We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lochgreen House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Found this hotel quite by chance and had a wonderful evening there - relaxing and luxurious. A delicious meal with lots of lovely touches, a charming room with a sea view and a bath room to die for!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelly032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

535 - 541 of 564 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2010

While on holiday in April we were recommended Loch Green Hotel by a local shop keeper in Troon so we decided to have a look. We thought it looked lovely with beautiful grounds. We expressed an interest in a short stay and were shown a beautiful room. Although it was rather expensive we thought the room looked lovely so when we returned home we booked online as we had been advised the room we would be allocated would be of the same standard. Well! on arrival there was a wedding taking place in the hotel. We were given our room name/number. On entering the room it was nice but one window looked into a wall the other two looked over the kitchen roof!! To top it all the room was vibrating with a loud "generator" noise. My partner went to complain and we were then moved to the only other vacant room in the hotel which was a room for a disabled person. This room was spacious however, the shower was disappointing spraying water all over the place. With this being a wet shower for disabled access the underside of the grill in which you stand was filthy. We left this standing up in the hope that it would be cleaned, unfortunately it was just placed back down again. There was no facility for hanging your towel next to the shower, we also had to ask for toilet rolls! The room wasn't what we expected. The evening meal in the restuarant was delicious and the service excellent, the staff were very attentive. However, the breakfast was a let down. The second evening the disabled alarm in the room next to us went off about midnight, we had to call reception as no one seemed to be coming to see if assistance was required. This went on for sometime as they seemed unable to get this reset. We would highly recommend the Spa it was a superb experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janeen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Dinner was excellent. Husband in heaven in the Malt Room! Breakfast rather thin on choice. Had to ask for cutlery and sideplates. Brilliant scale of ground floor room somewhat marred by persistent unpleasant smell (from drains?). However, we were more than impressed by the high level of courtesy shown by all staff we encountered.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dibbity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2010

Stayed here for two nights on a dinner bed and breakfast deal. The rooms are very good, very large and comfortable. Service was efficient and friendly and the food was of a high quality. Had a good time.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairebear0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2009

Attended a wedding. This is a first class wedding venue, courteous staff from start to finish with good friendly service, well trained. Food quality very high especially catering for large numbers, impressive. Bar prices steep. Would certainly look forward to another wedding at this venue, December or summer, the location and setting is also a treat.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

We stayed here recently for one night; it was a very good experience. On arrival, the staff were friendly and courteous; the room was superb and the dinner was excellent. At the margin, the service at breakfast was a bit poorer, e.g. we were not offered toast.

However, this is a beautiful, well run hotel. We would definitely like to stay at Lochgreen House again, for longer!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LRMacKenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

Lochgreen is one of those big old hotels that's always full, but unless there's a wedding, it tends to be with older people. That's not a problem, just the type of place it is.
We had room 6 for a night, as we were staying near a wedding. It was large, comfortable, but the decor was old fashioned. Wood panelling, canopies over the bed, corby trouser press etc. But nice.
Breakfast was reasonably good, what you would hope for but no better.
All in all, comfortable, functional but at £195 for a night, too dear

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PITN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.7 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,137 reviews
1.5 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ayr
916 reviews
4.5 mi away
Western House Hotel
6.2 mi away
Enterkine House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochgreen House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochgreen House Hotel

Address: Monktonhill Road | Southwood, Troon KA10 7EN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Price Range: $289 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lochgreen House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly beautiful location for a relaxing break, a quiet romantic weekend away, a special celebration or a business meeting, Lochgreen House offers 38 bedrooms all en-suite with deluxe bathrooms, many have views over the gardens and woodlands, others over Royal Troon Golf Course to the island of Arran on the lovely Ayrshire coast. The original bedrooms of the house are decorated with beautiful traditional furnishings and fabrics to reflect the character of the house in every way and create a tranquil, relaxing environment. With every modern convenience for the expectations of the modern guest the rooms and bathrooms are of the highest 4 Red Star standards of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lochgreen House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochgreen Hotel Troon
Lochgreen House Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing