We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lochgreen House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Would recommend!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Whole experience was great from the moment we arrived til the moment we left! Staff were helpful and pleasant but not overbearing and food was first class. Exactly what we were looking for and fit the occasion. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harryphillips56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    86
    36
    20
    11
See reviews for
109
212
8
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just had full body hot stone massage by suzie,and my partner had the golf treatment.Best massage I have ever had well worth a visit.Suzie was very professional but very friendly.This was my partners first massage and he loved it so now he will be a frequent user.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Totally love this hotel, the ambience, the food, the staff, the cleanliness, the breakfasts, all perfect. Having been fortunate enough to stay in some of the worlds top hotels I can safely say that the Lochgreen ranks amongst the best. Best of all though is the fact its on my doorstep.

The standard of service and exceptional food need a very special mention though and in my opinion deserve more than the three rosettes they already have. Nothing better than enjoying a meal of this standard then being shown through to the lounge to relax on a plush settee in front of a roaring log fire. Heaven

Would also like to say sorry to the staff in this review, during a recent stay we where joined by my daughter who was unfortunately unwell resulting in some unpleasant work for the poor cleaning staff. This was handled with grace and concern though and went some way to staving of our embarrassment.

Thankyou lochgreen

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steven p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I treated my mum to afternoon tea here yesterday and although the food itself was nice the overall experience was not that worthy of a 5 star hotel. The pianist was a nice touch but was extremely loud, so much so that I could barely hear myself speak. There was also no explanation of the sandwich fillers or any of the cakes we were eating which is a little unusual. I also didn't appreciate a woman practicing her singing whislt we were eating - not very professional of a hotel of this standard. A nice experience but nothing special.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCC110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow,Scotland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Booked the Escape package at the Purity Spa at the Lochgreen House Hotel for a Mother's Day gift for my mum (& me!)
After a very relaxing 70 minute full body, head and foot massage, we went into the main building for our afternoon tea as part of the package.

We were offered the choice of afternoon tea (5 finger sandwiches, 2 scones each, fancy wee cakes(!) and tea/coffee) with champagne or we could choose 2 from a starter/main/dessert with tea/coffee and champagne.
Thought this to be an excellent deal!!!!
My mum & I both opted for the blackened chicken open toasted sandwich (a meal in it's own right!) delicious and the sticky toffee pudding, to die for ;-)))
After a small mix up with the sandwiches we were automatically offered another glass of champagne on the house as an apology.

People get things wrong. No one's perfect. In my opinion it's how they respond to the mistake that makes the difference. Top marks!

A coffee pot arrived with warm milk and ........a plate of homemade shortbread.
At this rate they were going to have to roll me out the door!

My mum and I had a thoroughly wonderful day. We left feeling relaxed and suitably stuffed!

* Special mention to Frances for looking after us * Management take note; Frances is a real asset to your staff. Some of the younger members of your team should take her lead.

Tip for management; On leaving the Spa (situated away from the main house) it was raining and neither my mum nor I had umbrellas with us. May I suggest umbrellas being available to use for guests going to/from the main house?

Thank you Lochgreen for a special day and for allowing me to spend some much needed quality time with my mum.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigHarvie, Operations Manager at Lochgreen House Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. It was fantastic to hear you enjoyed your visit to Lochgreen for afternoon tea. Afternoon tea is very popular at Lochgreen and I was pleased you found it not only to be filling but excellent value also. I was also encouraged to hear you found Frances to be a real asset. We value all our hard working staff and I have personally passed your thanks on to her. I take you comments about the umbrellas on board and I hope to welcome you to Lochgreen in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millport18
Level Contributor
119 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We spent two nights here recently for an away from it all rest. Beautiful gardens - manicured and perfect. The hotel grounds are lovely and you get an instant very good first impression. Excellent reception and throughout our stay the staff were wonderful. Particularly the restaurant staff but all were of the highest quality - knowledgeable, helpful, smiling, polite, welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them. They are a credit to the hotel. The rooms are very nice. Large and airy and comfortable. There was a massive bathroom but here is where the quirky stuff started. I hate it when there is very little shelp sapce to put toilet bags etc. You end up putting things on the floor. A bit strange really. Here is a really quirky issue. The hotel is not cheap, but the toiolet paper was. It was cheap rubbish. Why spoil the overall effect by cutting such a silly corner. The separate shower had very poor temperature control - it was either hot or cold but little in between. Finally, while we are in the bathroom, the water was not hot enough. My job is to act as a water hygiene consultant for organisations, and it worried me that the water was warm/hot rather than hot. I won't go into the reasons for that concern here, but the concern was real.
We had a half board packeage and took dinner in the restaurant in the evening. The ambience of the restaurant is wonderful. The staff, as previously mentioned were outstanding. The food was terrific. We really enjoyed it and it is a big plus for the hotel. On the second night we took our coffee after dinner in front of the roaring fire in the entrance lobb/room and it was warm and relaxing. We would recommend this place to anyone and we will certainly use it again. A few minor issues which would be, I am sure, easily addressed. Worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Millport18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigHarvie, Operations Manager at Lochgreen House Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I was glad you found the staff to be of the highest standard and the fact that you thought "they are a credit to the hotel" is really encouraging to hear. I take all you comments on board and can assure you that they are currently being looked into. I look forward to welcoming you back to Lochgreen in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at Lochgreen before with family at Christmas, I took my girlfriend for a 1 night stay last year for Valentine's and enjoyed the stay and dinner so much we ended up staying an extra night. This year we decided to go back again for 2 nights and once more we were not left disappointed. The rooms are huge, yet cosy and comfortable. The dinner both nights of our stay was delicious and the wine superb. The staff at both dinner and breakfast were excellent - professional and attentive at dinner; bright and friendly at breakfast. Special thanks as well for providing us a full cooked breakfast when we had a bit of a lie in and came down after 10am. We were expecting to only be able to get a coffee, yet the lady at breakfast insisted it was no trouble at all and got us bacon, eggs, toast and pancakes. Other hotels are far less accommodating if you are late for their breakfast service. Would thoroughly recommend and will definitely stay again in future.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigHarvie, Operations Manager at Lochgreen House Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind and positive review. I was glad to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. The fact that the breakfast staff went that extra mile to look after you was most pleasing to hear. We look forward to welcoming you back to Lochgreen in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.7 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,043 reviews
0.7 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Western House Hotel
1.1 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
238 reviews
4.4 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochgreen House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochgreen House Hotel

Property: Lochgreen House Hotel
Address: Monktonhill Road | Southwood, Troon KA10 7EN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Troon
#2 Family Hotel in Troon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lochgreen House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly beautiful location for a relaxing break, a quiet romantic weekend away, a special celebration or a business meeting, Lochgreen House offers 38 bedrooms all en-suite with deluxe bathrooms, many have views over the gardens and woodlands, others over Royal Troon Golf Course to the island of Arran on the lovely Ayrshire coast. The original bedrooms of the house are decorated with beautiful traditional furnishings and fabrics to reflect the character of the house in every way and create a tranquil, relaxing environment. With every modern convenience for the expectations of the modern guest the rooms and bathrooms are of the highest 4 Red Star standards of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Lochgreen House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochgreen Hotel Troon
Lochgreen House Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing