship Ailsa course is a legend in the game. Complimented by The Turnberry Performance Academy, an outstanding teaching facility offering a holistic approach to the game of golf; Trump Turnberry Resort is one of the most magnificent destinations for golf breaks in Scotland. With a range of outstanding accommodation, championship golf, a relaxing ESPA spa, six restaurants & bars and thrilling outdoor pursuits at Turnberry Adventures, Trump Turnberry Resort boasts a myriad of activities for travelers, golfers and families. The resort enjoys a spectacular coastal setting with breathtaking views of the Isle of Arran, Ailsa Craig and the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turnberry, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland Hotel Turnberry
Turnberry Westin
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing