We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely quiet base for golfing holiday”
other travelers have booked this property
The exterior of the modern extension has been carefully tied in with the original stone.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The exterior of the modern extension has been carefully tied in with the original stone.
Welcome to the grounds of Kilhenzie. Early spring views at Kilhenzie Farm.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
13 reviews
The exterior of the modern extension has been carefully tied in with the original stone.
Welcome to the grounds of Kilhenzie.
Early spring views at Kilhenzie Farm.
Morning light at Blossom Cottage invites you to embrace the outdoors.
The large woodburner creates a wonderful atmosphere in the living space and heats the entire cottage
Comfortable contemporary furniture create a cosy cottage living space
A beautiful fully equipped modern oak-door kitchen
Modern solid oak kitchen with integrated appliances, including dishwasher
The spacious groundfloor kingsize suite can also be set up as a twin with x2 4ft 6' singles
The stunning mirrored shower room is spacious and luxurious.
Blossoms of pink add a warm and relaxing feel to the upper kingsize bedroom.
Croy Shore is a stunning beach location just 15 minutes from Blossom Cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Maybole, South Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Claire C
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet base for golfing holiday”
Reviewed October 13, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The three of us found this cottage a perfect retreat for our trip to Scotland for the Glasgow commonwealth games and a spot of golf. Do make sure you contact Julie in advance as she is able
to provide provisions and fresh produce for the fridge as well as prepared meals to order if required. A busy working farm with plenty to watch out for.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2014
Thanks for the review. We were envious of your ventures to the Commonwealth games but unfortunately farm commitments come first. Please come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ionie90
Shrewton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absoloutly Beautiful!”
Reviewed September 19, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My partner and I travelled to Scotland with our two Great Danes, upon arrival we were greated by Julie who was exceedingly welcoming and friendly. The cottage itself was fabulous, very homely with all the mod cons and a beautiful fireplace which when lit made the entire cottage nice and toasty. We arrived to a pot of home made damson jam which was delicious! I would highly reccomend this accomodation which is alot larger inside than the photos suggest. The dogs loved playing in the fields and meeting the farm dog Moss. We will be travelling up again in May 2015 and hopefully in January 2015 if there is space.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2014
Thanks so much for taking time to review the cottage. We look forward to your next visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1960Booni...
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“It's not in Kirkmichael!”
Reviewed September 9, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Blossom Cottage has to be experienced and what a great find this wee cottage is! (Well that's when you find it of course!)

Curiously sited in Kirkmichael according to the website but actually a couple of miles south west of Maybole.

No matter a delightful cottage, the photos don't do the interior justice and an ideal spot to explore the sights around Ayr and south west Scotland. There is a small but perfectly acceptable garden with the property which is on a working farm; it is private despite all the goings on on the farm. I could imagine that the garden might be restrictive on a longer stay but there is so much to see and do roundabouts (with some of the best beaches in Scotland to enjoy) that that is a minor complaint!

Our hosts, especially Julie (& Moss the collie) are very friendly and amenable; we were so grateful to find a cottage so close to where we needed to be AND that accepted dogs - the dogs enjoyed it too and especially meeting Moss!

We came down for the Scottish Air Show (first in 22 years) at Ayr & Prestwick and this was an ideal base for us during our stay.

There are plenty of decent eateries within a 10-15 mile radius; not least Wildings at Maidens and the Minishant Restaurant was recommended to us but we never found the time to visit and, of course, Ayr is 20 minutes away too.

Big thanks to Julie or making us so welcome (& Moss of course!).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly welcome and accepting dogs
Liked least: Wasn't the cleanest/tidiest of places on arrival much of which seemed to be down to previous guest not tidying-up after themselves! People huh!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2014
Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Blossom Cottage. I shall review the listing with Holiday Lettings to improve the location identity for future guests.
I would be very grateful if you would share your positive experiences with friends & family, encouraging them to come and stay also.
Many Thanks, Julie (& Moss!!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann3...
Prestonpans, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Warm Welcome on a cold day”
Reviewed February 14, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Upon arriving to this tranquil cottage situated on a working farm we were given a warm welcome from the owner and family. My partner myself and our daughter spent 4 nights in this beautiful cottage to which the pictures don't do it justice. Sitting at night with the log fire burning is very relaxing. Its close to all amenities and a short drive into Ayr. Definitely recommend this holiday cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How quiet the surroundings were and how close it was to everything we needed.
Liked least: keeping the log fire going to keep the cottage heated.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrystine...
Concord, NH
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely private cottage with all the necessities and most of the niceities”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
3
people found this review helpful

My husband (60), I (45) and my daughter (18) and I rented the cottage for the last week in July 2013. We have friends who live in Dunure, which was about 8 miles, 19 minutes away. The area was lovely, very quiet and rural. We were about 10 min out from the town of Maybole. We were about 10 min from a co-op & store, 20 min from Ayr which is a good size town with lots of stores, restaurants, the train and home of Robert Burns. The cottage is on a small dairy farm. We occasionally heard a few cows mooing (there were calves, adorable!) and the rooster crowing but that was the only noise; no traffic or neighbors so we were very happy. The cottage was a nice size, four rooms. The upstairs bedroom was a little small but fine. The downstairs bedroom a little bigger; there would have been room for a cot if you had three people and two could sleep upstairs comfortably. The upstairs bathroom was quite roomy and there was a half bath downstairs. The very nice kitchen was very big, modern and fully loaded. If you wanted to economize and eat most meals in and pack a picnic lunch for the day trips it would be totally possible. There is also a dishwasher and washing machine which is great! Having a washing machine made it easier to pack light. Only a few minor issues; the Wi-Fi internet was down which was due to a lightening strike - not the owner's fault but a HUGE inconvenience for me since I am a fulltime student taking online courses. I spent too much time/money in restaurants with free wifi for my liking but I understood the situation. Also, it wasn't a big deal to me but be forewarned - if you like to watch tv, the tv is smaller than my computer monitor - lol :). The window in the upstairs bedroom didn't open and there wasn't a fan so it was a little stuffy. The bathroom window didn't open either. Not huge issues, I am just mentioning it to be objective.

Also very nice, the owner left us a complimentary care package of scones, crumpets, & juice upon arrival. Very nice after a long journey. She also offered catering at a reasonable price.

The price for the rental was very affordable, especially considering that you can economize by making your own breakfast a few other meals if you wish. The cottage is a little bit out of the way but we were willing to drive a few minutes to have the peace and quiet. I've had it with renting hotel rooms and listening to kids run up and down halls or party people coming in late at night. If you're looking to rent a place within walking distance to shops, restaurants, etc, this isn't the place for you. However, if you would like a cozy cottage with a beautiful yard, scenic area and lots of peace, quiet and privacy and no nosy neighbors (except for a little mooing), I can't recommend the Blossom Cottage enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size, location and kitchen
Liked least: The Wi-Fi was out of order, upstairs windows did not open
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing