We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular atmosphere, service and meals, best in Scotland”
Review of Glenapp Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glenapp Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballantrae
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2006

One word comes to mind when I think of my stay at Glenapp: flawless.

I’m fortunate to travel within the UK many times a year and I enjoy staying at 4 or 5 star country house hotels while visiting. Glenapp is billed as a 5 star, in my opinion it’s a 10 (and I am picky!).

Fay and Graham Cowan have impeccable taste; they are most obviously well suited to own a luxury house hotel since there is nothing, and I mean no little detail, that they haven’t considered and tailored to make their guest’s stay as decadent and luxurious as possible.

When you arrive at the gated entrance, each guest must ring the intercom and ask for the gate to be opened. Of course, the attendant immediately informs you that they have been expecting you (a nice welcome). Your drive up toward the castle is perhaps a half-mile all of which is through part of Gleanapp’s perfectly manicured garden. Upon arrival, several members of the staff, including Mr. Cowan, are waiting to help with the bags and greet you. I made small talk with Graham Cowan, who is nothing short of very welcoming.

We stayed in the Earl of Orkney master bedroom ($900 USD/night and worth every penny), which is beautifully designed and spacious. Mr. Cowan explained everything about the room when we entered and showed us how to turn on the fireplace. Immediately, we were asked if we would like a drink as we settled in and our drinks arrived within minutes. The room is extremely spacious, with a large walk-in closet, sitting area, desk, windows overlooking the garden and sea, and perhaps the most comfortable bed in the entire United Kingdom. The sheets are of high thread count. An armoired television has all the usual channels. The bathroom (and rest of the room) is immaculate. The shower is powerful and not the usual trickle that is often found in hotels; there was plenty of hot water. The white towels are fluffy, large and soft, arranged (of course) perfectly on the hot towel rack. The castle does have internet access; a t-mobile account is necessary for access. Water, sparkling and still, is provided in the room as well as robes and slippers. The maid service was incredible, possibly psychic, everytime we left the room we came back to find it straightend and made up.

Dinner, breakfast and, in fact, all meals are included in the rate. Some hotels that do this will skimp on their meals but Glenapp does just the opposite by providing an excellent dinner. Dinner starts in the sitting room, with canapés (very good!) and a drink from the extensive menu. Graham Cowan, who is exceptionally charming, spoke with all of the guests that evening. I was impressed at how exceedingly natural and sincere he is. He and Mrs. Cowan are well traveled and I could have guessed this by the way they run their business. When the time comes, you are lead into the dining room where the food is incredible, but unpretentious, and the service is perfect and attentive (if you are lucky the brunette with a ponytail will be your attendant, the Cowan’s are very lucky to have her). I had called a few hours earlier to tell them that I had a shellfish allergy and mindfully they served substitute dishes for me. On the first night we had duck, one of my favorites, and Glenapp’s chef is a genius. The cheese course is of note and the wine list is well done (though perhaps including a few more Californian wines would be appreciated).

One thing I noticed that others might have not is that whenever a guest gets up from the couch or an armchair, an attendant will plump the pillow. In most hotels this would be done in front of the guests as a means to impress but at Glenapp they did it after the guest had left the room and not in the view of the other guests (I could see into the empty sitting room from the dining room). I was, by this and other gestures, impressed by the staff’s efforts to provide effortless, seamless and unobtrusive service. This service extended into the dining room, where every need is immediately taken care of.

Breakfast is excellent and my custom order was gladly accommodated. Fay Cowan was at breakfast, greeting and speaking with each table, and she is as charming as her husband. Glenapp allows a full breakfast to be served in your room until (I think) 10 AM and a continental breakfast to be served until 11 AM. I remembered this because it is such a nice touch; I didn’t take advantage of it but appreciate it none the less since I usually sleep in.

On our second afternoon we toured the garden. I highly recommend this; the gardeners have done an excellent job and there are great photo opportunities from the lower gardens.

All in all, this is the best country house hotel I have stayed at in the UK. I’m not sure what to be impressed with most: the beautiful bedrooms and public rooms, the superb meals or the utter lack of unpretentiousness by which this is all presented.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 309 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2006

My family and I spent three nights at this wonderful hotel in the south-west corner of Scotland. One cannot help but be thoruoughly impressed by the approach to the hotel...a truly baronial facade! The welcome we received was warm and heart-felt. We were travelling with our very young daughter and the owner of the hotel did her best to make us all feel welcome and comfortable. In fact, after our first dinner in the hotel, we asked if we could have our dinners earlier and in the less formal (but still beautiful) breakfast room with our daughter. The owners/staff were more than willing to accomodate us.
The public rooms are lavishly decorated, with fine pieces of furniture, fabircs, art, etc. The views from the public rooms stretch out over forest to the ocean in the distance.
The guestrooms rooms were spacious and had a genuine old world luxurious feel to them with clawfoot baths, heated towel racks, lots of "antiques" (older furniture?)..like visiting your great-aunt's country home she's lived in for 50 years. I do wish the same lavish and fine antique feel found in the public rooms was carried into the guestrooms.
The food, albeit a bit too fussy for us, was delicious and totally fresh. The soups were incredible...what profound stocks!
The grounds were a joy to take in and stroll through...plenty of gardens, orangeries, ponds, views, etc.
Croquet is not to be missed!
Overall, this is a wonderful hotel with a serious and dedicated staff.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ricardoanddinah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2006

I agree with previous reviews. This hotel is spectacular. The grounds are stunning and the castle has been renovated to the highest standards. What impressed was the attention to detail. The room was beautiful: luxurious and comfortable.

The food and the service was also excellent. Yes it is expensive, but if you want a luxurious break where you will be well looked after then a stay at Glenapp is thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JulieAnneD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2006

This is an outstanding hotel that has been gracefully renovated, it offers fabulous accomodations, outstanding food and luxurious decor. We stayed in August for our anniversary and the experience was to die for. Although rather expensive, if you want to treat someone to the experience of a lifetime, choose Glenapp, I'm glad I did.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andymac60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Great Leighs, UK
118
Reviewed February 6, 2005

We got married at Glenapp Castle in December 2004 and we and our guests agree that it is the most magical place we have ever stayed. The owners, Graham and Fay, went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our stay and that the day went smoothly. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff - they were almost invisible, yet highly attentive and professional at all times. We had one accident on the day - mulled wine was spilled down the front of my niece's ivory bridesmaid dress. Before we knew what was happening, Fay had whisked her away, only to return her for photos ten minutes later with the mulled wine almost completely gone!

The driveway to the castle is spectacular and as you come round the corner to where the castle is, the view takes your breath away. Glenapp isn't cheap, but I would say it is worth every penny! We will definitely be back again, the only unfortunate thing is that they are closed on our anniversary and only open to private parties, so we are going to have to arrange to have a second anniversary date so we can use this as an excuse to return.

Perfect!

18  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die Mastersuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teekessel46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank melanche74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 20, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballantrae
8.7 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
12.5 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
381 reviews
17.4 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Woodland Bay Hotel
Woodland Bay Hotel
#1 of 5 in Girvan
470 reviews
17.5 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
547 reviews
12.5 mi away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stranraer
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenapp Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenapp Castle

Address: Ballantrae KA26 0NZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ballantrae
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballantrae
Price Range: $308 - $502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Glenapp Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Scots Baronial castle set in 36 acres of stunning gardens and woodland overlooking the Ayrshire coastline and out to Ailsa Craig, the Isle of Arran and Mull of Kintyre. The castle is Scotland's highest rated Country House Hotel with 5 AA Red Stars and 4 AA Rosettes, 5 VisitScotland Gold Stars, EatScotland Gold Award and a Michelin Star. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glenapp Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenapp Castle Ballantrae, Scotland
Glenapp Castle Hotel Ballantrae

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing