We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently Good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Minishant Inn Restaurant

Minishant Inn Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Maybole
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $31
Cuisines: British, Scottish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

My third or fourth visit since new owners and what a transformation. Today's breaded sole cooked to perfection, with a touch of translucency. Tartare sauce just right, and I love how the lemons are cut Guggenheim style. My dad had the same, close call between that and liver, which he'd enjoyed before. Quick service too, and not in yer face. Top marks!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Al D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    74
    27
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Anything you want”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

A very pleasent meal with my family was made possible by the can do attitude of the staff. The food quality and portion size were right on the money. My broccoli and stilton soup was fab with perfectly balanced flavours, all of the mains were polished away with real zest by us all. Great job.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“lovely meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife and I booked a table in the Minishant Inn on Friday evening. The food and service was faultless and the venue is great value for money, I would advise booking in advance for this restaurant, but they did make every effort to fit us in.
My wife enjoyed her prawn and salmon starter and then the lamb cutlets.
I had the pate - which was lovely - and then had lambs livers which was excellent – followed by a chocolate and orange cheesecake with ice cream that we shared.
Loved the place and it won't be long before we're back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oh yes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We booked a table in advance which was available on arrival, The Restaurant is quiet and informal, seats are comfortable, staff were friendly and helpful. The service was quick when required but at no point did we feel rushed. Only small things which can make all the difference.
The food (all courses) was excellent and nothing disappointed.
Overall......9/10 (took a point off because it was raining outside) :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neilonfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Wee Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Went here recently for a birthday celebration and will be back. The layout of the restaurant lends itself to a very relaxing atmosphere. the staff were very attentive and gave a personal touch. The choice on the various menus was varied and made it a difficult decision. All four of us enjoyed every course, especially the Chocolate and orange Cheesecake. The Bill was also a pleasant surprise, great value for money
A wee gem hidden away where you would not expect. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tomayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minishant Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
Kirkoswald, South Ayrshire
Ayr, South Ayrshire
 

Been to Minishant Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing