We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Turnberry
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Out of the way, but still just down the road from The Crossraguel Abbey which is a must.

My husband I spent two nights there during our honeymoon. Or room was readied with Hendricks gin and tonic as well as some traditional Scottish sweets with a congratulatory note.

Turn down service is always a nice addition and not often done so we enjoyed that. We golfed, we ate (4 or 5 restaurants at the hotel that all offer a wide away of choices) and drank like royalty.

Room Tip: We had a corner room that had an amazing stand alone bath tub that was lovely for soaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraGhigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and observations following your most recent visit. Congratulations once more on your recent marriage- we are delighted that you chose Turnberry as your honeymoon destination and it is our pleasure to hear that you had a most enjoyable stay amongst us. We hope that you have fond memories of your time with us that can be treasured in years to come and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    876
    250
    117
    64
    35
See reviews for
211
631
15
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

A must visit for avid golfers. Hotel is amazing, great food and extremely warm staff. The golf course at Turnberry is a lot more scenic than St Andrews with no tourist gawking. Food was amazing with a clear pride in quality and detail, sourcing locally available fresh produce.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cstuart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing Turnberry as your destination. I am sure you will agree that our location is a haven on the Ayrshire Coast where one can escape for a relaxing break, enjoy golfing on one of the most iconic open courses and indulge in the epicurean experiences on offer. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My daughter & I have just returned home after a brilliant morning/afternoon at Turnberry. I contacted the hotel on Tuesday to book the three for two outdoor adventures. I dealt with the resort sales coordinator Calum Dewar who was extremely helpful and sorted all the details out for me. An e-mail was sent to me yesterday detailing the times and prices of our activities and where to register. We arrived this morning and registered at the Gatehouse with a gentleman called Martin. My daughter & I did Clay Pigeon shooting, Archery and Rifles. Martin explained in detail all the equipment before we used it. Everything was in excellent working order. We started our day at 11am and finished at 2pm then headed into the hotel for afternoon tea. The service was excellent and the afternoon tea for amazing. If you are looking for a day with a difference or an idea for a birthday this is it. Prices start at £35 for the adventures and £26 for afternoon tea.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carole_halliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to Turnberry Adventures. It is a pleasure to hear that your experience from the booking process until departure was a memorable one. After launching Turnberry Adventures recently, it truly is great to hear such kind comments. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton & Hove
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

I was lucky enough to be invited to play in the srixon/Cleveland pro am where we all stayed at the hotel, and played 3 rounds of golf.
I had a room over the spa, room 318. It was spacious and had everything you could need, including a lovely view over the golf courses to the sea.
Check in was smooth, and the staff on the concierge desk were fantastic all week.
Breakfast was lovely. Great buffet including anything you could want, and then the opportunity to order something cooked. I tried the eggs benedict (my favourite breakfast) and it was superb, I also tried the turnberry grill cooked breakfast which was beautifully cooked.
We ate in the sports bar on first evening, I had a lamb burger which was great.
The next 2 nights because we were a group of 100 we had a hot buffet in the turnberry room. Wow. To cook food so well for so many people is no mean feat. Well done.
The food, the service, the ambience were all fantastic. I couldn't fault it....except the drinks prices. I know it's 5 star, and I don't mind paying for it, but I thought it was slightly over the top. £12 for a smallish glass of Malbec, nice as it was, was 3 pr 4 pounds over the odds in my opinion....having said that it didn't stop me having a second glass....or a third!
The golf experience is brilliant. Both courses are great, but the ailsa is something special....walking in the footsteps of legends. My a partner was injured on the day we played it, and I was lucky enough to play with one of the greenkeepers, martin. What a top man...and a good player!
I will definitely return. Nothing was too much trouble.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bonse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your most recent visit to Turnberry. After a few days of indulging in exceptional food prepared using local, seasonal produce; and enjoying the golf experiences on offer, it is a pleasure to hear that you had a most enjoyable stay with us as part of the Cleveland Srixon event. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, and hope that next time your partner is able to join you out on the iconic Ailsa Course- however I am sure Martin will be more than happy to step in if the need arises! Thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

I spent a couple of nights in the hotel the experience was ok but that was all
I found the hotel staff very attentive and have no real complaints but the service in the clubhouse was poor and as its part of the resort it dragged my scores down

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveHunter33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your most recent visit to Turnberry. I am disappointed to see that on this occasion we did not exceed your expectations due to the service you received in the club house. Please accept my most sincere apologies and be assured that I will personally follow up with the relevant department manager. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Turnberry in the future as it would be our pleasure to provide you with a stay which is memorable for all the right reasons, with the same high levels of service for which we are renowned. Thank you once again for your comments- they are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This place is out of this world...BEAUTIFUL. We came here primarily to play golf at the legendary turnberry course...we had no idea we would also be treated to such a luxurious stay. From the minute you drive up to the amazing views of the sea and golf course...we walked in to the most pleasant greeting by the hotel mgr and concierge...gave us tea and cookies w/ warm smiles. We were upgraded to a suite (SPG Gold) and wow the room was a treat. LOVED the bathroom...and the bedroom was well decorated. Not the biggest suite..but defintiely well appointed. We had a welcome treat from the staff, i'm not sure what the reason was...but it was such a nice touch.
We had dinner in the main restaurant..and OMG the views were out of this world as you have panoramic windows covering the majority of the restaurant.
We also had breakfast there as well..which was a great buffet.
The golf was uhhhmazing...one we will never forget...we played the Ailsa course and one of the other courses.
The staff (from the bellhop to concierge) really made this stay perfection. I experienced some bad allergies while out there (pollen)...not only did they provide me suggestions for what to buy (since I wasn't familiar with UK products) every time they saw me...they would ask how I was doing.
We usually do not go back to the same places we vacay...but we might have to make an exception to this one...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nora R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback following your recent visit to Turnberry; we are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay which exceeded your expectations. Playing in the footsteps of golfing icons on the legendary Ailsa course really is an unforgettable experience. It is also a pleasure to hear that our ambassadors made you feel at home amongst us. We hope that Turnberry will be your exception to the rule, meaning that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Thank you once again for your comments- they are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Don't miss the opportunity to stay here. The sunsets, food, service and golf come together to give you the old world fairy tale experience. Charming, comfortable, clean and breathtaking. Even if you are not a golfer this is a wonderful "Occasion " destination.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the sea and golf course and could see the nightly bagpiper parade back and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RmitchCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your most recent visit to Turnberry. It is a pleasure to hear that you had a most enjoyable stay amongst us; Turnberry is an enchanting destination which coupled with the indigenous hospitality, makes for an unforgettable experience. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turnberry
17.1 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malin Court Hotel
Malin Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Turnberry
127 reviews
16.6 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Western House Hotel
7.0 mi away
Woodland Bay Hotel
Woodland Bay Hotel
#1 of 5 in Girvan
447 reviews
12.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland

Property: Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland
Address: Maidens Road, Turnberry KA26 9LT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Turnberry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Turnberry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within an 800 acre estate with views overlooking the rugged Ayrshire coastline, Trump Turnberry Resort is an enchanting destination. Trump Turnberry is the world's original golf resort with over a century of hospitality and tradition. It is scene of some of the most memorable moments in Open history, the championship Ailsa course is a legend in the game. Complimented by The Turnberry Performance Academy, an outstanding teaching facility offering a holistic approach to the game of golf; Trump Turnberry Resort is one of the most magnificent destinations for golf breaks in Scotland. With a range of outstanding accommodation, championship golf, a relaxing ESPA spa, six restaurants & bars and thrilling outdoor pursuits at Turnberry Adventures, Trump Turnberry Resort boasts a myriad of activities for travelers, golfers and families. The resort enjoys a spectacular coastal setting with breathtaking views of the Isle of Arran, Ailsa Craig and the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turnberry, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland Hotel Turnberry
Turnberry Westin
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing