We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”
Review of Pearl Tandoori - CLOSED

Pearl Tandoori
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Description: Also a take away
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Pearl isn't the most attractive restaurant from the outside but I was really surprised by how nice it was inside - and it didn't stop at the decor. The food was excellent, with lovely flavours and plenty of it. Having eaten in what was supposed to be the Number 1 restaurant (Indian) in Edinburgh earlier this year, I couldn't say that it was any better than the Pearl. I don't know a lot about Indian food but I know what tastes good and what doesn't, and the food here was good. Service was very good too and the bill was also a pleasant surprise. Would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JUDE255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    1
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Good food excellent service”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I eat at the pearl often great food and service, I have never left feeling disappointed with my meal or attention from the staff also the inside of the restaurant is second to none for cleanliness and appearance .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shankslfc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would not use again”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The onion bhaji was good!!! That's where it ended the wife had prawn purée,forget it, as for mains I had South Indian garlic chilli,she had nentara,no taste of garlic at all,and both were like coloured water. I.e no taste, the rice was good. we eat currys all over the country as travel a lot and this rates as one of worst. People who rate this as good, need to try somewhere else 1st. As I used it because of the rating,and it was a waste of £30. Thanks

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lottie35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stranraer
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great wee restaurant”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Seven of us visited thePearl for a birthday meal and all agreed that the food and service were first class. Nice choice on the menu and I can recomend the Cobra beer.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottBaillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We live locally but had never used the Pearl. Recently family visited from abroad and we ventured in. Our relatives who are real Indian food fanatics raved about the flavours and the quality of the food. A real find. We've already been back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Trafalgar101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearl Tandoori also viewed

Girvan, South Ayrshire
Girvan, South Ayrshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing