We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boss & Swell”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ochiltree
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auchinleck House and Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ochiltree
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Chances are if you are intending to stay here you are already a Landmark trust member ~ in which case you will know what expect and won't be disappointed. This a lovely, well restored, old house in a delightful setting. Expect a well appointed and clean property.
Readers of this site are wanting to know the flaws - there are few but two worthy of note are:
1. The Landmark Trust directions are poor and misleading. If you follow the sat nav postcode you won't arrive at the house, you will arrive at a Bungalow. Keep going (ignore signs saying 'No vehicular access to Auchinleck House' and at the stable block (soon to be a cafe/gift shop) turn right and go through the silver gate by the bins). There are NO helpful Landmark Trust signs.
2. The almost total lack of showers (or hair dryers) in the property is a pain in the bum.

Don't let these gripes put you off. Just come prepared.

P.S. The property is lovely and warm -even on cold wet days.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank Barmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 18 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

We celebrated significant birthdays here with good friends. Its a great, historical place to stay with a great atmosphere. It is really spacious (as you would expect), the open fires are lovely and atmospheric. Don't let lack of en-suites, TVs and WIFI put you off - its lovely when its full with family and friends. Well done Landmark Trust for saving this lovely property.

Room Tip: Not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had a fantastic and memorable weekend at the house, our room and decor was prefect and had a great bath to relax and have a good soak in. Our friendly host cooked a fantastic breakfast in the open plan kitchen / dining room both mornings it was superb - couldn’t fault anything.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlandTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

a group of 12 of us stanyed here for a long weekend, it was great the house was fantastic its a bit like staying in a national trust house,
the house was so warm it was november i thought it would be cold for being such a big house but not the case,
its not the easiest place to find sat nav wont find it, the road that leads you to the house is just a dirt track realy with lots of pot holes !! be warned, but when you get to the house you will forget your journey !!
the house is well equiped only thing i would say is if you like a nice glassto dring out of take your own they provide what reminds me of bathroom glasses,
the kitchen has 2 of everything and there is a laundry room in the basement,
the diningroom is huge with a great table that would sit 16 easily, we had a great party in here one night, the library has 2 open fires you could sit and relax in here for hours it has stunning views of the grounds which we has a lovley walk around,
there are alot of stairs but you get used to them,
would i go back,,,,, yea i sure would

Room Tip: all the rooms are fine with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank carol003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

We gathered to celebrate Jean Orr's 90th birthday and the guests ages ranged from minor sprogs to 97. Guests flew in from Australia, Canada and all parts of the UK. While a large number of us stayed at the house more joined us for meals or dropped in on the Sunday afternoon.
The splendid surroundings of the dining room seats 26 quite comfortably and the large kitchen table seats 15 for more casual meals. Over the weekend everyone ate and drank far more than they usually do thanks to our team of dedicated chefs.
The library provides a grand but relaxed setting for after dinner chat and the grounds are wonderful for walks during the day time. We were lucky enough to enjoy good weather.
The only slight downside to the house was the steepness of the main staircase and the lack of showers.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank scotworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2008

A birthday weekend with friends in this fantastic house. Very grand, we know a lot more about Boswell and Johnson now.
We couldn't believe that we could have somewhere like this all to ourselves. A perfect place for a celebration or family get-together. We booked a local piper to play for us on the sunday morning.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DollyCarnegie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2006

My extended family traveled to Auchinleck Scotland from Georgia (USA) in June. We are descedents of James Boswell and it was an absoulutely delightful trip. The weather was fabulous and the Auchinleck House and grounds were more than we could ever have imagined. We intend to return.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank GeorgiaBoswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Auchinleck House and Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auchinleck House and Estate

Address: Ochiltree KA18 2AU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ochiltree
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ochiltree
Number of rooms: 200
Also Known As:
Auchinleck House And Estate Hotel Ochiltree
Auchinleck House And Estate Ochiltree, Scotland - Ayrshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing