We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a beautifull location wonderfull food a must for celebration it made you feel important”
Review of Glenapp Castle

Glenapp Castle
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Ballantrae
Price range: $0 - $412
Cuisines: European, British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
1 review
“a beautifull location wonderfull food a must for celebration it made you feel important”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

A beautiful day, and a delicious lunch in lovely surroundings. Staff welcoming and informative. The chef has to be complimented on his Risotto,beef,trout, and a dessert to die for! We will return with pleasure.

M@M Sutherland 23.06.145

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank H.M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    12
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing.”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I can't describe it, you just have to experience Glenapp yourself. One of the most amazing nights. Without a doubt the best meal I have ever had.

We had drinks in the library, played board games, ate, unfortunately we were unable to stay, but I will definitely be staying the next time I visit!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JALBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire.uk
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“dreadful lunch”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I had hoped that our lunch at Glenapp Casle would be memorable. It was for all the wrong reasons. The food was unappetising and unappealing,There were only two choices.The courses practically indistinguishable,and the dessert little more than a small ice-cream with two pieces of ? pineapple and a sliver of chocolate. We chose not to wait for coffee.
We have in Ayrshire very many establishments, hotels and restaurants serving first class meals.This was not one of them.
I would not recommend this hotel.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ann s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMcMillanFamily, Owner at Glenapp Castle, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
We are always very grateful for all of the wonderful reviews of Glenapp, and we of course accept that we cannot please every customer. In this case, however, we feel we have to come to the defence of our fantastic kitchen team. Just last month, our brilliant new Head Chef Matt Worswick, and his three incredibly hard working colleagues, Tom, Tyron and Josh, not only retained our Michelin Star, but also achieved a three rosette AA rating. This was a really incredible feat for a team who only came together in April, and this review is just not fair on them at all.

The lady who wrote it was given a voucher for lunch by relations, and to be honest it was clear from the outset that she and at least one other guest in her party, were really not comfortable with our style of food - they just didn’t enjoy it. We are sorry about that of course, but it needs to be said in response to the review, that the lunch and the service the ladies received was absolutely to our usual standard - a standard that most of our guests, as well as Michelin and the AA, consider to be very high.

Our staff did their very best to meet the ladies requirements – for example they requested a large bowl of chips, while eating their main courses. The menu from that day is shown below. There are, as always, two choices at each course. This is explained when booking. We have served all of these dishes to our guests before and we are happy that they are all very enjoyable, very much to our standard, and very distinguishable from one another.

LUNCH MENU

Saturday 12th October 2013


Fillet of Red Mullet with Squid Ink Quinoa and Roasted Baby Squid
Or
Crisp Pork Jowl with Haricot Bean Cassoulet and Chorizo

Roast Loin of Venison with Heritage Carrot, Braised Leek Heart and Roast Orange
Or
Roast Loin of Monkfish with Braised Puy Lentils, Confit Monkfish Cheek and Red Wine Jus

Choose from a Selection of Scottish Cheeses with Walnut Bread, Wholemeal Crackers and Scottish Oatcakes (Supplement of £8.00 per person for Cheese and Dessert)

Poached Pineapple with Coconut Ice Cream and Spiced Bread

Freshly Ground El Salvador Bourbon Filter Coffee with Petits Fours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Some good, some disappointing”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The restaurant is a lovely room in the castle, with views out to the sea. There is no choice in courses except for the main, where the choice was grouse or brisket. Grouse is an extremely strong tasting bird, which I think you would either love or hate, and everyone in our party was in the latter category - I'd be surprised if this is unusual.
The first course was Ettrick smoked salmon, which was lovely, probably my favourite of all the things we ate. Cod came next, which was unmemorable, then pork jowl with chorizo which was memorable for all the wrong reasons! There seemed to be a lottery on whether you got meat or just fat on your plate, if you got the meat, it was nice, otherwise, not. The beef was lovely, slow cooked brisket in a rich dark sauce, with a piece of fillet to add value. I was then too full to have dessert or cheese, both of which were well enjoyed by those who managed to find a space.
Wine recommendations from the waiter were very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diecysiete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Have had a few dinners and lunches at Glennapp and have never been disappointed absolutely
Outstanding food and service may not be the cheapest but worth every penny food flavours and balance are fantastic wine menu excellent hotel itself fantastic as are the grounds the Glennapp is up there amongst the best in the country.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenapp Castle also viewed

Turnberry, South Ayrshire
 
Turnberry, South Ayrshire
 
Girvan, South Ayrshire
Stranraer, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Glenapp Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing