We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice little pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Roxy

The Roxy
Ranked #20 of 22 Restaurants in Girvan
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Description: The roxy is now under new managment.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“nice little pub”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

the roxy is located at the edge of the road on the corner,which is the main road to stranraer,but don't let the location put you off,once inside there is a nice atmosphere of a cosy little local pub,food is excellent and there is a wide range of ales and spirits to choose from,i have been several times over the last few years and look forward to going there again soon,staff are very good and put you at ease as you enter,all in good food at a reasonable price.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnslessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    23
    10
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Rubbish”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Went for a family meal lovely girl serving but slow to come out of kitchen and they were not busy 4 tables including ours we all ordered steak if thats what you called frozen slabs served on cold plates. Chicken nuggets for the kids that were like puff pastry shells with no filling. The deserts what they had were that long to come out the kitchen the hot chocolate fudge cake had re froze itself. This was a return visit to give the new owners a chance there wont be a return visit.

Helpful?
Thank Rosie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Avoid big style”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

My family an i went here 4 our new years lunch on the 2nd of january, we had eaten here before an the meal was horrid, but as it had new management we thought we would give it another go. I wish we hadnt bothered, the Roxy might b under new management but it should have changed the chef an staff at the same time. One of my family had ordered beef curry an was served strips of beef fried with curry sauce poured over the beef, thats not curry an more to the point the curry was out of a jar an NOT homemade. Thete was loads other problems and the fact that 4 out of the 5 meals was sent back should have told the chefs that there is a problem. Also the christmas pudding was advertised on the menu with a brandy sauce, an when it arrived the brandy sauce had turned to custard and was cold. On asking to speak to the manager we were presented with the managers cousin who when we explained the complaint went on to say that they have never had a complaint, which was totaly untrue, even big 5 star hotels like Turnberry have complaints!!!! Iv been here 3 times to eat now to give it the benefit of the doubt but i can asure you that we will never be back there to eat even if you paid me to!

Helpful?
2 Thank tracyjgrierson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Kiddie portions for adult prices”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Went in for a wee treat but was quite dissapointed service was poor very slow one fella trying to do everything, Food was tasty but the portions were ridiculous normal kiddies portion anywhere else would of been bigger.Definately went down hill with new owners

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kitty4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Dropped in on way back from Cairnryan to Glasgow”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I have read the other reviews, we were told by a local person in the High St that it had recently changed owners so not sure if those reviews still hold We stopped for a meal after dropping our daughter at the ferry The two lads behind the bar were friendly and chatty We had to wait a while for our Sunday roast but they did apologise and wen it arrived it was a lovely meal although small portion. Recommend the atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrSmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Roxy also viewed

Girvan, South Ayrshire
Girvan, South Ayrshire
 
Girvan, South Ayrshire
 
Girvan, South Ayrshire
Dailly, South Ayrshire
 

Been to The Roxy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing