We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lochgreen House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lochgreen House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
glasgow
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2010

Stayed here for two nights on a dinner bed and breakfast deal. The rooms are very good, very large and comfortable. Service was efficient and friendly and the food was of a high quality. Had a good time.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clairebear0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    84
    36
    20
    11
See reviews for
102
202
8
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2009

Attended a wedding. This is a first class wedding venue, courteous staff from start to finish with good friendly service, well trained. Food quality very high especially catering for large numbers, impressive. Bar prices steep. Would certainly look forward to another wedding at this venue, December or summer, the location and setting is also a treat.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2009

We stayed here recently for one night; it was a very good experience. On arrival, the staff were friendly and courteous; the room was superb and the dinner was excellent. At the margin, the service at breakfast was a bit poorer, e.g. we were not offered toast.

However, this is a beautiful, well run hotel. We would definitely like to stay at Lochgreen House again, for longer!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LRMacKenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2009

Lochgreen is one of those big old hotels that's always full, but unless there's a wedding, it tends to be with older people. That's not a problem, just the type of place it is.
We had room 6 for a night, as we were staying near a wedding. It was large, comfortable, but the decor was old fashioned. Wood panelling, canopies over the bed, corby trouser press etc. But nice.
Breakfast was reasonably good, what you would hope for but no better.
All in all, comfortable, functional but at £195 for a night, too dear

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PITN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

Stayed as guests at a wedding reception being held in the hotel.

Excellent, very comfortable, huge room with very spacious bathroom with bath on legs & shower. Room had everything you need & more. Only comment on room would be that ours was on ground floor near the function room for wedding reception (like a lot of others) & you could here every note of the band when in the room. OK for us because we were at the reception but would have been a problem if you weren't. Maybe they prioritise these rooms to wedding guests which is OK??

Staff very efficient to guests & throughout wedding reception.

Reception dinner nice. Cooked breakfast to order & very nice although a disappointment for me was that they only had smoked bacon - & I don't like smoked bacon as it makes me ill. Also choice at cold breakfast buffet pretty limited for such a nice hotel.

Nice building in lovely gardens with large car park on edge of Troon.

Overall excellent place but should be at £150 for 1 night B&B (wedding group rate apparently). Normal price believed to be £190.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RealTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

We stayed here for one night for my brothers wedding over the bank holiday.

There was a wedding on the saturday night which meant that we couldnt check in until the Sunday, although the hotel has a wedding co-ordinator who books ceremonies for 2pm a lot of our family could not check into rooms until 1 or after.... the hotel has a check in time of 2pm normally hence the issue. As such it was lucky that a lot of the guests had stayed over at other hotels the previous night and had gotton "ready" for the wedding apart from a quick change.

The hotel itself is gorgeous, the rooms are huge and the bathrooms luxurious. The food was amazing for the meal, buffet and breakfast and service in the restaurant and bar could not be faulted.

The only improvement I would suggest is the attitude of the receptionists, both were unfriendly and not particularly helpful, they didnt have a room for the groom until 12pm on the day of the wedding and I didnt feel a sense of urgency from anyone to help us.

I would recommend it to anyone for their wedding it was lovely but make sure you work out logistics of the timings to avoid any stress on the day.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHurley16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
167 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2009

I try to be complimentary as much as possible to the various properties we stay at, but this one let me down.

We were very excited to be in Troon, as the first town on our Scotland swing of an extended 5 week 50th Anniversary vacation. I also like the reviews that I had read, and the fact that they were #1 rated hotel in Scotland. Wrong!

As everyone else has reported, the place is absolutely lovely. The rooms are gigantic, and the bathrooms even bigger. The bed, however, was a brick. I bounced down on it, and was met by the feeling of being on a plank. The pillow was also hard as a rock. The bathroom, while huge, had no place to hang or put anything, except on the floor. The shower head came loose from it's holder when I turned it on, and sprayed everything in the room.

Dinner was quite good, but again not great for the price (see separate review).

In the morning, while going to breakfast, I asked the front desk attendant for a newspaper (I think this is the lady referred to in others as being the Manager, which she wasn't). I was informed that I should have ordered one at check-in. I told her, no one asked me (she was the one who checked me in). Her reply, "oh dear!". That's it. Still no paper.

I think for $700 US, we could have had much better service, and was disappointed.

Finally, I couldn't get a cell signal for a wireless modem, and couldn't make their wireless work for my laptop, even with help from my IT staff. Another reason not to come back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grapdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.7 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
0.7 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Western House Hotel
1.1 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
5.0 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochgreen House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochgreen House Hotel

Property: Lochgreen House Hotel
Address: Monktonhill Road | Southwood, Troon KA10 7EN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Troon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Troon
#2 Family Hotel in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lochgreen House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly beautiful location for a relaxing break, a quiet romantic weekend away, a special celebration or a business meeting, Lochgreen House offers 38 bedrooms all en-suite with deluxe bathrooms, many have views over the gardens and woodlands, others over Royal Troon Golf Course to the island of Arran on the lovely Ayrshire coast. The original bedrooms of the house are decorated with beautiful traditional furnishings and fabrics to reflect the character of the house in every way and create a tranquil, relaxing environment. With every modern convenience for the expectations of the modern guest the rooms and bathrooms are of the highest 4 Red Star standards of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Lochgreen House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochgreen Hotel Troon
Lochgreen House Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing