We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wildings Hotel & Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
$85
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$234
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glenapp Castle(Ballantrae)
$425
$413
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$103
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveler rating
101
26
13
3
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
101
26
13
3
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat foodextensive menuvisited wildingssmall harbourmany occasionsquality of food servedfantastic restaurantwould recommend a visitpateset menuhave eaten heretempura prawnsturnberry golfwarm welcomehigh standardspecialsscotland
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 156 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2010

On our recent trip through Scotland, after reading many reviews on this site, we decided to book into Woodland Bay Hotel in Girvan. I reconfirmed my reservations with them about 10 days prior to arrival. Our trip began in Edinburgh and I had the opportunity while there to check my email and thankfully I did, because there was an email from Woodland Bay Hotel saying that they would not be able to accomodate us after all (they said problems with some rooms was the reason) and they had re-booked us into Wildings in Maidens.

Well, it through us into a mild bit of worry, since this was not a place we had considered staying at. With some trepidation we appeared at Wildings and from the moment we walked in, we were pleasantly surprised with all aspects of our stay.

It appears that the hotel has had a very recent renovation - the rooms looked brand new and everything was immaculately clean. We had an "end" room, so had windows on 2 walls which provided some excellent cross-ventilation. My folks were in the room next to ours and I noted some other reviewers mentioned paper thin walls - but we didn't notice that at all (perhaps their reviews were prior to the renovations). On the contrary, it was very quiet. Large, comfortable rooms and equally comfortable beds.

The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. We had some difficulty getting the TV to function and the girl at the desk immediately came upstairs and clicked a few things on the remote and all was well. Dinner in the hotel's restaurant was very good - some of the best food we had on our 10 day trip. Service was professional and smooth.

The hotel overlooks a playing field of some sort (we asked and were told they were playing "balls") - to this American is seemed similar to bocce ball. Anyway, from our rooms we had excellent views of an evening match on the field and views of the small harbor and sea beyond.

This was undoubtedly one of those times when a change in plans worked out to be a blessing! Great spot and if you're in the area, you should give it a try. I think you'll be as pleasantly surprised as we were.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PK12033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

Didn't stay in the hotel but did visit the restaurant. It was the best meal we had in 2 weeks in Scotland! The presentation was beautiful. Everyone raved about their particular meal--and the desserts were exquisite. No problem with the wait staff--they were friendly and let us eat in peace.

Note, however, that this was a quiet weekly evening not a busy weekend evening (booking required from what we heard).

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harthome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

This will be brief - rooms ok but you can hear what's happening next door, food is excellent but it's a pity the staff don't know the basics of good service, on the weekend, later in the evening, you can enjoy the company of inebriated locals and if you wait long enough, you can enjoy the company of inebriated staff too.

This establishment is trying to be all things to all men. The location makes one half the local watering hole while the other half is trying to be a nice hotel and restaurant. The two don't mix well.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fredbred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2008

Wildings is a small hotel/restaurant in Maidens - a small fishing village 15 miles south of Ayr. It is primarily a seafood restaaurant with approximately 8 rooms.

We had stayed the previous year for our anniversary and really enjoyed the experience. We booked in again on a Saturday night for dinner, bed and breakfast. Check-in was nice enough but the room was quite poky and outdated.

We had booked dinner so I went down to our table whilst my wife got ready. In the end we ordered our food a little later. The food was ok but the waiting service was terrible. Numerous staff walked past our tables when we had clearly finished our meals. I believe it was 2 hours from finishing our starters to having our main courses removed.

Wildings used to have a small bar area where you could relax with a drink. This no longer exists as they extended the dining area so you can't actually sit anywhere after your meal. Nor are there any other establishments nearby. We complained about the lax service and were told by the manager that it was Saturday night. We were also told that our 5 minute delay in ordering had led to a bigger delay in getting food from the kitchen. A wearisome excuse - get the right amout of staff in on the busiest night! We were offered a free drink but declined.

Our night was pretty much finished and with nothing else nearby, we decamped to bed. A few hours later the couple next door waltzed home. They were absolutely drunk and were shrieking and shouting. The walls are paper thin and despite us banging on the door they refused to calm down. We had had enough so gathered our belongings and checked out, at approximately midnight. However, all the waiting staff were assembled on the stairs and were mostly a few wines down themselves. I asked the wine waiter to check us out but we had to wait for the till to reboot. Then the waiting staff started questioning our reasons for checking out. We did not want to engage in coversation but the waitresses proceeded to be very rude to us. My wife left to stand outside and one of the waitresses followed and berated her reasons - even calling her names. Horrendous customer service and very unprofessional. I regrettably paid the bill and we left.

Wilings is good for a nice seafood meal but they are not hoteliers, by any stretch of the imagination. I would recommend them for a mid-week evening meal provided you are not staying over.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hilsyinfinite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2008

Wildings Restaurant is very popular and worth a visit. The hotel bedrooms have recently been completely refurbished to a very high standard and are most comfortable. However our room was at the back and very small with a view of the car park etc. The rooms at the front are much more spacious and have a beautiful view of the beach, sea and harbour. It seemed a bit unfair that we still paid £90 the same as our friends who were in the far superior front rooms. Breakfast was okay but the scrambled egg and mushrooms were very salty. .

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jane M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews