We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was excellent”
Review of Woodland Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodland Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Girvan
Certificate of Excellence
Wirral
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It was excellent”
Reviewed June 1, 2011

There were no negatives:-
Rooms were modern and clean.
Food was good quality.
Staff were very friendly.
Location is very pleasant with the beach straight across the road from the hotel.
Very good value for money

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mal369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    78
    11
    8
    2
See reviews for
58
258
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2011

perfect for quiet relaxing break away, good spacious rooms with comfortable beds, small and informal restaurant and bar serving excellent food using the best local produce. staff helpful and pleasant, would recommend to couples and families.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neill8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2011

What a great establishment..with young..ish vibrant..hardworking ..knowledgible owners buildngs new modern full of style ..area magnificent...sea air and a beach walk after breakfast ..top shelf full of great whiskys...Cafferys ale on Draught..Great comfortable beds ...cleaning daily... if I was running this place I would double the prices so get there quick before they go up !!!!!!
BEST OF ALL ITS ON A FARM SO KIDS CAN SEE ANIMALS ..FRESH PORODUCE CAN BE ATE...DAD PLAYS GOLF AND CAN GET YOU DEALS ..MUM IS A SUPERMUM...(both stay out of sight mostly)...near to Barr village ( A hidden Gem) near to the river STINCHAR...and RESTAURANT OUT OF THIS WORLD CHEF IS ...FROM GLASGOW AND SO DEDICATED ...NEW EPICURE HOMEGROWN SPUDS AT MAY 1ST...Scallops and and black pudding.... Wine list Hard to believe ..with Selection and Value ...of the highest quality ...I know I tasted ....If your into Geocache ..go to the wind farm ..go right up to the Turbines ..what an experience
P.S. THE LORRYS AND TRAFFIC ARE ONLY PASSING WHEN THE FERRYS ARRIVE ...EVERY 4 HOURS .......That guy who couldnt sleep wants to have 2 from the TOP SHELF......This was the best value.. and most friendliest ..service Ive ever had in my life and Im 62.....Hope I live long enough to return..also Girvan is a fantastic town ..full of culture and music during the festival...well thats what brought me there ....But the WOODLANDS ....distracted me......Emmet Newry N.I.

Room Tip: IF YOU LIE IN...avoid rooms near reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiddlerselbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. All of the staff were very freindly and made our stay a very relaxing, homely and enjoyable occasion. The room was spotless. The newly opened lounge bar serves a good range of drinks and the restaurant menu is extensive serving dishes normally found in fine dining establishments.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Girvan area and would not hesitate in stayiing again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunderlandOracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Had an enjoyable and relaxing short stay here and can honestly say that it was well worth every penny. Fine dining in a brand new restaurant (at down to earth prices), friendly and willing staff, spotless rooms which were well appointed...what more can we say. We will definately return, and for any wildlife enthusiasts, birders or photographers, this is a must-stay hotel as its close proximity to the shoreline (and by that I mean 20m!!) is fantastic. Top marks!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cainy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

Would be a nice place to stay if not on a major road. We could hear the car and truck noise through our ear plugs with the windows shut, we were in a room along the side not facing the sea. Although the owner told us we wouldn't hear anything !

Thank god it wasn't hot out. Cancellation policy is a tough one to get out of if you don't give 48 hours notice you loose all your money, not just deposit.

Room Tip: Light sleeper - not for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abbeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

My husband and I walked the Ayrshire Coastal Path in February and needed somewhere to stay near Lendalfoot. We found the Woodland Hotel on the 'net and booked a room online. After a pleasant walk along the beach from Ballantrae we clambered up off the beach at the appropriate point to find a modern complex of buildings; a pleasant surprise. Alan gave us a warm welcome and showed us to our accommodation. Our room was on the first floor overlooking an internal courtyard. The room was large and comfortable with modern furnishings. The ensuite shower room was modern and well fitted out too. We ate a wonderful meal at the restaurant just a short walk across the yard from our room. The onsite farm shop provides the majority of the ingredients and I must say everything was delicious. We slept well and enjoyed a cooked breakfast before heading off for our next leg of the journey. All in all it was a great experience and, as walkers, it was fantastic to find somewhere with good accommodation and food all in the one place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandA1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Girvan
2.0 mi away
Southfield Hotel
Southfield Hotel
#2 of 5 in Girvan
119 reviews
20.0 mi away
Western House Hotel
6.7 mi away
Malin Court Hotel
Malin Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Turnberry
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
856 reviews
10.2 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
274 reviews
23.5 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodland Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Bay Hotel

Property: Woodland Bay Hotel
Address: Woodland Farm, Girvan KA26 0HP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Girvan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Girvan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodland Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine being lulled to sleep by gentle waves and exploring rock pools in the bay. Far enough from the city for complete relaxation, yet near enough for easy access to all major transport. We are a people friendly, dog friendly and horse friendly hotel. Everywhere at Woodland is wheelchair accessible with a range of helpful facilities, including accessible bathrooms and walk-in showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Woodland Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodland Bay Hotel Girvan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing