We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stopover”
Review of Woodland Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Woodland Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Girvan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We found this hotel to be everything we had hoped barring the weather which was hardly their fault. The seaview room was really excellent, and had everything we wanted plus plenty of room. The traffic on the road outside was not a problem as the double glazing kept most of it at bay. Yes there is a walk to the restaurant but again not a problem for us. The food was excellent, but our one criticism would be that when the restaurant got busy the service was far too slow, both at dinner and at breakfast. Bed was good, slept well, no bath but a really good large shower. We would most definitely use the hotel again particularly if we were using the ferry to Northern Ireland.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are lovely and large
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeangurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 466 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

staff were great happy to help rooms were well done but would have loved to have a bath its not a hotel its a motel this is a fact as u have to walk from room to restaurant and sadly me and my husband are getting on in years so found it a struggle food was well presented but we needed more and dont think we should spend extra for veg when paying such a high price for a main course and my husband had steak it was cooked as asked but why should we pay extra for sauce location is beautiful and peaceful but was alot of traffic threw the night and am not a heavy sleeper

Room Tip: dont take sea view if u want good night sleep or take ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bethany s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Only stayed for 1 night but could stay for a week; the room was huge, shower was well designed and towels the best I've had on this trip. Wifi was fast and stable. Had a sea view room and didn't notice the traffic noise, but it is there if you notice that sort of thing. Beach is only 20 yards away - if only there was the weather to use it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkshirewitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

What a a fantastic hotel. Family run with lovely rooms will everything that you could ak for including lovely views of the sea. Stayed at the hotel for a friends birthday celebrations and the meal in the restaurant was delicious!
We also had a wonderful Scottish breakfast before heading home. I would highly recommend the Woodland Bay Hotel if you are planning to visit Ayrshire, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrissyCuthbertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in September 2012.
As a wheelchair user the 'accessible room' was wonderful- spacious,beautifully decorated and equipped with an excellent wet room.
All the staff were friendly and very helpful. Breakfast and dinner were delicious and we enjoyed watching the horses and young riders in the adjacent stables as we had a drink before our evening meal.
We would thoroughly recommend a stay at this hotel and hope to return in the future.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Suecorky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This is our second visit to Woodland Bay and it was just as good as the first. Rooms are clean and modern and the hotel is welcoming. We've also eaten at their restaurant which was very good. This place is good value for your money and a reliable choice for Ayershire.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colbinkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We spent three delightful days at Woodland Bay in August. This is a small family hotel with all the benefits that come with that personal touch. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and in immaculate condition. The staff were ever friendly and helpful. The restaurant was excellent - both the food and the service and very reasonably priced for such high quality food.

The Hotel, which is situated on a farm from where much of the produce for the restaurant is sourced, is on the outskirts of Girvan, but we managed to get around quite well using taxis to the town (about $5 per trip) and local buses and trains although a car would be an advantage if you are not patient enough to sort through timetables for buses and trains. With car it is also a good base for day trips to the places such as Aran and Belfast.

We hope we get the opportunity to stay again in the near future - if just for the fabulous food.

Room Tip: Worth pay the little extra for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lanaj47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Girvan
2.0 mi away
Southfield Hotel
Southfield Hotel
#2 of 5 in Girvan
132 reviews
6.7 mi away
Malin Court Hotel
Malin Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Turnberry
142 reviews
23.5 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Western House Hotel
10.2 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
303 reviews
19.1 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodland Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Bay Hotel

Address: Woodland Farm, Girvan KA26 0HP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Girvan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Girvan
Price Range: $96 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodland Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine being lulled to sleep by gentle waves and exploring rock pools in the bay. Far enough from the city for complete relaxation, yet near enough for easy access to all major transport. We are a people friendly, dog friendly and horse friendly hotel. Everywhere at Woodland is wheelchair accessible with a range of helpful facilities, including accessible bathrooms and walk-in showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Woodland Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodland Bay Hotel Girvan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing