We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back for a second stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodland Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Woodland Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Girvan
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Back for a second stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We visited the Woodland Bay Hotel for the first time last year and knew we had to come back.

The rooms are gorgeous. They are large, modern and immaculate. There's a big fitted, mirrored wardrobe, a modern bathroom with shower and complimentary toiletries, a couple of armchairs and coffee table, a dressing table and a kettle, coffee, tea, bottles of water and shortbread for you to help yourself to. They also provide a safe for your use.

This is a family run hotel and the staff can't do enough for you. The breakfasts are excellent. We had a cooked breakfast each morning, but there are other options. They were happy to cater for the vegetarians and vegan in our group. The restaurant is also modern and rather swish and there is a bar you can relax in, in the evening.

The hotel is directly across the road from a long stretch of beach, which is perfect for children and our little boy enjoyed seeing the horses in the stables on site, visiting their piglets and feeding the chickens. They really are a family friendly hotel.

For days out I would recommend a trip into Ayr, Culzean Castle, which has huge grounds and plenty to do, you can spend a whole day there and Heads of Ayr Farm Park, which is a great day out for kids.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    73
    10
    8
    2
See reviews for
56
247
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I think this hotel is fabulous the rooms are beautiful and the views are stunning we ate in restaurant and wow the beef we both ate and both give It five stars but the chocolate mousse I give one hundred stars if u like chocolate this is for u it is amazing u get a mousse with white chocolate topping a truffle a cream and sorbet and biscuit try it Allan and family are such good people I wish u all the best will be back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shazza1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I have once recently become a wheelchair user mosy of the. Time and because of the disability discrimination act did nothin kit would be so hard to find wheelchair accessible hotels. Ayr and gator an itself had nothing suitable available but we carried on along the main road and came to this hotel and enquiries about vacancies without much hope but not only did they have aground floor room, but it was fully accessible with handrails and wet room with walk in shower. The restaurant was also fully accessible with accessible toilet. Tube breakfast was excellent and included haggis. All this for only £82 including everything.

Room Tip: I can only say if you are a wheelchair user you will not have a choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at the Woodland 2 nights and had an absolute blast.

I challenge anyone to find a more helpful and more friendly staff.
Food was also very good.
The Hotel is set in stunning surroundings and you have a view to the Ailsa Craig

Will definitley stay again. A big thanks to all the team at the Woodlands

Room Tip: Pick the rooms along the front...3, 4, etc as you will have a magnificent view of Ailsa Craig or Pad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougie s S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Can't speak highly enough this hotel is top class food is great rooms are home from home and breakfast is good keep it up we will be back the rooms are so clean and beds are great staff are really good nothing to much and the desserts are to die for

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shelly453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Can't speak highly enough of Alan and all the team at The Woodland Bay. Great value and a great location for a golfing fourball from Ireland going to Turnberry and Troon. All the staff were excellent, Michael, Carol and Syed took great care of us. Very nice breakfast and great dinners - rooms were fine, wifi worked perfectly. Most highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TadhgC61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were pleased to see that Woodland Bay have maintained the high standards that we experienced on a previous visit. The staff were without exception pleasant and helpful: we must mention in particular Tracey (serving breakfasts), and the young man who performed this task on the Sunday morning.
Whilst we experienced a thoroughly enjoyable stay at the hotel, we were very disappointed by our experience at the associated restaurant (Beulah's - see separate review).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ambridge78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Girvan
20.0 mi away
Western House Hotel
2.0 mi away
Southfield Hotel
Southfield Hotel
#2 of 5 in Girvan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
19.0 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 18 in Ayr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
23.5 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
6.7 mi away
Malin Court Hotel
Malin Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Turnberry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodland Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Bay Hotel

Property: Woodland Bay Hotel
Address: Woodland Farm, Girvan KA26 0HP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Girvan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Girvan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodland Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine being lulled to sleep by gentle waves and exploring rock pools in the bay. Far enough from the city for complete relaxation, yet near enough for easy access to all major transport. We are a people friendly, dog friendly and horse friendly hotel. Everywhere at Woodland is wheelchair accessible with a range of helpful facilities, including accessible bathrooms and walk-in showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Woodland Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodland Bay Hotel Girvan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing