We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday stay”
Review of Woodland Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodland Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Girvan
Certificate of Excellence
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Birthday stay”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We arrived on Friday night, we're met by the owner Michael, real nice guy, we were given Room 16, which was lark to say the least. We had a beautiful window view right out onto the ocean. No complaints at all here. Lovely set up, hair-dryer, iron, iron board, tv, full tea/coffee facilities. Bathroom had plenty of soap, shampoo and towels, exactly what you expect. We will be back, that's for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for one with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenkeen1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    79
    12
    8
    2
See reviews for
59
260
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We took a last minute decision to go away for Hogmanay this year- having been down to this hotel previously I phoned hoping we could get squeezed in. The owner was very accommodating and got us a place at the gala dinner and a double room for after. Food was flawless, steak cooked perfectly. The room was clean and well equipped and the setting of the hotel is lovely. The breakfast the next morning was great, especially the farms own link sausages. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiek37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous stay here a couple of years ago but only now getting round to posting a review!! We were there just as they launched the restaurant opening for dinner. Food was fabulous. The room wax stunning. Lovely finishing and Arran Aromatics toiletries. Luxury! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Writing this has reminded me to return soon!!! :)

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LisaAitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed for two nights in November and thoroughly enjoyed our visit .We were made very welcome by the owner and the staff were friendly and helpful. Had dinner in the Restaurant and the food was really good. Breakfast was top drawer. Our room was really very comfortable, spotlessly clean with all facilities including WIFI.
We will be back for a further stay and can highly recommend.

Room Tip: Our room was in the court yard. Nice & quiet, very roomy king size bed, easy adjacent parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed here for one night in October whilst attending an evening function at the hotel. Room was spacious, very clean and well equipped - particularly liked finding an iron and ironing board in the room. Bathroom clean with toiletries supplied. Slight confusion over our booking but this was quickly resolved very satisfactorily.

Breakfast was good but service was slow with only one person on duty initially but perhaps we were just unlucky with timing as once another member of staff appeared things moved more swiftly.

Nice display of locally made jewelry for sale at reception.

Would definitely recommend.
Easy to find with lovely location just across the road from a beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Had an excellent night at Woodland Bay Hotel, meal in restaurant was excellent, wood recommend it to everyone :) Will definately be back again. Family who own it could not do enough for us, thank you for making our stay so good

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boycie39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lanarkshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Spacious rooms, spotlessly clean. Very nice dinner and outstanding breakfast. We were well-looked after - our hosts even treated our son to a trip to feed the piglets on the farm that surrounds the hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDM2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Girvan
2.0 mi away
Southfield Hotel
Southfield Hotel
#2 of 5 in Girvan
124 reviews
6.7 mi away
Malin Court Hotel
Malin Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Turnberry
129 reviews
20.0 mi away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,057 reviews
10.2 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
280 reviews
19.0 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodland Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Bay Hotel

Property: Woodland Bay Hotel
Address: Woodland Farm, Girvan KA26 0HP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Girvan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Girvan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodland Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine being lulled to sleep by gentle waves and exploring rock pools in the bay. Far enough from the city for complete relaxation, yet near enough for easy access to all major transport. We are a people friendly, dog friendly and horse friendly hotel. Everywhere at Woodland is wheelchair accessible with a range of helpful facilities, including accessible bathrooms and walk-in showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Woodland Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodland Bay Hotel Girvan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing