We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great day out”
Review of Dowhill

Dowhill
Ranked #3 of 23 Restaurants in Girvan
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Dowhill was opened in 2001 as a farm diversification destination. The family run business includes; A farm shop which is stocked full of home grown vegetables & locally sourced goods, A farmhouse Restaurant which features daily specials and hearty home cooked meals. The business has undergone a major refurbishment in 2017 bringing it's unrivalled views to the fore and introducing a new range of gift ware and clothing into the farm shop.
Kilbirnie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great day out”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

we had family over from the states & we drove down on Monday 20th may. we had a lovely lunch , then we enjoyed shopping in the lovely gift shop where our visitors purchased jewellery. the staff were very helpful & great service in restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank helen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    47
    34
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Doesn't seem right............”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Visited here at the end of April 2013. It's a nice place in a great location, and the service is friendly. The food is fine, if a bit expensive. Some of our party ordered soup for lunch, while others ordered soup and a sandwich. With soup at £3.95 and only £1 to add it to a sandwich deal, I expected the £1 portion of soup with the sandwich deal to be much smaller. Surprisingly, it was identical - which effectively means that when you order the soup on it's own, they're charging £2.95 for a slice of bread and a foil pack of butter. That's not right, is it?

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ethoscon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Gey poor!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

An expensive, lack lustre meal that would be exaggerating to call it pub grub. Steak pie (beef beer and puff pastry) potatoes and veg, consisted of tough meat and what tasted to me like frozen veg. The cream of vegetable soup was thin and watery and the shortcrust pastries were soggy. Considering this was a farm shop/restaurant it was very disappointing. One positive note the service was efficient.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Truflehunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Reasonable place to break a journey”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The food here was reasonable. Main courses were nice, although the soup wasn't very hot, and the chips were horrible; soggy yet also nearly burnt! The baking was really good, the coffee was okay. It was nice and clean, and the staff were nice; all a bit slow, though.
It is quite expensive for what you get, I think. The sampi, chips and salad was almost £9. There wasn't a huge amount of scampi, but it was nice; the salad was delicious, but the chips were inedible.
I would stop here again, but really only because it's a good place to break a journey.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gf11Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Home Cooking”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Have used the Farm turned restaurant with gift shop many times in recent years, Provides good qulity home made food at reasonable prices in pleasant surroundings overlooking the sea.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zanique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dowhill also viewed

Girvan, South Ayrshire
Alloway, South Ayrshire
 
Girvan, South Ayrshire
Girvan, South Ayrshire
 

Been to Dowhill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing