We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Turnberry
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Overall, Very good”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Many reviewers note this property as a five-star resort, but I would tend to disagree with this rating, as there were quite a few small things that from my perspective would take away from the 5-stars.

Pro's:
The hotel is beautiful, it's old, historic, and really lovely.
Views of the sea, golf courses, and surrounding areas are also really pretty.
Staff is terrific, seemed helpful at all times.
Rooms (at least the sea-view, deluxe) are really nice

Con's:
During our stay we had problems with wind & water leaking through windows - the weather was terrible, and with the sea-side location and age of the building, this wasn't a surprise, but from my perspective, 5-star hotels don't have water leaking through windows.
The hotel also seemed deserted sometimes; for example, on Friday night we went down to the "Dual in the Sun" bar, but there wasn't anyone (even a bartender?) in there?
Hotel is very expensive - for example, breakfast if not included in your room rate, is 24 pounds per person, which seemed a bit much?
Small things - dust, cobwebs, peeling paint in the pool area, front lights (at entrance) are not lit, nor were any of the lights on the road up to the entrance?

Perhaps part of our problem was that we were there during an off-peak time, but I just felt the 5 stars weren't justified?

All that said, it's still a very gorgeous property, and I would highly recommend if visiting the area.

Room Tip: As others have said, go for sea-view, with breakfast included! If it's windy, ask for an interi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to send in your thoughts and opinions of your recent visit to Turnberry. Thank you also for your kind comments about the Hotel and staff. We apologise that during extreme weather and because the Hotel is over one hundred years old there may be occasional unforeseen issues with wind and water ingress around some of the more exposed areas. We assure you this is dealt with as quickly as possible and included in the ongoing maintenance project, ensuring we achieve the balance of keeping the legendary Turnberry building weather-proofed while maintaining her wonderful historic façade. We hope we will be able to welcome you back to Turnberry in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    876
    250
    117
    64
    35
See reviews for
211
631
15
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

just returned from an overnight stay in turnberry the jewel on ayrshires west coast ,being from ayrshire myself iv past turnberry many times and always planned on staying there one day well that day finally came when my girlfriend booked a special romantic break there .

she had stayed there a few times and said it was world class just perfection and by reading the reviews on here i thought this is going to be sheer luxury from start to finish ,how wrong i was .

Everything was perfect the room was beautiful ,the staff friendly and proffesional but things started to go downhill when we visited the spa later in evening where we found used towels lying around the floor in changing areas etc i thought to myself should a 5 star spa be like this .

we had booked dinner in the hotel and arrived for our booking at 8pm only to be told our table wasnt ready would we take a seat in the bar and have a complimentry drink ,we thought nothing of this but an hour later we asked about our table to be informed it still wasnt ready and we could have another drink ,we eventually got our table at 915 .

The meal itself was okay nothing special and the service was poor ,a waiter pouring red wine who lets the wine drip on a white table cloth is not what i expect from a 5 star hotel iv had similar service in all inclusive hotels in benidorm .

The staff when we complained the next day were great we invited back again for dinner and i will stay again i so want it to be better next time surely it cant be so bad ,maybe just an off night but come on turnberry sort it out please
th

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billyboyscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you for your comments and observations regarding your recent visit. Your comments regarding our Spa have been passed on to our Spa Manager and we offer our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. As we have already addressed with you the service challenges you experienced, we would like to stress how delighted we are that you have agreed to return and allow us the chance to restore your faith in Turnberry for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for the third time and won't be back. previous 2 stays had been excellent. Arrived at the main 1906 restaurant at 8:30 prompt with a reservation. Had to queue for 15 minutes to see the maitre'd to be told that they were really sorry, but the table would be another 25 minutes,. There were many diners in the same boat. They had clearly been greedy, booking as many people in at 7pm as they could and with their kitchen unable to cope, couldn't turn the tables. Not only the kitchen, the bar could not cope either. for an 8:30 dinner reservation, we were seated at 9:35 (after further complaints) and our starters arrived at 10:05! Food was OK, but at a price at least that of a Michelin Star establishment, I expected much better. This hotel prides itself as being amongst "the World's Best Hotels" - not any more I'm afraid.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jambobrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your most recent visit to Turnberry. Please accept our most sincere apologies that this visit did not reach the standard of your previous visits due to the high volume of guests who chose to dine with us on that particular evening. We fully understand your disappointment and agree this is not the service we strive to deliver to our valued guests. Your comments have been noted and we assure you lessons have been learned for the future. We hope you will not allow this one unfortunate incident to overshadow the other exceptional experiences you have had at Turnberry and that you will choose to visit us again to allow us to restore your faith in us. We sincerely hope we can look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

I love this hotel, the views over the Firth of Clyde to Arran and Ailsa Craig are amazing. The hotel itself is resplendent inside and out. The decor and interior architectures are terrific, a very fine place to spend an evening. Without exception, the staff in the hotel and in the golf pro-shop etc were exceptionally friendly and very helpful with a good sense of humour too. I cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: You really want a room overlooking the Sea and the golf courses for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Braveliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Thank you for choosing Turnberry as your destination, and for your wonderful comments about the picturesque location of the Hotel, the elegant architecture and interior design and also our exceptional staff. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your visit and also that you plan to return in the future. We hope we can welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, CA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

As part of our 40 year anniversary trip to Ireland and Scotland, we stayed three nights at Turnberry. We have stayed at many wondrful five star resorts throughout Europe, but Turnberry may be the best. We got a fabulous package on Luxury Link which included an ocean view room, 2 rounds of golf per person, breakfast each morning, one dinner and a 70 pound massage credit. The rooms are fabulous, the service is second to none, the staff could not be more friendly or helpful, the food is fabulous and the golf courses unbelievable. There is a pitch and putt course in front of the resort that may be more difficult than the Ailsa course. I read somewhere that Turnberry is considered to be the Pebble Beach of Europe. I have played Pebble several times, and I would say the opposite is true...Pebble Beach is the Turnberry of the US.

Room Tip: Any ocean view room would work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveDanvilleCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you for choosing Turnberry to be part of your special anniversary celebrations and for your kind comments which will be shared with our staff. We hope we can look forward to welcoming you back again soon…..maybe a suggestion for your 41st year anniversary?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

They say 5 star, they mean 5 star. Service is exemplary, breakfast one of the best ever eaten - amd that is something.The spa is an experience. We watched the sun set over the water from the indoor pool which was wonderful. Treatments, however, are on the pricey side. Walks to the beach, down by the golf course are just the thing to stimulate an appetite for dinner. |Would we go back? - Where is the diary?

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flying_rugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your whole Turnberry Experience. We are delighted to see you have been captivated by the many charms here. Please check our website for the fantastic offers we have throughout the year. We will look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed here last week in one of the Deluxe Sea Views and it was a nice room. The Hotel its self is spectacular and the drive up the front is amazing. When you step inside it is a modern but elegant property keeping the charm of the old building. However its just not worth the money you spend to stay there. We stay in many top hotels/resorts around the world but this is one of the most expensive for what you get for your money. Last month we stayed in One Devonshire Gardens in Glasgow and it was spectacular. The rooms were much better with Ipod docking station, espresso machines amongst other things and most of all their rooms were cosy and comfortable. The room at Turnberry was just missing something and the size was just not worth the £390 a night with Dinner. We had a great experience and throughly enjoyed the food in the restaurant at night and the staff were good also. Overall a stunning hotel but the price and bedrooms let it down, there are many better 4/5 star hotels around, i'm not sure if we'd return to be honest.

Room Tip: You have to take one with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mantraveller16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent Turnberry visit. We are delighted to see you thought the Hotel was stunning and thoroughly enjoyed your dining experience and excellent service. Although Turnberry does strive to cater for all tastes we are sorry to hear you did not find the hotel rooms to your liking and would suggest the decoration and ambience of our Self Catering Lands of Turnberry Apartments may create the cosy comfort you require; while keeping access to all Restaurants and Activities throughout the resort. For further information please visit our Turnberry or Lands of Turnberry Web-sites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turnberry
17.1 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malin Court Hotel
Malin Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Turnberry
127 reviews
16.6 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Western House Hotel
7.0 mi away
Woodland Bay Hotel
Woodland Bay Hotel
#1 of 5 in Girvan
448 reviews
12.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland

Property: Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland
Address: Maidens Road, Turnberry KA26 9LT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Turnberry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Turnberry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within an 800 acre estate with views overlooking the rugged Ayrshire coastline, Trump Turnberry Resort is an enchanting destination. Trump Turnberry is the world's original golf resort with over a century of hospitality and tradition. It is scene of some of the most memorable moments in Open history, the championship Ailsa course is a legend in the game. Complimented by The Turnberry Performance Academy, an outstanding teaching facility offering a holistic approach to the game of golf; Trump Turnberry Resort is one of the most magnificent destinations for golf breaks in Scotland. With a range of outstanding accommodation, championship golf, a relaxing ESPA spa, six restaurants & bars and thrilling outdoor pursuits at Turnberry Adventures, Trump Turnberry Resort boasts a myriad of activities for travelers, golfers and families. The resort enjoys a spectacular coastal setting with breathtaking views of the Isle of Arran, Ailsa Craig and the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turnberry, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland Hotel Turnberry
Turnberry Westin
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing