We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Troon vacation”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Curlew Cottage

Curlew Cottage-home from home!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Curlew Cottage-home from home!
Darley Crescent- Picturesque, quiet and secluded Only One Step, Not 39!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Curlew Cottage-home from home!
Darley Crescent- Picturesque, quiet and secluded
Only One Step, Not 39!
Sun to the front in the afternoon and evening
Refurbished kitchen with integrated washing machine, dishwasher and electric hob and oven
From kitchen to back garden
large lounge with bright outlook, coal burning fire, art nouveau fire place, tv, dvd, cd player
Art Nouveau fireplace
Lounge
32 inch tv with freeview and BT sport
Lounge in Evening
Main Bedroom from Hall
Main Bedroom
Second bedroom
Bathroom with Walk in Electric Shower
Garden
Troon South Beach- five minutes walk
Sunset over Arran from North shore
South Beach; Easter weekend 2014
Herons on South Beach
Dusk on South Beach
Different skies...
...every night!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Troon, South Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Neville R
1 review
“Troon vacation”
Reviewed October 16, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Great location close to long sandy beach, very clean and tidy when we arrived. Close enough to shops and plenty of takeaway’s that deliver.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveC195...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“PERFECT GETAWAY”
Reviewed December 17, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Ideally located in Troon close to the sea and amenities - yet in a tranquil avenue. Spacious and well appointed. Ideal for both short or longer stays.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jacgeorge
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic just what we wanted peaceful and nice neighbours”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

As soon as we arrived met the neighbours across the road. Cleaner had just left and left a note of welcome also a welcome pack Tea ,coffee milk etc,',, cottage VERY CLEAN and homely even had a dishwasher which was a treat as we don't have one at home we really enjoyed our stay as did our relations so pleased we stayed here so Thankyou to Murrey and his wonderful cleaner .

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2016
Hi, thanks for your kind review and for your stay, especially as you came such a distance, also glad you got a few days of very good weather. Kind regards-Murray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 15, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful
Liked least: Leaving it
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2016
Hi Christine
Thank you so much for your stay and your kind words. Not everyone makes the effort to leave a review so it is much appreciated. Hope to host you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Terry B
1 review
“Very pleasant holiday cottage”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Well equipped, clean and good location. Appreciated the welcome package. Helpful notes and instructions in the folder guide.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linilou20...
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Troon Gem”
Reviewed May 16, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Curlew cottage is in a fairly central location in Troon with the town centre about 10 minutes walk away. The train station would be about 20 minutes walk away but a taxi would bring you in a few minutes. The cottage is situated in a quiet street in a good neighbourhood.

The cottage is bright, modern and has a new heating system that kept us nice and warm and provided hot water on demand. The furnishings, fittings and decoration were of a good standard and we were impressed by the amount of little extras that made our stay a home from home such as plenty of kitchen equipment, CDs, books, board games and wifi. The beds and bed linen were of good quality and we slept well each night. The towels were good quality. The washing machine and dishwasher were also easy to work. There are no improvements I could recommend. Murray has put a lot of thought and effort into this property.

Murray also provided a 'welcome pack' of bread, butter and milk to get us started. Murray is very easy to work with and replied promptly to any queries. We loved staying at Curlew Cottage and would love to make a return visit. We have recommended the property to our family and friends.

Many Thanks Murray

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house is just lovely and well equipped
Liked least: It was all good
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing