We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodation”
other travelers have booked this property
Front of the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of the house
Front door Hallway
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
Front of the house
Front door
Hallway
Living room
Living room
Living room
Dual fuel fire
Staircase
Downstairs bathroom
1st room with 2 X single beds
Shower in first bathroom
Room with 2 X single beds
Down stairs double bedroom
Upstairs double bedroom
Downstairs double en suite
Upstairs King bedroom
View from first landing
Upstairs King bedroom
Rear decking area
Woods
River
Kitchen
New 6 person jacuzzi
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Girvan, South Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
105toie
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing place but would never book again”
Reviewed November 1, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
3
people found this review helpful

The cottage was beautiful and had been very well thought out in terms of decor , amenities and little extras. There were several dvds , games for children, full sky package and an amazing spacious hot tub which had a beautiful view. Myself and 5 friends had booked this for a long weekend and were delighted with what we had couldn't have asked for more as clearly a lot of effort had went into the house. There were numerous cob webs and and dead spiders/insects on the walls and ceilin , however we just cast this up to being because of where the property was situated. On departure we were all very adament to leave the property the way we found it , we washed down all work tops, mopped , made the beds ,took out all the bins and left the place spotless like the way we found it . in order to maintain the standards of the hot tub we were asked to measure the water every morning to ensure the chemicals were correct. Understandably we did this as we knew we had to keep within hygiene standards and health and safety, however unless you own a hut tub and knew what you were doing you may be a little wary towards what you were doing. We felt like we had done everything right however when we left we received a £100 fine as the water was "cloudy" and would had to be drained and new water put in. We didn't understand the fine and questioned the Owner as to why this was the case , and unfortunately we didn't receive the money back. We felt that this was unfair and not deserved as we had not done any damage to the property and felt like we were at disadvantage for being a young group. Personally I was going to book this same lodge again for my birthday in a few months back as it was fantastic , however I would be too scared to book again incase there was another fine for "cloudy water".The cottage has lost out on future customers from our group for sure .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and are so glad to hear the property held up to all your expectations. I’m sorry to hear the hot rob scenario left a negative effect on your break. However, since you are one of the same party as the review below I hope our response covers the £100 charge.
We hope you will consider us again in the future.
Thanks
Bryan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMC2110
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fined for CLEANING of hottub!”
Reviewed November 1, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
3
people found this review helpful

House was absolutely lovely, great size and in great location.
Thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub it was a lovely added bonus and my party of 6 had a great time for 3 days enjoying it.
However upon returning home we received a £100 fine for the draining, refilling and cleaning of the water in the hot tub as it was 'cloudy.'
In my experience (also owning my own hot tub) when 6 people use a hot tub for 3 days no mater how well you follow the rules the water will infact turn cloudy.
Personally I'm disgusted that the water in the hot tub is NOT drained and changed between each guest regardless of wether it looks cloudy or not for basic hygiene reasons. Im well aware that chlorine is present in the water to rid bacteria but that should only be for the duration of one guests stay and then it should be filled with fresh water and chemicals for the next guest.
Im quite certain that as a group of young people we were a very easy target for the fine and I would have been more than happy to accept responsibility had we broken the hot tub or anything else in the house but in fact the house was in the owner words left in 'immaculate' condition.
Horrible ending to a great stay for my birthday and put a great damper on my birthday weekend.
Not a nice way to treat perfectly well behaved, respectful, clean, paying guests and would definitely avoid using the hot tub if you are staying here as you are likely to be fined for something impossible to prevent.

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2018
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We are so glad to hear that you all had a great time while staying here. However I’m really sad to hear that the charge of £100 for the drain and clean of the hot tub has left you with a bad taste in your mouth. We are really sorry to hear this has put a real dampener on what sounded like a great weekend. Please be sure this was certainly not our intentions. Our guests positive experience is in the forefront of our mind. Please allow me to explain.
Upon arrival we asked you (like all our guests), to spend 5 minutes with Dawn so she could walk you through the care and maintenance procedure for the hot tub which we request you to adhere to throughout your stay at the cottage. Dawn demonstrated the requirements such as keeping chemical levels at an optimum level and how to add any chemicals required. These chemicals are for our guests safety. They ensure any bacteria doesn’t have a chance to grow making our guests unwell upon leaving the cottage. We also eemonstrate how to work the controls and keep the water at a safe level so as not to run the pumps dry. Upon completing this walk through you were required to sign a disclaimer which you signed.
It also stated in the disclaimer that if the hot tub was not looked after then a £100 fee would be charged. This is not for us to make a bit of extra profit. We only have 1 hot tub on the property. And by time guests check out at 10 am and new guests check in at 3pm we have to clean the house, change all the bedding and prepare for the next guests. If during the preparation it becomes evident the hot tub has not been maintained, for example “cloudy” then we have to drain the hot tub which takes 1.5 hours. Then top up which takes 2.5 hours. Worst of all it then takes 24 hours for the hot tub to heat back up. That means the incoming guests don’t have the use of the hot tub for the first night of arrival. This is through no fault of their own. This is where the £100 comes in. We offer them this as a form of compensation.
Again, we are sorry this ruined your break, but we have to take into account all the guests we welcome here to the cottage.
However, we would love to welcome you back again and hope you have just as good a time you had on this occasion.
Kind Regards
Bryan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharleneG...
1 review
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed October 16, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We had the best weekend for my sisters 30th. The hot tub was great. Secluded so we knew we were not going to bother anyone. The pictures on the website don’t do it justice, the place was huge. All beds very comfy, kitchen and bathrooms are done to a very high standard. Would live to book again in the summer months.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsCharly...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Escape for Girls Weekend”
Reviewed October 2, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a great time from start to finish on our weekend at Hazelbank Cottage. We were celebrating a friends 30th.

The house is beautifully decorated and very spacious. 3 Bathrooms were great for all the girls! We loved the hot tub and being secluded meant we didn't have to worry about the neighbours. Asda is only 10 mins away, we organised a click & collect which meant we could relax and not worry about fitting everything into cars.

The rooms are huge, plenty of space for luggage. All necessary amenities provided too meant we probably over-ordered from Asda! Dawn was brilliant with communication and definitely made us feel welcome.

This property is fab for girly weekends, family celebrations or just to escape from it all. Thanks Dawn, we'll definitely be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 2, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kendoon
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Cosy Comfort with Nature”
Reviewed August 24, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This is a house which has a lovely combination of luxury but very much in the countryside. There are 4 en suite rooms, a substantial kitchen with all the requirements to cook a feast. The dining table is a most attractive oak table which fits in with the modern surroundings. The lounge has comfortable chairs etc with a large TV with Sky. There are various games and various gadgets to amuse one. Outside there is a hot tub, barbeque and picnic table with ample seating. There is a large area of decking necessary in wet weather. The floors in the house are covered with wood blocks which make clean easy. The house looks stark from the road but the principle windows look out onto the decking and the wood covered hillside opposite. In August nature was not that much in evidence but a hare regularly grazed in the grounds and bats played havoc with the security lights as the movement of the bats resulted in the lights going off and on. There are many bramble bushes (blackberries) growing in profusion in the area just waiting to be eaten! Judging by the number of hazel trees there will be a good crop of nuts come the autumn. (Thus Hazelbank Cottage). The flesh pots of Girvan are just a few minutes away where there is an ASDA.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnm4471
glasagow
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not so rural,needs some maintenance”
Reviewed August 10, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Good things first. Great,large cottage, with many great features. Brilliant hot tub, outdoor seating. Full sky package.
The not so good. Be careful on entrance path. I was lucky not to damage underside of car scraping on rocks coming up through worn down and loose gravel. Also there is a road running alongside cottage. This is used regularly by heavy goods lorries going to nearby quarry. Not so good in morning if you are a light sleeper. They make a lot of noise.
The decking area is large with great seating area but the bannister going around it needs upgrading. You need to be careful leaning against out as there is quite a bit of movement. Could be dangerous for kids.
All the outside window frames need a good clean. Lots of cobwebs and dead flies.
Inside house there were lots of dead flies on ceilings and walls. We were plagued with them on first night so bought lots of sprays. This helped a lot.
Finally you have to use testing strips in hot tub and then put in the correct amount of chemicals. I have never had to do this before.
We had a great time, but cottage needs better maintenance and cleaning

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay here at Hazelbank Cottage.
We were so happy to hear on your check out that you all had such a great time and “would love to stay again”. However when leaving your review, you felt your stay only warranted a 3 Star review.
We have considered all you have said regarding the entrance path and would like to assure you we will be having that rectified this week.
As for the bannister, at the start of the season all was well but over the last few months it has become s little loose. There is an upgrade due for the decking which will be installed in the quiet months of October, November.
I’d like to make future guests aware this is a rural property. In being so it does attract a fare bit of wildlife. Not only will you see Deer, owls, buzzards and the odd Stoat. You are also likely to see loads of horse flies, midges, spiders and mice along with bats. Particularly in the summer months. This is outwith our control. And something which should be considered when booking our property.
We would like to assure our guests our property is cleaned to a very high standard before each check in. We also wash all external windows weekly and the frames and surrounding ingles once a month with a pressure washer to remove webs and such. Again this is a rural property and webs can accumulate on the outside of the building faster than in say an urban property. This is out with our control.
I am sorry to hear the maintenance of the hot tub put you out, but please rest assured our guests and future guests health takes priority. We ask all guests to check chemical levels using a simple dip stick process each time before use. After which they are requested to add chemicals a spoon full at a time. Again, before each use. These chemicals are important to keep bacteria levels within safe parameters. It is not feasible for us ourselves to do this. Particularly if some of our guests choose to use the hot tub several times throughout their stay at the cottage. Upon check in we prepare the hot tub and it’s ready to be used. You only have to top up the chemicals if and when you use it. This prevents the spread of diseases etc from alternate guests.
Again, we are sorry not to have met your expectations this time on your visit to our Cottage but would love to welcome you and your party back some time in the future where we will meet all your expectations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing