We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My wife has already invited friends for our next visit to Turnberry”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Turnberry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This was my first visit to Turnberry and to Corney & Barrow's annual wine tasting held at the hotel.

In fact my wine merchant has been trying to persuade me to go for several years and I now wish I had said 'Yes' years ago.

It is an extravagent luxury but well worth it for the sense of decadence, stepping back in time, faultess service and amazing wine list presented to me on an iPad!

The dining experience is particularly memorable as the restuarant is huge and you feel like you are on an Edwardian ocean-going liner. The menu is equally classicly-inspired, but faultlessly executed.

My only minor gripe was the price of a sandwich (£10.50 I think, not particularly good bread and it really was only a sandwich) and the supplement for the rack of lamb at dinner. Quoted as £7 but for two people, this turned out to be £7 per person. I clearly didn't read the small print.

Nevertheless, we had such an enjoyable time, my wife has already invited friends for our next visit to Turnberry. And 'Yes', I am planning on making the Corney & Barrow annual wine tasting... an annual wine-tasting from now on!

Room Tip: We just had a standard room (probably not called that) but if views are important to you and you are...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinderHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your first Turnberry Experience. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed each aspect of your stay and that you plan to return on a regular basis. We will look forward to a warm welcom to you and your friends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,403)
There are newer reviews for Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

990 - 996 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

just returned from an overnight stay which was a present from our family for our Ruby Wedding Anniversary and we could find no fault whatsoever with this hotel. From the minute we stepped inside we were treated like royalty. Check-in was effortless and Jim was there to carry our bag to our room. The room was excellent and spacious. Bathroom was large with plenty of lovely clean towels and a lovely range of toiletries. We had coffees in the grand tea lounge which was very relaxing. Dinner was delicious and very efficiently served. The dining room staff were excellent- very polite and helpful. Service in the Ailsa bar was also very efficient. on return to our room the bed had been turned down and fresh towels left. Breakfast was amazing- lovely buffet - excellent choice of cold and hot food.Overall the staff made this stay a delight with Jim, the concierge attending to our every need. I would certainly recommend this hotel for a relaxing and pampering break and would hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AyrshreMonachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you for choosing Turnberry as your celebration destination. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your experience. Turnberry and her staff never fail to enchant all who stay. Your kind comments will be shared with our teams- especially Jim the concierge. We hope we can look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I have just returned from an short stay at this hotel/resort after spending an overnight girlie weekend using the spa and facilities and can not find anything to complain about if i tried.
We booked this overnight stay using the Groupon voucher which reduced our cost to £189 for dinner, bed and breakfast for two people. We booked 3 twin rooms and were delighted with them all. We were met at reception by Jim Berry rigged out in kilt waiting to welcome us. We were quickly shown to reception where Lambert was just amazing. He was so friendly and instantly we were put at ease. He spoke to each and every one of us and his customer service skills were evident as he showed us around the hotel and ensured we were catered for with everything we could possibly require. We used the spa which was lovely and we were lucky to find we had arrived on a very quiet day so we almost had the spa and pool to ourselves. Our evening meal should have been in the 1906 restaurant but due to the hotel being quiet we were shown into a smaller room which was lovely. Service here was fantastic and our meal was beautiful. A good nights sleep was had in our comfortable beds, our room temperature was cosy. The bathroom/shower facilities were great and the following morning we were greeted and shown to breakfast again with friendly staff serving us. The breakfast was amazing. We checked out and once again met up with Lambert who ensured we had had a good stay. Well done to staff at Turnberry. We will be back, hopefully very soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANGMACLEAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thank you for such a full and comprehensive account of your recent Turnberry Experience with your friends. Our staff will always strive to deliver exceptional service for an unforgettable stay and we will share your kind comments with our teams. We are delighted to see you plan to return to indulge in more of Turnberry’s luxury and will look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

One of the best hotels I have stayed at. The views are fantastic but the real seller are the staff - the most friendly, helpful and efficient I have ever come across. We stayed in a standard room at the rear of the hotel presumably the cheapeast (on a voucher) but it was very large and well appointed. The bed was HUGE and very comfortable. the bathroom was weel appointed and th shower was like standing under a waterfall!
We had a bar meal at lunchtime which was very good and ate in the 1906 restaurant in the evening which was also very good.
You can't go wrong with this place!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your Turnberry Experience. The breathtaking views and captivating charm never fail to enchant our guests. We will share your kind comments with our staff and look forward to welcoming you back to Turnberry again soon. Please check our web-site for special offers throughout the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the hotel as a combined birthday celebration. We used a fantastic Groupon offer which was for one night B&B with a 45 min spa treatment . We found the majority of the staff to be excellent, especially for Scotland - hospitality staff are normally notoriously bad for service here ( we are Scottish so we can say this! )The receptionist ( American) on our arrival was a little glassy I have to say. She made us panic a little as I had forgotten to bring the Groupon voucher with us, stating that we'd be charged the full amount if we didn't produce it. In fact all I needed to do was to email it to her from my phone at some point during our stay which she could have explained in the first place. She also asked us if we wanted morning papers and only after we accepted did she casually say we'd be charged for them! Otherwise concierge, doorman, spa and the Tapas restaurant staff were very friendly and professional.

I had a manicure which wasn't as thorough as I would have liked ,I've had better and the nail technician wasn't very knowledgable on nail conditions, but she was pleasant all the same.
The design of the spa needs to be rethought a little. There are no towels available in the changing rooms which is where you want them. They can only be found at the poolside. The relaxation area also needs A stock of towels otherwise you have to lie where someone else has been lying. To get to the steam room you have walk into the relaxation room which is really annoying for those in there. Pool slippers should also be provided otherwise you have to get your room slippers wet!

Views from the pool are magical and a good number of loungers make it more relaxed. Drinking water should be made available in the spa ( I didn't see any but may have missed it).my friend had a fantastic facial and massage so would recommend these.

I was pleasantly surprised by our classic room which I don't think was one of the ones that has been redecorated. It was crisp clean and fresh with lovely linen and toiletries. The temp of the room was just right for us, not too hot. Would have liked to have been able to open the window in the bathroom as there was no ventilation after a shower. The hairdryer was archaic to say the least ( one of those 70's U shaped things - terrible!) they need to change that!

The absolute highlight was the breakfast. A great selection of fruit, muesli, nuts and pastries/ cold meats followed my some lovely hot options including kippers or full cooked breakfast which wasn't greasy. The only thing that needs tweaked is the system for receiving guests in the breakfast room. It felt like a canteen queue waiting to give your room number to be seated - far too slow and needlessly so. I did like how the staff serving we're aware of guest walking to and fro from the continental breakfast bar and always gave way instead of barging past which often happens in busy restaurants.

The tapas in the Ailsa bar of course isn't really tapas, it never is, but it was tasty and good fun not to mention surprisingly filling. There weren't enough starter options though and the langoustine is grossly over priced at £18.50 for three cut in half as a main!! These were also overcooked. This is still better than 1906 restaurant which we heard from other guests was dreadful.

On the whole we had a lovely time but may not have felt so positive had we been paying full rates!

Room Tip: A room with a sea view is always best , but our room was great and it had a view of the fountain out...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LorGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for your full and comprehensive review. Your comments, observations and suggestions have been noted. We are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your Turnberry experience and hope we can look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

After getting a great dinner bed and breakfast deal we couldn't wait to stay our first night in the hotel. As we had only travelled from Girvan I can't have any complainants about location. The service of the staff was excellent at dinner we asked to move table as there was a draft coming in from a fire escape,the waitress done this no bother at all. Breakfast was lovely also in the 1906 restraunt,with a great table by the window overlooking ailsa Craig, the only complaint I have would be about the en-suite in the room was rather dated,after looking at some of the photos of the more modern rooms on trip advisor next time I would possibly enquire about an upgrade to a room with a more modern bathroom,however it wasn't an issue that dampened our wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Williammcdowall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and observations about your recent visit to Turnberry. We are delighted to see how much you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and how our staff looked after you to ensure you were well looked after and comfortable throughout your visit. Please check our web-site for exciting offers throughout the year – we hope we can look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife, myself and our 4 year old girl - stayed 4 nights this weekend gone. OUTSTANDING hotel. I am usually very critical about where I stay and what we look for.

The service and rooms are first class. The staff on the front desk and concierge are GREAT. Really makes a difference.

We were trying to decided between the lodges and the hotel. We went for the hotel, and had to eat in some of the expensive restaurants, but loved the fact that we could walk to the spa in the dressing gowns, and have breakfast included.

There are so many activities for the kids. We did: play room, swimming, horse riding, golf range, AND ---- the hotel did a sunday afternoon of cake making :-) - great fun.

I loved the Ailsa course, VERY GOOD INDEED.

The wireless in the hotel rooms is not so good, but there is a cable at the desk.

It is a bit remote. But we went to Ayr for an avo, good cinema and great pub The Beresford!

Weather could not effect our fun. Love to be there in the summer, but then it would be 3x the price :)

Room Tip: Seriously - they are all good.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

We are delighted to hear how much you and your family enjoyed exploring all of the exciting activities on offer in and around Turnberry Resort. The enchanting setting and breathtaking scenery enhance time spent with loved ones; helping to create those timeless memories to treasure. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and service; we will look forward to welcoming you all back again in the future. Please check our website for special offers which are available throughout the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turnberry
0.2 mi away
Malin Court Hotel
Malin Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Turnberry
138 reviews
17.1 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
296 reviews
16.6 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Western House Hotel
7.0 mi away
Woodland Bay Hotel
Woodland Bay Hotel
#1 of 5 in Girvan
464 reviews
22.3 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland

Address: Maidens Road, Turnberry KA26 9LT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Turnberry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Turnberry
Price Range: $196 - $575 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within an 800 acre estate with views overlooking the rugged Ayrshire coastline, Trump Turnberry Resort is an enchanting destination. Trump Turnberry is the world's original golf resort with over a century of hospitality and tradition. It is scene of some of the most memorable moments in Open history, the championship Ailsa course is a legend in the game. Complimented by The Turnberry Performance Academy, an outstanding teaching facility offering a holistic approach to the game of golf; Trump Turnberry Resort is one of the most magnificent destinations for golf breaks in Scotland. With a range of outstanding accommodation, championship golf, a relaxing ESPA spa, six restaurants & bars and thrilling outdoor pursuits at Turnberry Adventures, Trump Turnberry Resort boasts a myriad of activities for travelers, golfers and families. The resort enjoys a spectacular coastal setting with breathtaking views of the Isle of Arran, Ailsa Craig and the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turnberry, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland Hotel Turnberry
Turnberry Westin
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing