We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Glenapp Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glenapp Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballantrae
Certificate of Excellence
Lochwinnoch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Having received a family present for afternoon tea at Glenapp Castle we chose to use this as part of our 39th anniversary celebration. A breathtaking experience. Cannot speak too highly of the castle, the location and the friendly helpful staff. Has to be one of Scotland's gems.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalidonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    24
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
44
186
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

A birthday dinner that just excelled all expectations. My husband, son and I went to this beautiful place to celebrate a 'big' birthday. The welcome was warm and personal, the staff made us feel at home. The food, well this is the best meal I have ever eaten, especially the variety of cheese. I cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wandering_Scot5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2014

On the whole it was a delightful experience . Clean , attention to detail and the food FANTASTIC. The down side was there are not log fires in the rooms , no bar and lacking atmosphere as no cosy room to sit and chat as always felt you are disturbing other guest who wish to read. A little music in the back ground would conquer this I feel. The hosts and staff were the best I have ever met and if I win the lottery I certainly would visit again. Thank you

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
481 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I doubt there are many people left in the world who actually live like this but a stay at Glenapp Castle gives you some feeling about what it must be like. They know you are arriving as you have to press a call system at the gate and after a wonderfully long drive through the trees you find yourselves going through the gates of your castle. We were welcomed, bags taken, car parked, into the entrance hall, there is no reception, well homes don't do they! We were given a quick guided tour to show the lounge and the two dining rooms, library then to our room which was magnificent. I thought we had entered another lounge as there was a three piece suite in front of the glowing fire, as well as other tables and chairs around the room, and a very large bed which I had missed for a couple of seconds. It was called The Earl of Orkney and is easily the biggest room I have ever stayed in. It was lovely just sitting, reading, talking and listening to music.

Having said that as soon as we arrived we unpacked and headed for the lounge and had a nice pot of tea. We enjoyed it so much we did the same the next day as soon as we got back from our day out. Each day we were asked if we wanted a fresh pot which is very good as tea can quickly over brew and get bitter.

We had dinner both nights, a wonderful set menu with a choice of main. It was all very well cooked and presented and deserves it AA Rosettes. A good offering of game, also very much in keeping with the place. The service is spot on, just like a country castle should be, friendly and proper, faultless!

This is a gem. I really felt that it was more like a home and I was having two days as Lord of the manor. If you in the area don't miss it. I flew up from Surrey just to go there for a long weekend, it was a great choice and well worth it.

Room Tip: Earl of Orkney is a ground floor room and is huge. I am sure the higher rooms have better views but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We have recently returned from approx our 10th visit to this welcoming and splendid castle 'retreat'. After the whole eating experience here, everywhere else will disappoint. We are so lucky to have this only one hour away from our home in Whithorn.The service, friendliness, helpfulness of all the staff is consistently exceptional. It was decorated exquisitely for Xmas on this occasion. And the food, as ever, unique flavours wonderfully presented...all the many courses..quality, not quantity so that you never feel out phased...designed to perfection. This is cooking you cannot do at home!
Although attentive the staff are not formal and there is a feeling of being in ones own home as you wander along the corridors from the huge elegant drawing room overlooking the sea or settle into the sumptuous seating of the more intimate library. Any moment it feels as though Max De Winter will walk through the door!
Never crowded with guests, there is a tranquil relaxing serenity inside and in the spacious grounds so that you leave refreshed, and so looking forward to the next visit.
Have just found that gift vouchers are available on their web site and Sunday lunch is only £35 per head! That's next Xmas sorted!
My only grumble is - they are not open in Jan and Feb, which in this area is just when we feel the need for a fine dining Winter escape break.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank satellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We were warmly welcomed by several staff waiting for us at the main entrance. There is no reception area, which we found a little inconvenient. On either side of the hallway, as you enter, the doors are open to reveal a washbasin. While I appreciate that the castle is used by hunting parties, etc., and washrooms right by the entrance are convenient, it's somehow not the first thing you expect to see in a Scottish Baronial castle. We stayed in a Master Room, the Earl of Inchcape: very large, with wonderful views on three sides. The gardens and parkland looked lovely, but we didn't have a chance to explore.

The bathroom was less than satisfactory. It's very large, but with a very small shower, and one pedestal washbasin and nowhere to put toilet bags, etc.

Dinner was six courses, but the only choice was the main course (with two options).

Overall, we were disappointed. The staff were extremely welcoming and hospitable but somehow the little extra was missing. And, as with many hotels in Britain, trying to connect to the Internet was frustrating in the extreme.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My wife and I have just spent a great weekend at Glenapp on a star gazing event.
From the moment we arrived we were greeted at the main door and its clear that the service levels are going to be good, and they don't disappoint throughout the entire visit. The setting is perfect, the bedrooms are good, the public areas great and the food fantastic.
This may be a little expensive but it is fantastic value and I would recommend the hotel to all

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ipks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballantrae
17.4 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
331 reviews
10.2 mi away
Woodland Bay Hotel
Woodland Bay Hotel
#1 of 5 in Girvan
460 reviews
17.5 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Malin Court Hotel
Malin Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Turnberry
133 reviews
12.2 mi away
Southfield Hotel
Southfield Hotel
#2 of 5 in Girvan
128 reviews
17.5 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenapp Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenapp Castle

Property: Glenapp Castle
Address: Ballantrae KA26 0NZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ballantrae
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballantrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Glenapp Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Scots Baronial castle set in 36 acres of stunning gardens and woodland overlooking the Ayrshire coastline and out to Ailsa Craig, the Isle of Arran and Mull of Kintyre. The castle is Scotland's highest rated Country House Hotel with 5 AA Red Stars and 4 AA Rosettes, 5 VisitScotland Gold Stars, EatScotland Gold Award and a Michelin Star. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Glenapp Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenapp Castle Ballantrae, Scotland
Glenapp Castle Hotel Ballantrae

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing