We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clumsy reception, but terrific stay and food”
Review of Glenapp Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glenapp Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballantrae
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013

When we arrived, the reception was somewhat clumsy. Partly our own cause, because we followed a supplier entering the grounds, arriving unexpected for the staff. Improvisation was not easy for them at that moment. We were showed to our rooms and there was a brief explanation about things to do, high tea and diner, but in a way that didn't make us feel very comfortable and welcome. Ordering tea in the garden was an other thing that made the staff pretty nervous. But finally it al came right. We had a wonderfull tea in the garden, went to the Pebbles Spa later that afternoon and they arranged us a horse ride the next day. It cost them a lot of effort, but they didn't give up. Super. And diner was supurb! Some very fine courses, personalized to our own wishes, including these of our teenage doughters. All in a very relaxed though stilish atmosphere, brought us a very noce evening. Of course the rooms were great. I would certainly recommend the family room on the ground floor to any family. It's huge and terrific. It all costs a bit, but it's all worth it.

Room Tip: For a family of four the ground floor family room is terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 308 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed here for a 3 night break in early July and had the castle almost to ourselves. Even amongst other Relais and Chateaux properties this one stands out. As soon as you drive through the gates you enter a truly special place. The service we received throughout was faultless. Every member of staff made you feel as if they were there just for you. We stayed in the Earl of Orkney suite which is enormous. It has marvelous views through huge windows on 3 sides, 2 really comfortable sitting areas, a giant bed to sink into and its own private turret door to the gardens. This suite reminded me of ones you view in stately homes, when you are penned behind the ropes looking in at a life others live/d - here we were, the other side of the ropes. it felt like we were royalty! Room service tea arrived every morning at exactly the time requested. Breakfast in one of the two dining rooms, both with lovely views of the grounds, was excellent. By the time we had finished breakfast our room had been serviced and prepared for the day; the same happened each evening. It is easy to spend a lot of time wandering through the extensive grounds, so peaceful. Pre-dinner drinks/ canapes can be enjoyed in the lounge before a first class evening meal. Good choice of wines. I just wish this hotel was nearer to where I live because then I could retreat here for a few days at regular intervals. I will stay here whenever I get the opportunity!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights prior to going to Glasgow. We were in the Ailsa Craig Room.

This is proper 5 star treatment. Yes it's expensive BUT the food is fantastic; the wine list is pretty good; the service is first class (for example we were met after a long walk in the rain by staff ready to take muddy boots and wet coats away to dry them and to give us hot drinks etc).

Sometimes places are expensive and they don't really do much but this place really delivers.

If I can afford it then I will go back one day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bowth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was my first visit to the hotel and hopefully not my last. I've been aware of the hotels reputation for fine dining for a while so was eager to try it out. In one word amazing. The combination of fine ingredients, superb cooking in a charming environment was in abundance. With speaking with the staff who informed me the chef has only been there since the beginning of the year was hard to believe, the confidence and maturity in the dishes was a pure delight to experience.

The grounds and hotel are beautiful and it's clear the owners passion for it shows throughout. The staff also make you feel so welcome a true home from home experience

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lancfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had two nights at Glenapp on the recommendation of a friend . Very attractive setting and nice large rooms .
We had dinner in the Michelin star restaurant ( no prices on Menu for dinner ) . Dinner was pleasant but certainly not outstanding. Staff helpful ,breakfast pleasant .
Everything was extra.Free overnight shoe cleaning that did not happen,Tea delivered to the rooms extra charge , After dinner drinks twice the price of the Hotel Du Vin in Glasgow.
We had a French waiter straight out of Tv comedy show which was most amusing
A lot of show but no substance .
Disappointing to say the least

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We've been going to Glenapp Castle for 7 years. We've stayed as a
couple, as part of a large group and we stay regularly as a family.
Our experience is always the same. Faultless.

I'm not going to write a long review here because it doesn't need it.
In fact, this is the first review I've ever written for
anywhere.....and I'm pretty well travelled.

Glenapp Castle is a magical escapism. The accommodation is classic and
spotless. The service and attention to detail is beyond exceptional.
The food is outstanding. Over the years, I have never become bored
with staying here. Every visit is different. Each meal is incredible.
Each stay becomes more special than the last.

Individual needs are catered for. This is truly an individual 5 star
retreat. I use the word retreat. It's another world as soon as you
disappear behind the gates. It's not a "resort". If you want a flashy
big resort style 5 star hotel....this isn't for you. This is 5 star indulgence for
those who prefer quality over quantity.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I arranged a night here for my husband's 40th Birthday and I cannot rate this whole experience highly enough. I am a fussy traveller and expect high standards so for Glenapp to impress is no small undertaking! Everything was perfect from the moment we arrived. The entrance is signposted but very minimal so as to keep a private, secluded feel. The drive to the castle is impressive and you are spoilt from the moment you step out of your car. We were shown to our suite with a private turret for entrance/exit. The bathroom was an incredible size with a claw foot bath (a personal favourite) and the most luxurious Penhaligon toiletries. We had a birthday cake delivered to the suite and the 2 members of staff sang happy birthday to my husband!
We went down to dinner at the time arranged and found a birthday card from Mr and Mrs Cowan (owners of this beautiful retreat) on our table. The food was out of this world; tied with the staff's knowledge of food and wine it was a pure delight! The chef even piped a happy 40th message on my husband's plate.
Every little touch made this break wonderful. The staff are amazing, housekeeping are incredibly fast at tidying up, closing the numerous curtains etc. This is well worth every penny and we will most definitely be returning at some point! Many thanks to all involved in making our break so special!

Room Tip: The Earl of Inchcape suite is a must as it has panoramic views of the magnificent gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballantrae
8.7 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
12.5 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
380 reviews
17.4 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Woodland Bay Hotel
Woodland Bay Hotel
#1 of 5 in Girvan
470 reviews
17.5 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
546 reviews
17.1 mi away
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenapp Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenapp Castle

Address: Ballantrae KA26 0NZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ballantrae
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballantrae
Price Range: $310 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Glenapp Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Scots Baronial castle set in 36 acres of stunning gardens and woodland overlooking the Ayrshire coastline and out to Ailsa Craig, the Isle of Arran and Mull of Kintyre. The castle is Scotland's highest rated Country House Hotel with 5 AA Red Stars and 4 AA Rosettes, 5 VisitScotland Gold Stars, EatScotland Gold Award and a Michelin Star. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Glenapp Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenapp Castle Ballantrae, Scotland
Glenapp Castle Hotel Ballantrae

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing