We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Turnberry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Having spent time at Turnberry before I was very much looking forward to a return trip. Our room (205) was a disappointment small and in need of a bit of upgrading. Dinner was good but the dining room was quite cold ( I noticed many of the females looking rather uncomfortable ) which meant we didnt feel able to linger too long . Breakfast was very good and being such a great day the view whilst having it was priceless. The staff are without exception very pleasant, helpful and always have a smile. On this visit I feel that we paid too much for the room which we had but it certainly wouldnt stop me returning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watsonthomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

837 - 843 of 1,422 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

This place just gets more special. Returned this weekend for a friends 50th birthday. Accomodation top quality and food to die for. The breakfast overlooking the golf course and Ailsa Craig is superb and the two golf courses the Kintyre and the Ailsa are just simply fantastic. Favourite resort anywhere in the world and the Ailsa is second golf course only in my view to Royal County Down. I would still pick Turnberry over anywhere due to its setting, the spa, the food and the overall ambience of the place. Deals to be had at this time of year. Great atmosphere yet nice and quiet in the hotel. Ate at Brig a Doon which was brilliant. Small gripe on this visit was the fact that the halfway house on the Ailsa golf course was closed. In the past the visit to this perfectly situated stop off near the lighthouse with unbelievable 360 degree views has enhanced the experience. I know it is November but this should be open all year round for visitors and members to further enhance this heavenly experience. I look forward keenly to my next visit and anyone reading this read no more but get booking. Everyone should experience Turnberry golfers and non golfers. It is an experience that will stay with you forever!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stunning location and a top, top golf course. The hotel is beautiful, the staff are excellent and the views (on a clear day) are something else. We stayed in the lodges, which are spacious & well appointed , but are a bit too chintzy for my taste. The walk up to the hotel is quite a hike in the wind, but Jim and his chauffeur service from the hotel is a truly entertaining experience.
The Ailsa course is everything you expect it to be, a tough but fair challenge.
If this isn`t on your golf bucket list, add it now !

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neiljm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Had a lovely time here.Great staff and breakfast was fantastic.Managed to play a round of golf on the Ailsa despite the weather and absolutely loved the course.We had dinner in 1906 (four of us )
Some of the food was very good and some just above average.My mango and coconut desert was lacking the coconut, ie none.The £6 supplement for the crab starter was not justified but we had a great night and with wonderful staff looking after us throughout our stay we will definitely be back.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arch62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent Turnberry experience. I was sorry to hear that the ever-changing Ayrshire weather was unfortunately not in your favour, however it is great to hear that this did not dampen spirits amongst you and your party. I am delighted that the service you experienced during your visit was to our usual high standards and am also pleased to hear that you had a memorable round of golf on the legendary Ailsa Course. Your comments regarding your dining experience in our 1906 restaurant are greatly appreciated and I have passed them on to our food and beverage manager to address with the team. I hope you will return to the resort in the future, when the weather will be more favourable!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

would return next week if I could.a treat and a retreat place to spend a few days.thoroughly enjoyed the warm helpful friendly efficient staff.
Breakfast amazing.fantastic cup of tea
Mary Vaughan
Ireland

Ireland

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryanthonyvaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Mrs Vaughan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent Turnberry experience. It is always a pleasure for us to hear such positive feedback and I am delighted to hear that all aspects of your stay were exceptional.

I hope that your stay was memorable and that you have left with fond memories of the time you spent amongst us which can be treasured for a lifetime.

Haste ye back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Had they great pleasure of being part of Gents Hilton Park Golf Club who qualified for the National final of the Volvo National Golf Club Challenge in support for Help for Heroes.
We were accommodated in one of the lodges at the Turnberry Resort. They were well appointed and had excellent communal sitting rooms, which proved ideal for the socialising that took place at the event.
The Food in the Hotel was excellent and all the waiting staff were polite, courteous and very attentive.
The Golf facilities are excellent with a variety of Practice opportunities supporting 2 Golf Course, the Ailsa and Kintyre, 2 fantastic and testing golf courses.
Icing on the cake, we won the National Final.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flojoe600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share such positive feedback following your most recent visit to Turnberry; it was a pleasure to welcome you amongst us as part of the Volvo National Golf Club Challenge and I would like to Congratulate you on your win! I am delighted that you enjoyed your accommodation in our lodges which as you kindly mention are the perfect option for larger groups due to the communal lounge area. I have taken the time to share your comments with our teams and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I was given the experience as a birthday present. It was wonderful, the hotel itself is so beautiful, the staff are so attentive and the tea was first class. One could not find fault with the whole experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tensixty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Afternoon Tea Experience. It is a pleasure to hear that you had an enjoyable afternoon indulging in the delights which are all made in our in house patisserie. With over 30 different types of tea on offer and a menu that changes on a regular basis- afternoon tea is unique on each visit. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turnberry
17.1 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
303 reviews
16.6 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malin Court Hotel
Malin Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Turnberry
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Western House Hotel
7.0 mi away
Woodland Bay Hotel
Woodland Bay Hotel
#1 of 5 in Girvan
466 reviews
12.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland

Address: Maidens Road, Turnberry KA26 9LT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Turnberry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Turnberry
Price Range: $171 - $533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within an 800 acre estate with views overlooking the rugged Ayrshire coastline, Trump Turnberry Resort is an enchanting destination. Trump Turnberry is the world's original golf resort with over a century of hospitality and tradition. It is scene of some of the most memorable moments in Open history, the championship Ailsa course is a legend in the game. Complimented by The Turnberry Performance Academy, an outstanding teaching facility offering a holistic approach to the game of golf; Trump Turnberry Resort is one of the most magnificent destinations for golf breaks in Scotland. With a range of outstanding accommodation, championship golf, a relaxing ESPA spa, six restaurants & bars and thrilling outdoor pursuits at Turnberry Adventures, Trump Turnberry Resort boasts a myriad of activities for travelers, golfers and families. The resort enjoys a spectacular coastal setting with breathtaking views of the Isle of Arran, Ailsa Craig and the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turnberry, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland Hotel Turnberry
Turnberry Westin
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing