We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant!”
other travelers have booked this property
The cottage gets the sun all day and evening
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage gets the sun all day and evening
Stylish, well-equipped kitchen with ceramic top cooker, dishwasher, fridge, freezer and microwave. A great location, not too isolated but private
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
The cottage gets the sun all day and evening
Stylish, well-equipped kitchen with ceramic top cooker, dishwasher, fridge, freezer and microwave.
A great location, not too isolated but private
Comfortable king sized bed
Buzzards, squirrels and deer inhabit the woods near the cottage - great for watching wildlife
Nearby Kirkmichael Arms have real ales and excellent food
Beautiful countryside and views surround the cottage
Spacious sitting room has a two seater and a three seater sofa and adjoining dining area
Tiled bathroom has a shower over the bath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Maybole, South Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pamela B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed September 21, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect place for a weekend away. Cottage is lovely and very cosy. It had everything we needed to feel at home and very comfortable. We visited the observatory on our first night and saw great views of the stars that we don't get in the city. Enjoyed a glass of wine on our second night on the deck of the cottage looking up at the amazing night sky and even saw a few meteors. The forest park has wild red deer and goats that are worth a visit. Thanks for a great weekend away Bea I'm sure we'll be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2016
Glad you enjoyed your weekend and made good use of the new decking area. Roe deer and hares have been spotted from the cottage in the surrounding fields. Look forward to welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carole g
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A fabulous cottage”
Reviewed June 22, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed at crawfordston cottage for 3 days it was so relaxing and peaceful. Everything about the cottage is wonderful very spacious but still feels very cosy. It has been very tastefully decorated and everything you could possibly need is here.. Bea certainly thought of everything for her guests which was great as I forgot some toiletries thanks Bea. The garden is truly a wonderful space to unwind the bird feeder was great we were visited by various birds and small animals during our stay. We absolutely loved the location, cottage and we even managed to have pleasant weather we would absolutely recommend this holiday rental to friends and family. We will definitely return again to this wonderful tranquil cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, decoration and cleanliness
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2015
So glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for replacing the bird food. We've repaired the squirrel-proof nut holder which a naughty squirrel had managed to bite through! Look forward to welcoming you again to Crawfordston.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe...
Morecambe9
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A perfect peaceful location”
Reviewed March 28, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My husband and I have just stayed at Crawfordston Cottage for a week. It’s a beautiful property in a fantastic peaceful location. It’s rural so you can enjoy the quiet but in a short drive, you are in Kirkmichael in one direction and Ayr in another.

The property is so cosy with a brilliant pellet burner (plenty of pellets are supplied).

The heating was on 7am-11pm, so we were always toasty warm.

The bed is very comfortable, with a nice firm mattress. I am quite a bad sleeper (I get very restless during the night), I mentioned this to the owner before arrival and she kindly set up the chair bed in the far section of the dining area, which is off the lounge.

The kitchen is extremely well equipped, I can’t see that you would be missing anything. This room overlooks the side and back garden. There are a table and chairs on the paved area to sit outside if you get some good weather and on the grassed side you could have a game of badminton or try your hand at a bit of hoola hooping. (Items are located in the wardrobe).

There is also a bird feeder in the garden, we filled it up and enjoyed watching the visitors coming in for a feed.

I really can’t emphasize how peaceful it is. You won’t hear anything, just the odd tractor from the nearby farms passing and the birds tweeting in the trees.

A perfect place if you want peace and quiet and a base to explore the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2015
Thank you for your kind comments and glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
euphanste...
1 review
“A perfectly peaceful weekend.”
Reviewed December 9, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We loved the house. It was a great base for going out short walks on cold November days. But the real treat was coming back to that warm stove blazing, a well equipped kitchen and a beautifully designed house. We had a lovely stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
719emmah
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful break!”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a 2 night weekend break at this lovely rural cottage. Situated in peaceful surroundings in an isolated setting however only a short drive to local villages of Kirkmichael and Maybole and approx 15-20 min drive from Ayr itself. The cottage is very well equipped with everything needed for a self catering break - and more including WI-FI & ample television channels! Has a lovely cosy, homely feel and was spotlessly clean in all areas. The bed was also nice and comfortable! Owner was very helpful, answered all queries quickly and was on hand on the day of arrival to explain heating system and to provide milk etc. Overall perfect place for a quiet and relaxing break. We will defiantly return and would happily recommend to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location, cosy and comfortable. Well equipped. Very relaxing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennwhit
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
200 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Idyllic Cottage .”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This really is the most divine cottage . A warm welcome awaited us from the owner . Its a spacious cottage ,, beautifully appointed in the middle of beautiful countryside . Large garden to sit in . So peaceful . I really can't recommend it highly enough . Quite wonderful. Couldn't fault it . We will be returning !

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigshield...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Relaxing, comfortable, roomy cottage in a very tranquil setting.”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This cottage is very well-furnished, and easy to relax in. The surrounding area is quiet and peaceful, but the local pub is only 3 miles away and serves fantastic food. The coast, especially as you drop down towards Turnberry, is breathtaking.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing