We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Attention to detail makes for a perfect stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Cairnhill

Cottage close up
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage close up
Cairnhill Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Cottage close up
Cairnhill Cottage
A view down the track leading to the cottage
A view of the Garden
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Dining Area
Bedroom 1 Double room with en-suite shower room
Bedroom 1 -En-suite
Bedroom 2 Twin Bedroom
Bedroom 2 Twin Bedroom
Bedroom 3 Twin Bedroom
Bedroom 3 Twin Bedroom
Upstairs Toilet
Family Bathroom
Utility Room
View of the River Stinchar from the cottage drive
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Girvan, South Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Waterlily...
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Attention to detail makes for a perfect stay”
Reviewed May 22, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We booked this cottage for a short holiday with the kids and our parents who had just arrived from Kuala Lumpur. We were planning to give them a restful holiday whilst exploring Ayrshire and Arran - which was exactly what we achieved!

Debbie had been a very attentive host from the before we arrived with right up until we leave, without being intrusive at all. The cottage itself was really lovely, spacious and spotlessly clean. We had the open fire lit up and alternative heating on (was told the boiler broke down which the owners profusely apologised and was dealt with very promptly). It was very cosy and comfortable when my parents arrived which helped them recover from the long journey.

We were impressed with such attention to detail. The cottage had everything we could ever need - tea, coffee, sugar, little pots of milk, perfect for making up a cup of tea and snuggling up in front of the open fire from the moment we arrived. We spend quite lot of time in the living and kitchen/dining just catching up and noticed how well everything was laid out. There was a separate utility room which housed the freezer, washing machine and dryer, next to the downstairs bathroom. There were fresh new washing up sponge, kitchen towels, the cutlery were lined up perfectly in the drawers.. the list just goes on. There was washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets and laundry detergent - simple things that if not there, you end up buying more and have lots leftover, something I find quite inconvenient in most other places we've stayed. Debbie & husband has really set the mark here.

Downstairs was open plan kitchen/dining leading to the utility room and downstairs bathroom with mains water supply. On the left side there was the living room leading to the en-suite master bedroom with electric shower (we thought having different hot water supply was a good idea - handy if the boiler broke down). Upstairs were the two twin rooms and an upstairs toilet - again very handy. All rooms were furnished and cleaned to a really good standard.

The kids were entertained with lots of games, books, there was TV with Sky and wifi at the cottage. Outside is very spacious and tidy too. The cottage was on top of a hill and had very nice views.

Overall, very comfortable stay. We were highly impressed with the attention to detail - even the welcome card is of very high quality!! Thank you for a lovely stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 23, 2017
Thank ou so much for such a detailed and comprehensive review. It did not give us much room for improvement but we will be trying to keep up the standard.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 30, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing it was perfect
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2016
Many thanks for such a valued review. Of course should you find things not to your liking we will always try and improve, but in this case all I can repeat is "thank you so much."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Deborah H
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed August 26, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Apart from the trauma of getting to Scotland (the M6 need I say more) and our sat nav not getting us close enough (more on that later) this was all we could have wished for!

Beautifully appointed and stunningly clean cottage in a quiet (apart from the cockerel - who starts early be warned!) rural location - away from it all but close enough that there are things to do.

Great welcome card and gifts from Debbie & Jim who really do go out of their way to help you (when we got lost on the way and providing us with a BBQ), the cottage has everything you need for a relaxing stay.

Our sat nav took us the wrong way so we got hopelessly lost and there is not much phone reception in the area - take the road to Ballantrae and then the next right, follow the road and at the yellow bungalow on the left you will see the track up to the cottage on the left - we found that the easiest way to get in and out!

recommended sights Glen Trool and Culzean Castle are must sees, didn't really do much in the evening as in going out as we had small (ish) child and dogs so we stayed in and played games!

would definitely recommend this cottage - but will fly to Scotland next timn!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful cottage
Liked least: getting there!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2016
Thank you so much for the good review, I will adopt your directions fot the next edition of the description. Sorry there is nothing we can do about the M6. Thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2016
Thank you for the review and we are really glad you had a good holiday.
I expect we can let the air through the house before the next guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Peter F
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed July 22, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

All credits go to the managers Debbie and Jim.
What a heartwarming welcome.
There were some technical hickups but Jim solved them directly after we reported them.
Perfect house. Perfectly decorated. Perfect location, lots to do. Perfectly cleaned.
Really wonderful to have stayed here.

Some tips:
More tv-channels.
Hairdryer
Fly screens in the little windows.
More info (about how tv works and where to find wifi code)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Don't know
Liked least: Flies
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2016
We received this twice so see previous response.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen t
Perros-Guirec, France
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed July 22, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

All credits go to the managers Debbie and Jim.
What a heartwarming welcome!
In the beginnig there were some technical hickups. Jim solved all problems immediately.
Perfect house with all appliances you need. Perfect area where there is so much to do. Perfect taste of decoration. Perfectly clean.
Just the perfect house!!
Tips:
Fly screens for the small windows in the batrooms and utility room.
More tv channels
Hairdryer
More info in "the welcome book",(how tv works and how to start the wifi)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Flies
Traveling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2016
Thank you so much for the review and the helpful tips. We will certainly look into Fly screens and get a hair dryer. We will review the instruction in the welcome pack. More TV channels is more of a problem as the only way in the cottages location is to subscribe to SKY and one cannot be selective by charging extra for those who want more and not those who don't. we will have it under review and see if we get more requests. Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
884gavinb
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Beautiful”
Reviewed April 8, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

There aren't really any words to describe how beautiful it was,the cottage was so nice,clean spacious and really well equipped with kitchen goods,also a box full of family games,book case with books dvds and loads of leaflets of attractions walks etc.
The cottage was so easy to find,set in an idyllic location with lovely views and sounds of flowing water.
Definitely a cottage that is worth visiting,I went with my family and it suited us wonderfully.
For our first visit to Scotland I couldn't have wished for a better location or cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2016
Thank you so much for your review, we are always happy to learn that guests enjoyed Cairnhill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing