We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss if you enjoy seafood”

MacCallum's Oyster Bar
Ranked #7 of 47 Restaurants in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Seafood restaurant overlooking Troon Harbour specialising in locally sourced produce.
Berkshire
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Don't miss if you enjoy seafood”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Does exactly what it says on the sign - it's a seafood restaurant, and it does deliver really well if somewhat expensively. No obvious clientele age group, with the complete spectrum present on both our visits, but be aware that booking is recommended as it is quite small (but unlike other establishments in Troon, they won't demand their table back after 90 minutes). Service is attentive and the food is really delicious ; well prepared and presented. Wine not cheap though, which is a shame. Overall, a really pleasant seafood dining experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    71
    20
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Local Fish Restaurant”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Far too expensive for what it is. Right next to a fish market (their own?) I cannot believe the prices they charge for the fish they serve, which is good but come on - how much does it cost to cook a plate of one's favourite fish???

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank UKTraveller1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beith, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best in the West”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Best food,presentation and service we have experienced for a very long long time.
.Takes me back to the days of old Malmaison.and 1-0-1 Restaurants in Glasgow

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldfartfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Top quality fish and chips”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

On a very wet Sunday we stopped off to buy some fish and chips for lunch from the Wee Hurrie next door but it was very busy and all stools were taken so we decided to treat ourselves in the restaurant next door. I stuck with my choice of battered haddock and chips which was absolutely delicious - large slice of beautifully-cooked fish and 'proper' chips. My husband had a generous bowl of steaming mussels cooked in an Indian Masala sauce . Front of house service was excellent and apologised for the 30+ minutes we had to wait for our food to be delivered from the kitchen. The wait was worth it - good fresh fish well cooked and washed down with a glass of chilled Viognier, all well worth the money!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnes D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Top class oysters”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The oysters at lunch were excellent - plump, fresh and beautifuuly prepared and presented. The rest of the seafood also could not be faulted, but the house sauvignon blanc was disappointing.
Not cheap, but nowhere else in the vicinity serving food of this quality offers any better value.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wdcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MacCallum's Oyster Bar also viewed

Troon, South Ayrshire
 
Troon, South Ayrshire
 
Ayr, South Ayrshire
Troon, South Ayrshire
 

Been to MacCallum's Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing