We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and would highly reccomend it”
Review of Balkissock Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balkissock Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Ballantrae B&B and Inns
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“We loved it and would highly reccomend it”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

This is a gem of a place. It is out in the country with beautiful views wonderful wild life (including woodpecker and red squirrel). Howard and Cordelia who run it are so friendly and accomodating its like staying with friends. Our room and en-suite were superb -breakfast fantastic with lots of home made jams and marmalades and all served in a beautiful conservatory where you can see the wild-life. It is the most beautiful area of Scotland with so much to see and do so we will definetely be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirsteen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We had such a warm reception from Cordelia and Howard with afternoon tea served immediately upon arrival. Such beautiful and cosy accommodation, we felt instantly relaxed. We had both breakfast and our evening meals at the lodge which were delicious and of a very high standard.
The lodge is perfectly situated to explore the stunning coastline of South West Scotland. We would highly recommend and would visit again. Only one negative, we should've booked to stay longer!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vickyjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2011

The hospitality was perfect, the house was perfect, the room was perfect.
Brilliant!
brilliant!
brilliant!

Room Tip: All rooms have a perfect view. the grounds are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisandsharon1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We received a great welcome from Howard and Cordelia to their spacious comfortable home in peaceful surroundings through beautiful countryside some distance away from Ballantrae.
The bedroom and bathroom was equipped to a very high standard.
The delicious evening meal was carefully planned to our requirements in advance of our arrival. We enjoyed a very entertaining time with the other guests.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smithskent32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Second visit and still as peaceful and tranquil as i rembered, hosts,rooms and food superb, most relaxing few days i have every had,will not hesitate a third visit. Scenery just the best.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynneda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Just returned from a fantastic four days of complete relaxation, in the middle of nowhere. Wildlife was roaming freely in the garden, you were able to watch from the dining room as you ate your breakfast, which was very capably cooked by Howard. The bedroom was very comfortable and well laid out, the shower was amazing. Howard was the font of all knowledge on where to go and what to see, even giving advice on eating places. Can't wait for return visit.
Ronald and Elizabeth - St. Annes.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank idontbelieveit54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Excellent food, lovely surroundings and a lovely welcome from Cordelia and Howard. They were so friendly. The area is lovely - would highly recommend for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YogaAnn44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballantrae
8.5 mi away
Woodland Bay Hotel
Woodland Bay Hotel
#1 of 5 in Girvan
460 reviews
3.3 mi away
Auld Creamery House
Auld Creamery House
#2 of 7 in Girvan
28 reviews
2.8 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Cosses Country House
Cosses Country House
#3 of 5 in Ballantrae
35 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Balkissock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balkissock Lodge

Property: Balkissock Lodge
Address: Balkissock Lodge Balkissock | Girvan, Ballantrae KA26 0LP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ballantrae
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ballantrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a peaceful and relaxing base for your holiday in South West Scotland, Balkissock Lodge B&B, set in an acre of gardens and woodlands, will provide you with a comfortable break with a touch of luxury at an affordable price. Breakfast includes locally sourced produce for your 'full Scottish', or light alternative should you prefer, complimented with a range of home-made preserves and lemon curd on home-baked bread. We have a twin en-suite and a double en-suite, both located on the ground floor, free wifi, on-site parking, TVs with Freesat and a guest lounge in which to relax after a long day of travelling or sightseeing. A countryside location, 3 miles from Ballantrae and 25 minutes from the ferry ports of Stena Line and P&O at Cairnryan near Stranraer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Balkissock Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balkissock Lodge Ballantrae, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing