We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Turnberry
Certificate of Excellence
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“bracing views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

From our arrival the staff attitude was extremely pleasant and helpful [ a welcoming fruit juice or water at check in would have enhanced the five star rating]. From reception thru the bar to the dining area, the staff were efficient and ensured needs were met. We snacked in the bar and service, food was of a good standard., in the evenings dinner was served efficiently, the food was adequate, wine inexpensive. The hotel rooms were clean but the furniture was tired looking, not expected at a five star property. The mini- bar [expensive] would not open, house staff quickly supplied a remote to allow operation.
I was surprised that all sports channels were available in the room. External ares of the hotel were well managed, including the path to the beach and lighthouse, overall a pleasant break. Drive along the coast to enjoy the 'electric brae' at Croy bay and Cullean Castle, itself worth the visit. We shall return for another relaxing breaK

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and observations about your recent Turnberry visit. Our staff will always strive to deliver an exceptional experience to every guest and we will happily pass on your comments to them. We have noted your comments about your allocated room and will make sure they are included in reports to assist our ongoing upgrading. We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to experience more of Turnberry's captivating charm and explore her enchanting surroundings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    240
    117
    63
    35
See reviews for
204
607
14
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
65 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

Although this is a beautiful hotel in a great position, I think it's greatest asset is it's staff. Always polite, helpful and pleasant it was a pleasure to stay here. Our room was lovely, spacious and well appointed and we loved the public rooms for afternoon tea and drinks or just reading the papers.

We ate in the restaurant for the 3 nights we stayed and found the food to be very good. Breakfast was exceptional, an amazing choice and eaten at a table overlooking the golf course and sea.

We are not golfers but we enjoyed the walks out to the lighthouse and round the golf course. The only slight problem we had was with the WiFi which seemed to be a weak signal. The spa is also great and we went every day. We shall certainly return here!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelguru55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
We are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your Turnberry Experience and will share your kind comments with our staff. We fully agree with you, there is so much more on offer along with our legendary golf courses and Turnberry’s enchanting surroundings do invite you to explore and work up an appetite – ready to indulge in the epicurean delights on offer from our remarkable chefs, or relax in and unwind in our Spa. Our web-site is a great place to see the many other distinctive options we can deliver. We have noted your comments about the WiFi signal and assure you we are currently addressing the challenges. We hope we will be able to look forward to welcoming you back to Turnberry very soon and thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts and observations about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

We (myself, my husband and our 3 year old daughter) stayed at Turnberry once Saturday night a few weeks ago. What a lovely place. The hotel is stunning, the food is excellent and the service is second to none. We would go there again and again and we don't even play golf!

Room Tip: Rooms in the modernised part of the hotel have air conditioning and heated bathroom floors. The more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YFL_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted to see you discovered Turnberry has so much more to make every stay memorable; as well as legendary golf courses there are many exciting activities on offer for young and old, as well as the picturesque surroundings to explore. We hope we can welcome you back soon to savour more Turnberry treasures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beith, Ayrshire
Level Contributor
148 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

We recently returned from a one night stay at Turnberry, courtesy of a Groupon deal. The welcome was wonderful and we were made to feel like valued customers, check in was quick and smooth and we were shown to our room by a member of staff. We had upgraded to a deluxe room and I think this was well worth the small supplement, the room was wonderful with a massive bed and a superb bathroom. We ate in 1906 restaurant and could not fault the food, everything was delicious. I ordered a latte which took some time to come but this was deducted from our bill without complaint. We were very lucky with the weather and were given a window table at breakfast time which allowed us to enjoy the magnificent views. Breakfast was again excellent, with a great selection of cold meats, cheeses etc and the cooked breakfast was also delicious. The staff were very attentive at all times, but not so as to make you feel uncomfortable. We also took advantage of the spa, it was excellent.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a deluxe room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mosouthbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to share your wonderful comments and observations after your recent visit. We are delighted to see you had time to indulge in so many of the Turnberry experiences, and that we exceeded your expectations throughout your time here. We will share your feedback with our staff and we hope we can look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please check our website for more offers throughout the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed at Turnberry as part of my husband's 60th birthday celebrations. As the stay was a surprise I had to re-book the dates twice because of other commitments. On each occasion my request was met with courtesy and efficiency. Our stay in the hotel was just the same - the staff were without exception incredible, the accommodation beautiful and the food wonderful. A real gem and I can't think why we haven't visited before. We'll certainly be back! There was no comparisom with our stay at Gleneagles in September for my birthday - Turnberry beat it hands down on all fronts.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moraig30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
We are so pleased to hear how much Turnberry and her staff helped to make your celebration special. Our staff are always delighted to help with even the smallest details to make any stay memorable, and will look forward to welcoming you both back again in the future. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musselburgh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

Have just returned from a too short one night stay at Turnberry. From arrival to departure it was great . The staff were very nice but not smarmy at all . The room was very nice but I think I would go for the sea view if I can afford it next time . We ate in 1906 but couldnt book until 9pm which was a little late for us .The food and service were very pleasant. Afternoon tea was the best, well worth the £26. I really hope to return soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank watsonthomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your Turnberry Experience and will pass on your comments to our staff. We do advise guests to book any dining or activities in advance, especially if they have timing preferences or restrictions, to avoid any disappointment. We hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to Turnberry very soon – maybe for a longer visit next time?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

Booking experience was outstanding - female was lovely and very nice asking if the visit was for a special occassion. I explained it was to celebrate a birthday and she said she would note that and kindly took my spg number for points to be added. Our stay was very enjoyable, based on the groupon price, however had I paid rack rate I would not have considered it value for money. We had a problem with the allocation of our room albeit a nice room, but it looked into the bin area which was not what I expected at Turnberry. The room was located in the spa area of hotel and was at the furthest away point from the main hotel. Following making a call to reception we were invited to come down and sit in bar until another room was ready. We waited until nearly 5.30pm before we asked again if another room had been allocated, at which point it had, but no one thought to come and tell us. (We did manage to sample some gin cocktails - at a costly price) Dinner was booked for 7pm and was all too much of a rush to get unpacked and ready. Prosecco that was included in our Groupon deal was charged to our bill on check out but I happened to question it and it was removed. Food was lovely in hotel restaurant but staff service left plenty room for improvement. Having said all this we still had an enjoyable stay in lovely surroundings and based on paying £169 on a groupon deal, we felt it was value for money.

Room Tip: make sure if allocated spa area - you are not overlooking bin area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouiseA17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turnberry
0.2 mi away
Malin Court Hotel
Malin Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Turnberry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
17.1 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
16.6 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Woodland Bay Hotel
Woodland Bay Hotel
#1 of 5 in Girvan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
13.5 mi away
Western House Hotel
12.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 18 in Ayr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland

Property: Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland
Address: Maidens Road, Turnberry KA26 9LT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Turnberry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Turnberry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within an 800 acre estate with views overlooking the rugged Ayrshire coastline, Trump Turnberry Resort is an enchanting destination. Trump Turnberry is the world's original golf resort with over a century of hospitality and tradition. It is scene of some of the most memorable moments in Open history, the championship Ailsa course is a legend in the game. Complimented by The Turnberry Performance Academy, an outstanding teaching facility offering a holistic approach to the game of golf; Trump Turnberry Resort is one of the most magnificent destinations for golf breaks in Scotland. With a range of outstanding accommodation, championship golf, a relaxing ESPA spa, six restaurants & bars and thrilling outdoor pursuits at Turnberry Adventures, Trump Turnberry Resort boasts a myriad of activities for travelers, golfers and families. The resort enjoys a spectacular coastal setting with breathtaking views of the Isle of Arran, Ailsa Craig and the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turnberry, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland Hotel Turnberry
Turnberry Westin
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing