We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Left feeling humiliated !”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Girvan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wildings Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Girvan
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Left feeling humiliated !”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

After a happy day visiting Maidens on August 2011,having previously on various occasions in the past dined at Wildings Restaurant, we were shocked by the attitude of the middle aged blond woman with the badly applied light blue eyeliner and big shiny teeth. This particular individual informed us when we entered the foyer,after we had enquired, regarding a table for two,that there was a cafe further along the village better suited to our requirements.This person i could only surmise had made a judgement about us down to our casually dressed appearance.I would like to suggest that the old adage ,never judge a book by it's cover should be used in this instance.Attitude stinks!

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank melons17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    24
    12
    3
    13
See reviews for
28
52
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We went for a meal to celebrate a special occasion, and what a disappointment it turned out to be. I agree with the comments made in other reviews about the attitude of the staff, and the service was slow and muddled - we didn't get our drink order until the main course arrived, then we were forgotten about after the main course.
If the food had been outstanding, maybe these problems could have been overlooked, but unfortunately this was not the case. I ordered Tiger Prawn Tempura for starter which turned out to be just that - 6 prawns in rather greasy batter with some dip. Not a bit of garnish to be seen.
The main course was salmon and asparagus, which was pleasant but bland, served with the usual mix of veg, and a bowl of chips which looked like any supermarket frozen chip. No handcut chunky fries here!
By the time the dessert order was eventually taken, the expectations weren't high. I ordered the cheeses, three small triangles of cheese, and to my excitement, I had some garnish with them - a bunch of green grapes! Unfortunately, it appeared that someone else had enjoyed them before me, as most of the top grapes were missing, with only the stalks left.
Shortly after leaving the restaurant I was very sick, and what should have been a celebration turned into a rather unpleasant night!
I would also point out that Wildings is situated in Maidens, not Girvan as the location here suggests, and it is reasonably close to Turnberry Hotel. It is a cheaper option than dining in Turnberry, just be prepared for the lack of quality and poor service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cal23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Had a great lunch.... food lovely!!! Staff were not friendly at all!!!!!!!!!!. This is my second visit and nothing has changed. And is a bit of a put off . For the money u would expect more.We had to ask for a drink and by time we had finished meal we had to ask again..we had a boy that could not crack a smile as our waiter... Think they need to have a talk with staff about being a wee bit more welcoming ....................as very off putting.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank lauraparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

After a rough night at the Turnberry, we drove off looking for a new place to stay. We were fortunate to find the Wildings just down the road. Instead of a view of the car drop off or a brick wall (which were our options at the Turnberry) we had a view of the Irish Sea and a very clean, quiet and spacious room and rate included a full breakfast.

Dinner at the Wildings was spectacular - fresh fish, chicken and steaks and delicious desserts all at very reasonable prices.

We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familyof4MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

I had been looking forward to my trip to wildings for a birthday treat. The place looked great and smelt wonderful but i feel the service really let this restaurant down. We were welcomed by a down trodden waitress who obviously did not want to be there. About seven different people came to our table looking just as miserable. I felt other tables were favoured and felt almost forgotten about. The food really was brilliant but due to the service i find myself not wanting to go back. And i have told many of my friends this.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Leafaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire England
Level Contributor
171 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We travelled around the coast of Scotland during May and this is one of the hotels we stayed in - This was a real gem of a place that we'd never have found had not another "full" hotel recommended it. Our room was magnificent with everything we needed including bottles of water and the view was great. You literally cross the road and grass parks in front and you are on gorgeous sandy beaches. For a Monday night we were staggered to see the number of people in the restaurant but having sampled the food, it was the best. The staff were incredibly friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We travel a lot and for fun we like to score hotels, for ourselves, out of 10 and thought this would be the first to ever receive the perfect 10 but both us and a table near us had minor things missing off the breakfast orders so although we both think it's excellent in location, style, cleanliness and helpfulness it just gets our 9.5

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Went to Wildings for a 60th birthday. On arrival we were met by friendly staff who showed us to our table. After 5 mins of looking at the menu domeone came to take our drinks and once they arrived they took our food order. The menu, while not massive was varied and there were 3 or 4 things that I could of chosen. There was no set children's menu but we were told we could have anything on the full menu at a reduced portion (and cost) or pasta with differant sauces. The starters arrived and were all very nice and just a good portion size. This is when our problems started. We sat for 20 mins with our dirty starter plates in front of us and these were only cleared when our main meals arrived. Also dispite asking for the wine list we were never asked what bottle we'd like and had to ask for our chosen bottle when our mains arrived, this was the only, during our meal we got a chance to ask for drinks. Once we finished our mains we again sat for 30/35 mins with our dirty plates infront of us and an empty bottle of wine. We finally got up and left the table to pay the bill, it was only then were we approached for any other service but by this time we were set for home. We paid thd bill and left. Overall great food but poor poor service on a fairly quiet night

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nonverbalstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Girvan
1.5 mi away
Malin Court Hotel
Malin Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Turnberry
128 reviews
8.2 mi away
Woodland Bay Hotel
Woodland Bay Hotel
#1 of 5 in Girvan
448 reviews
6.3 mi away
Southfield Hotel
Southfield Hotel
#2 of 5 in Girvan
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Western House Hotel
11.3 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
856 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildings Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildings Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Wildings Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Harbour Road | Maidens, Girvan KA26 9NR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Girvan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Girvan
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Wildings Hotel And Restaurant
Wildings Hotel Girvan
Wildings Hotel & Restaurant Girvan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing