We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pay golf there. Sleep, eat & drink elsewhere!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Turnberry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2011

For the golfers, the courses were excellent, good conditions made it even better. Every blade of grass, perfect. No problems and a well done to all course staff. Staff all round (course, clubhouse and hotel) were great, polite and helpful. After 18 holes we headed to the club house for a quick bite, we chose the Sirloin Steak sandwich and coffee. Being in Scotland, home of the Angus beef , we were looking forward to a good snack. Prices a little over the top, but you're at Turnberry!
A huge disappointment when two slices of breakfast's left over bread and a wafer thin slice of beef appeared in front of us, garnished with half a bag of crisps each. This came to £46 for the four of us. A shame, because if the prices and standard of food had been reasonable we were planning to have stayed there during the evening for dinner and drinks. We ended up in the local village for dinner, (1 mile down the road, highly recommend - 3 course dinner around £25) many members we spoke too mentioned this to us rather than the overated 1906 in the hotel or clubhouse.
Nothing special about the room, I have stayed in B&B's of the same standard, for a third of the price.
Breakfast was a joke, luckily this was inclusive to the package we bought. We were all left wondering where the nearest cafe was, shocked to see the menu in the room afterwards that it should have been £24.50 each.
Again, overall, we were there for the golf - Excellent. Staff - Excellent. Food & drink - Awful.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belindaandjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2011

Thank you for your comments and observations. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the legendary golf courses here at Turnberry. However, we were disappointed to see your dining experiences did not reach expectations. We are always happy to receive feedback of this sort at the time, which enables us to address the situations immediately. However, your comments will be passed on to our teams for investigation and action. We do hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,295 - 1,301 of 1,460 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2011

Loved the Turnberry Resort, the setting for the hotel is wonderful. View from the room over to Ailsa Craig was magnificent. Did think there would be shortbread or something with the tea/coffee in the rooms. Bars and restaurants lovely.The only downside was the Spa, children running about in the pool area, splashing people on the loungers (parents didn't seem too interested), relaxation area and a women, who is apparently a member, was on her mobile phone!!

Staff very friendly and attentive. I would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2011

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the lavish luxuries of Turnberry and her magnificent surroundings and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

I only ever bother reviewing places I love on Trip Advisor and Turnberry has to be up there with the best. We had our wedding there at the end of February and couldn't have asked for a better weekend. The function suite is new and very elegantly styled in mainly white which means none of the mismatching carpets and curtains you so often see in hotels. It also means your colour scheme for the wedding will always match the room. The public areas and some of the bedrooms have also been fairly recently refurbished and are simply beautiful. We were incredibly lucky with the weather all weekend so also got to take advantage of the views out over the sea and to Ailsa Craig. We had all of our wedding guests staying at the hotel so it was like a big house party which was such fun. The food, from the family dinner on the Friday night to the incredible wedding breakfast on the Saturday, was simply delicious and many of our guests commented on the fact they had never tasted better food at a wedding. They also accomodated the few children that were there really well with appropriate food and drinks which was fantastic for the kids and their parents!! All the staff at the hotel were incredibly friendly but professional and were quick to offer assistance where needed to keep me calm! All in all a fantastic experience and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Turnberry for a wedding or any occasion. They think of everything so you don't have to and make it an event to remember. Thank you to all the team who looked after us so well.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caro306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2011

Many thanks for choosing Turnberry to be part of your wonderful wedding day – we are delighted to see we helped to create the kind of memories which will stay with you, your family and friends forever and we will pass on your kind comments to each of our staff. We hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

We stayed for one night with my parents and cannot fault it. The interior is stunning and bedrooms huge and again beautifully decorated (we were in one of the renovated rooms). I had a massage at the spa and it is one of the best that I have had. We did not eat at the hotel but breakfast was great, with every taste catered for.

The main thing that made this hotel stand out for us was the staff, who were fantastic. This was our first time staying here but we loved it and will definitely be back. If you are looking for a special weekend of relaxation and a bit of pampering then it would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaBroons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

The overall look of the hotel is great, and the sense of history is there... but the actual rooms, food and service let the place down.
rooms - old fashioned, in need of renovation with big cold bathrooms. Noisy corridors and banging doors.
food - after the warnings of the 1906 quality and price, we chose to eat in the bistro/bar. Unfortunately so did everyone else, and the place was busy and the staff barely coped. waited an eternity for an expensive chicken pie and salad. Probably not as long as some though by the looks on many faces. Not enough tables so forced to crouch over coffee tables to eat. Breakfast was much better and the service was very good.
service - unless you identify yourself as a starwood preferred guest or arrive in a Bentley i think you will find the check in staff a little snooty, and irritating. No information or advice as to playing the course was offered which was annoying.
Excellent gym setup and heated pool on site which was great though.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sydneyslicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2011

Many thanks for your comments and observations. While our breathtaking Championship Golf Courses are one of the reasons many people seek to visit, Turnberry has a great deal more to offer; from the relaxing Spa and gym which you kindly mentioned, to our exciting and varied Outdoor Activity Centre, which has a great selection of breathtaking activities and caters for all ages and levels of ability. We also have a range of Food and Beverage outlets to suit every mood, whether it is formal fine-dining, sporty clubhouse atmosphere or a more relaxed lounge-bar ambiance you require. Our team of gifted chefs are delighted to create dishes to suite anyone with specific requirements or dietary needs or will strive to create a dish for the guest who just has a special ‘something’ in mind. Our staff always welcome the chance to assist each and every one of our valued guests throughout their stay, from arrival to departure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

Our room was above the Spa and was very spacious and clean. We ate in the 1906 restaurant both the food and service were impecable. All the staff were courteous, very helpful and nothing was too much bother. We also ate in the Ailsa bar which is less formal than the 1906 but every bit as good - again nothing was too much trouble. Raphael made up several delicious blind cocktails for my daughter.
We went horse riding twice and thoroughly enjoyed riding along the beaches. We played both the Kintyre and Ailsa courses. Both of which were in excellent condition for the time of year, therefore we were able to play the full courses with no winter tees or greens. Food in the Tappie Toorie after our golf and horse riding was again the of the same high quality. The atmosphere everywhere in the hotel is very friendly and relaxed and not too intrusive or stuffy. We relaxed each evening by going for a swim in the pool which we thoroughly enjoyed. We found the pool area and changing rooms very clean and there were unlimited towels available.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coolkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2011

Thank you for your comments and observations. You certainly have made the most of your time here at Turnberry by discovering and indulging in the dynamic layers of rich experience offered to suit every mood and whim of our valued guests. We hope you will be able to return and add to your memories very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Play golf at Turnberry as the courses are amazing, do not stay at the over priced and over hyped hotel. Everything is dressed up to look the part but they dont back it up The 1906 restaurant is the biggest joke in the world, ive eaten in top restaurants all over the world and can not describe how this does not compare. Simply justify £32 for a Steak Diane, which came with Meat and Sauce, any veg or Potatoes were £5 each on top. so to have a full main course would have cost £42.00, and it was a small battered bit of meat in an over powering sauce...JOKE!!!,

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank john0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and observations and your kind words regarding our Championship Golf Courses. We are disappointed your dining experience did not reach your expectations and would always ask that any problems with service be highlighted to our staff immediately, in order that we may take action to address the situation and ensure satisfaction for our valued guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turnberry
16.6 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,129 reviews
17.1 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
313 reviews
13.5 mi away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#1 of 3 in Brodick
3,756 reviews
12.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
910 reviews
1.1 mi away
Malin Court Hotel
Malin Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Turnberry
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland

Address: Maidens Road, Turnberry KA26 9LT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Turnberry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Turnberry
Price Range: $146 - $612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within an 800 acre estate with views overlooking the rugged Ayrshire coastline, Trump Turnberry Resort is an enchanting destination. Trump Turnberry is the world's original golf resort with over a century of hospitality and tradition. It is scene of some of the most memorable moments in Open history, the championship Ailsa course is a legend in the game. Complimented by The Turnberry Performance Academy, an outstanding teaching facility offering a holistic approach to the game of golf; Trump Turnberry Resort is one of the most magnificent destinations for golf breaks in Scotland. With a range of outstanding accommodation, championship golf, a relaxing ESPA spa, six restaurants & bars and thrilling outdoor pursuits at Turnberry Adventures, Trump Turnberry Resort boasts a myriad of activities for travelers, golfers and families. The resort enjoys a spectacular coastal setting with breathtaking views of the Isle of Arran, Ailsa Craig and the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turnberry, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland Hotel Turnberry
Turnberry Westin
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing