We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Arts & Crafts house with a very warm welcome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maybole
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gardenrose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Maybole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed with Morvern and John for one night while cycling up route 7 from Dumfries to Ayr. The house itself is quite simply stunning and you can see that a lot of time and effort has gone into every detail. We went for dinner in nearby Minishant as the only drawback to Maybole itself is a lack of good restaurants but there is a great selection within a few miles and John was very kind to give us a lift which was a real bonus. We made sure we left plenty of room for breakfast however and it didn't disappoint, scrambled eggs with black pudding and salmon!

Would definitely recommend and will be back if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malstonbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 75 of 75 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed in Maybole so that we could see Culzean Castle easily the next morning. This was one of the most beautiful B&Bs I have ever stayed in. The Arts and Crafts style is beautifully shown in all the rooms: from the tiled fireplaces in the hall to one in our bedroom and even in our bath (although there is no need to use it). Even the light fixtures show a Mackintosh-inspired style. The shower was very contemporary, showing a most pleasing updating of style from 1911 to the present. The breakfast was one of the best we've had as well: smoked salmon and eggs and strong coffee. The hosts also recommended a great place for dinner: Brig o Doon in nearby Alloway. My only regret is that we could only stay one night. Another couple was staying two weeks there. How I wish we were that lucky!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NHMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Hosts Morvern and John go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable. The house is stunning and our room an absolute winner: tastefully decorated, with ample space for clothes, good sized bed and well-filled hospitality tray. The designer bathroom is exceptional, taking a shower is an experience you definitely don't want to miss and worthy of a five star rating. Wonderful breakfast. We immediately decided to return!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaMastwijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We were delighted as soon as we walked in the door and met our lovely hosts Morvern and John. Their Arts and Crafts home is beautifully decorated and our room was spacious, a wo derful comfy bed with designer ensuite. I cannot recommend Gardenrose B&B highly enough. I am confident everything traveller would be delighted.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manuel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
Thank Igor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gardenrose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardenrose Bed and Breakfast

Address: 14 Gardenrose Path, Maybole KA19 8AG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Maybole
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Maybole
Price Range: $42 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury bed and breakfast in Ayrshire, Scotland with two large en-suite rooms, a guest lounge and a separate breakfast room. There are many original features thta are reminiscent of Charles Rennie Mackintosh, the Glasgow style and the Arts & Crafts movement. We have our Glasgow Room which is a large en-suite room with many original features. Our Oriental Room is a luxury en-suite room with a monsoon overhead shower and egg-shaped bath. Both rooma can be double or single occupancy and the Glasgow Room can be a twin room. Culzean Castle is just 4 miles away and Turnberry golf courses are just 7 miles away. We are in the heart of Robert Burns country and close to the Ayrshire coast with spectacular views of Ailsa Craig and Arran. Dumfries House is only a 30 minute drive away and is well worth a visit. The railway station is only 150 metres away and the local bus service passes past the house. We are on National Cycle Route 7 and have secure storage for bikes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gardenrose Bed And Breakfast Maybole, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing