We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully pleasant”
Review of Woodland Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Woodland Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Girvan
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfully pleasant”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

What a great place warm welcome and so friendly
Room spotless and very well fitted out
The food in the restaurant was of the highest class a well cooked steak and the cheese board was so good I'll go back just for that alone, the restaurant staff were so helpfully and gave us the space and time to enjoy the meal.
Will be going back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raineman_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    81
    13
    8
    2
See reviews for
60
265
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I can usually sense whether I am going to like a hotel at a first glance and if is clean on the outside what it will be like on the inside - and this place is spotless!! It is more like a motel than a hotel with all the rooms in a chalet like position which are lovely..the bed is huge and the shower room/toilet is beautifully finished with nice warm white fluffy towels...the staff are very friendly and efficient and the food delicious..the drinks were also served in lovely glasses! and to finish it off stunning views of Ailsa Craig and surrounding area...hope to be back another time.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macmyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Sadly hotel was lovely and it's first time I have written a review but was such a let down my new year was totally ruined staff tried there best but food was sadly poor and I have to say the mood was terrible I feel let down maybe look into planning better for future

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kara456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at Woodland Bay Hotel including the Hogmanay Party Night & I can only totally agree with the two negative reveiws about the Party Night. We were seated in the "quieter" room which lacked any atmosphere whatsoever & was a 60 yard walk away from the main function room where the buffet was being served, the only music you could hear was from the TV's on the wall. We were never told at any time of booking for the Hogmanay Dinner Party that we would be seated anywhere other than the main function room & when we complained about this we were told sorry but nothing could be done & did'nt even offer an explanation why or anything to compensate us. The only "unrealistic" review of the evening is about how fantastic the atmosphere was in the room & then mentioning the great demand for the night & how the two rooms were brought together (amazing at 60 yards apart). Why would a "reveiwer" have any need to mention this or actually be aware of the demand & then concern themselves with other peoples genuine reveiws? A questionable review to say the very least & one that could not have been written any better had it been written by the owners themselves. Unlike them we will definitely NOT be looking to book again for future New Years Eve parties. Maybe if they feel so strong about the Hotel they should have reveiwed it before now after one of the many times they have stayed there?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FizznRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed at Woodlands Bay Hotel many times now and always had a lovely time so when we heard they were having their first new years eve party this year we decided to give it a go. Couldn't of asked for a better way to bring in the bells, the food was outstanding, great band, fantastic atmosphere and the staff could not have been more helpful. Due to the great demand of this night the seating was spread over 2 rooms during dinner. We were in the quieter of the 2 rooms, which has seemed to have some negative comments made in earlier trip advisor reviews, however the atmosphere during dinner was great and not in keeping with what seems like unrealistic reviews. After dinner the two rooms were brought together to enjoy the band and bring in the bells. Overall fantastic value for money and will definitely be continuing our stays at the Woodland Bay Hotel and will be looking to book again for future New Years Eve parties.

Room Tip: Stayed in many different rooms over the course of our trips to Woodlands and each room we have staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

£299 for a two night stay including hogmanay night but had to pay extra for 2nd nights dinner.? Staff very friendly shame it was overpriced for what was included and they tried to charge us more than we owed.... Complained about 5 main courses out of 8 and was given a bottle of wine! One meal had a fly on the plate but we weren't charged for that

Room Tip: Very creeky floors and noise from upstairs room. View onto brick wall and whistling windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rubytuesdaycumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancs.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

See above comments. Could have had better time in our own cottage with neighbours. Hogmanay night so far very disappointing, lacks atmosphere, tv's left on, not sat with other guest in function room and feel as though we could have been sat in a bar anywhere. On a positive note, food excellent

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AandJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Girvan
2.0 mi away
Southfield Hotel
Southfield Hotel
#2 of 5 in Girvan
127 reviews
6.7 mi away
Malin Court Hotel
Malin Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Turnberry
133 reviews
20.0 mi away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,067 reviews
19.0 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
876 reviews
19.1 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodland Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Bay Hotel

Property: Woodland Bay Hotel
Address: Woodland Farm, Girvan KA26 0HP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Girvan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Girvan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodland Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine being lulled to sleep by gentle waves and exploring rock pools in the bay. Far enough from the city for complete relaxation, yet near enough for easy access to all major transport. We are a people friendly, dog friendly and horse friendly hotel. Everywhere at Woodland is wheelchair accessible with a range of helpful facilities, including accessible bathrooms and walk-in showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Woodland Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodland Bay Hotel Girvan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing