We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lochgreen House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My wife arranged to take me to this lovely country house hotel for a birthday treat and we enjoyed one night with dinner and breakfast, occupying one of the lovely large rooms on the ground floor of the main hotel (new wing).
We checked in at 2.30 and decided to have coffee and a scone. Sadly the scones did not appear to be of that day's baking and the coffee was not the best. It was gritty and of poor taste.
Fortunately dinner was an entirely different affair and restored our faith in Lochgreen, a hotel we have been visitng regularly since 1992.
Canapés were served in the drawing room and we chose an excellent house champagne to accompany. The cheese canapés were even warm and exceedingly delicious.
For starters I chose scallops which were perfectly cooked and complemented by a perfectly balanced apple sauce. My wife's haddock veloute with poached egg was historic.
My main of fillet of beef was again perfect though sadly I ordered a glass of red wine and this did not arrive until my second last bite! My wife's red mullet with scallops was faultless.
Our desserts were beautifully presented and simply stunning. Coffee and petits fours in the lounge were a perfect ending and this time the coffee was excellent.
At £39.95 this must be the best value fine dining in Scotland?
We slept really well to the strains of a wonderful band in a marquee in which was being celebrated the Ayrshire hospice ball. Great atmosphere.
Breakfast has been improved at LGH and we enjoyed berries, fruit salad, smoked salmon, omelettes and delicious pastries and croissants.
We cannot wait to return to this gem and the well deserved crown of the Costley empire.
Unbeatable value for money, seamless service and great Cuisine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finisterre72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 544 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

Faultless service and venue for a wedding on 5th June . Attention to detail was excellent and the setting hard to beat . I would recommend this hotel highly for anyone looking for a wedding venue or just a relaxing few days away .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skeldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I was here with my family over the weekend for afternoon tea and cakes and it was beautiful, lovely building, we were greeted very well at the reception, the sandwiches and cakes were lovely, they even catered very well for my niece and made her some plain sandwiches. While there we noticed there was a wedding in the other room and the staff were running around after wedding guests, they looked like they were doing their best to deliver excellent efficient service.The grounds and gardens were beautiful and the building obviously very well kept. I would definately come back to the hotel for lunch or even maybe a weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam_mcGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Paid £25 per head for a 3 course meal. Which in theory is good value but i personally waited 10 minutes after everyone had the starter and had to ask for mine again which was fine maybe a easy mistake, then same again for my main which i then got handed a cold childrens meal which consisted of 1 small chicken breast and 2 potatoes that was obviously left sitting for the time i had been waiting, no apology either so overall very nice location and very well maintained but terrible food service. Also the waiting time between meals was atleast an hour so made my wait all the more disappointing sorry

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrredhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Although we have never stayed in the hotel (we live close by) this is without fear of contradiction the best hotel in the West of Scotland (friends say the rooms are luxurious). We use the restaurant a few times a year and the food is always fantastic with the chef throwing in an amuse bush free of charge and only looking for comments. The last time we ate at the restaurant the dish to try was a crab and mango salad, topped with caviar.

On arrival you are shown into a large sumptuous lounge where you have time for a drink whilst choosing your meal. During this time you also receive a selection of canapés which are explained to you in great detail.

After dinner you return to the lounge where you get tea/coffee and a selection of hand made chocolates.

The wine list is extensive, however you can find a nice bottle for approximately 20 quid. The staff (who are trained to the highest standard) are very polite, attentive and know their jobs.

The hotel is situated in a brilliant location with views overlooking the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran. Cost for three course, canapés, tea, chocolates etcetera is £40. Is it value for money? Yes, without doubt, being local we are so lucky we can go there on any occasion. If you only ever visit the West Coast of Scotland on one occasion this place is a MUST!! Finally, the gardens are really well maintained and despite my best efforts I have still to find a weed!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JOHN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Went here to stay for a wedding,it was wonderful. Helpful staff and a beautiful spot. It is very tranquil setting with lovely gardens. The hotel has its own little shop with some tempting items. The rooms are enormous and fantastic. Had the best sleep of our holiday due to black out curtains. I would love to one day be lucky enough to go back. Feel very lucky to have been once. It is somewhere special I won't forget. Didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: A back room will get a good view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahv81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

we had lunch here 18.95 for two courses 21.95 for three.A lovely restaurant-well laid out good table sizes for different parties.
An excellent menu for all tastes Ihad chicken -perfectly cooked and the rest of the table had fish all served with understated charm and style.
The wine list is pleasantly extensive with a fair choice of decently priced wines.
After lunch we strolled round the grounds and then headed fo Troon beach -just great.
A good place for lunch.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junbry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.7 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,105 reviews
0.7 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
255 reviews
4.5 mi away
Western House Hotel
14.0 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochgreen House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochgreen House Hotel

Address: Monktonhill Road | Southwood, Troon KA10 7EN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Troon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Troon
#2 Family Hotel in Troon
Price Range: $286 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lochgreen House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly beautiful location for a relaxing break, a quiet romantic weekend away, a special celebration or a business meeting, Lochgreen House offers 38 bedrooms all en-suite with deluxe bathrooms, many have views over the gardens and woodlands, others over Royal Troon Golf Course to the island of Arran on the lovely Ayrshire coast. The original bedrooms of the house are decorated with beautiful traditional furnishings and fabrics to reflect the character of the house in every way and create a tranquil, relaxing environment. With every modern convenience for the expectations of the modern guest the rooms and bathrooms are of the highest 4 Red Star standards of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lochgreen House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochgreen Hotel Troon
Lochgreen House Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing