We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Thankyou”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Girvan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wildings Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Girvan
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“No Thankyou”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

On arrival, this place has it all. The views are exceptional. A beautiful sunset over Arran and a superb play park across on the green adjacent to the bowling green. Should be idylic in reality it is far from it. Looking from the outside, the building is in need of varnish to the wooden fascia and the awnings a good wash or refit. It looks tired but despite having been two years before and disappointed, I returned courtesty of a gift voucher and I hasten to add, an open mind. Unfortunately the staff again were rude bordering on hostile with the exception of the barman who at least knew how to be friendly to customers. I commented to the dark haired waitress about the weather and was ignored! We felt like intruders forcing them to feed us for free! Despite his limp, the nice barman could easily run circles round the rest of the serving staff and would do well to teach them the art of smiling, greeting guests, idle chit chat and asking if everything is alright with them! My husband was not given a steak knife and it was impossible to attract anyone's attention to ask for one. I feel sorry for the chef who obviously works hard and provides excellent food but despite having money left over on the gift voucher, I will not return. Why do the owners not do someting about it before it's too late? Superb food and chef catered for dairy and gluten free needs. Perhaps owners wanting retirement?

Room Tip: Only came for a meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    24
    12
    3
    13
See reviews for
28
52
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ayr
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

Had a family meal before christmas and I am shocked at the attitude of a certain blonde member of staff whom has been mentioned before. Lack of morals, and self respect. I used to dine frequently at Wildings, but safe to say I won't be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BobD234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

Our 1st visit to this restaurant and I can honestly say that the food was superb and the prices even better!!

5 Star food and wonderful service to match. We will certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShaznyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

Dined at Wildings Restaurant on Saturday evening 17th December, whilst food cannot be faulted on every occasion we have dined here, sadly the same cannot be said regarding the service. Lack of staff training is sadly all to apparent, at no point during our meal did anyone ask whether we required anything or how our dishes were, not even the bland courteous question in every restaurant "did you enjoy your meal" was everything okay for you, we had to try to catch the eye of passing staff to be served drinks, and gave up by the time it got to coffee left without any ! Having at least four different staff serving us, one for each course plus drinks they are obviously not short staffed nor was the restaurant full, they were just indifferent to the diners, Changed days at Wildings obviously lacking leadership, certainly didnt expect to see staff dressed in vest top serving meals on a December night.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank glasgowgirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

Ate out for dinner with my husband for our anniversary on a Saturday evening, restaurant wasn't overly busy but found the staff to be extremely rude and dismissive. Food was exceptional right through to dessert but meal was vastly let down by treatment from the staff, especially the brazen, sour faced receptionist.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank HappyHol6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

Since returning to live in Scotland 12 years ago we have visited Wildings on numerous occasions. Each and every time that we have been there has been exceedingly enjoyable. We have never had a bad meal and the staff have been welcoming and attentive. We havnot experienced any of the complaints voiced by other correpondents. All of our friends agree. No where in Ayrshire can your get such good value for money. Now that we have moved away from Ayrshire, we still regard a visit to Wildings as a must and worth the 100 miles round trip that it entails.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

Had a fantastic 3 course meal for 2. The food was fantastic, good size portions and a large menu with specials as well. The service was also very fast and friendly. At 23 GBP for 3 courses, its just fantastic value as well.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Braveliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Girvan
8.2 mi away
Woodland Bay Hotel
Woodland Bay Hotel
#1 of 5 in Girvan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
1.5 mi away
Malin Court Hotel
Malin Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Turnberry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
6.3 mi away
Southfield Hotel
Southfield Hotel
#2 of 5 in Girvan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Western House Hotel
11.4 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
15.6 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildings Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildings Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Wildings Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Harbour Road | Maidens, Girvan KA26 9NR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Girvan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Girvan
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Wildings Hotel And Restaurant
Wildings Hotel Girvan
Wildings Hotel & Restaurant Girvan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing